The Reprieve

Well, here it is. The day I dread all year long. The day I have told you about with a heavy heart here, and here, and here. The time of year I feel coming weeks in advance. A sadness descends and a melancholy rises up to linger for a few weeks. It has happened for the last 15 October 7ths. This is the sixteenth year, and quite frankly, I’m not feeling it.

How strange is that? I’m not sure what happened, but I am not complaining. I am thanking God for the reprieve. It could be back next year, or maybe it has a 15 year on/off cycle. Whatever the reason, I am grateful and relieved.

So, how about I give you an update about what has been going on around these parts?

1. I got MANY inches cut off my hairs! I like it, and I long to show you, but Mousey has had my camera all week for her photo class. She did give it back yesterday, but unfortunately, my hair was not ready for its close up. Perhaps this weekend will provide an opportunity.

2. Speaking of Mousey and school related business, they have had some trouble at her high school this week. On Monday, there was a bomb threat and school was dismissed early. It took three hours for her to get home, notable only because she had to go to the bathroom the ENTIRE time. Then on Wednesday, they had another bomb threat and were in lockdown for another several hours, but then resumed classes. I am glad the district is looking after the safety of our young people, but unfortunately, the kids are getting a little blasé about everything. More of an inconvenience for them and they don’t really take it seriously any more. That could be a bad thing should there actually be a credible threat.

3. The Guys are here to put in our boulder wall in the back, behind the pool fence! WOO HOO!! One more thing crossed off our list.

4. After a week of The Hectic, I am confessing to you and the world that I was spent. Felt like the plug had been pulled and I was drained. I told Honey that I didn’t feel it was in me to make dinner. Plus ALL 5 of us were home, and that doesn’t happen too often anymore! We headed out to our favorite Chinese place, where I thanked the waitress for doing my job.

After we ate, we had a nice conversation about Mousey’s humanities assignment, the one that has been a thorn in her side all week long. She had to choose a woman who lived before 1600, to do some sort of supernaturally long, involved, and complicated report on. She finally chose Eleanor of Aquitaine, mother of Richard the Lion Heart. I have actually heard of this guy because I saw Robin Hood.

Anyway, Honey kept trying to tell her that he would change the assignment so he could learn about how life was in this period of time, because that would be more interesting to him. He then proceeded to invent a new character, Mary Elizabeth Smith, who lived on a farm and was going to be sold by her father to the farmer down the road for marriage at a young age. We then discussed dowries, and such, and wondered if young Mary Elizabeth would have fetched a good price. Cattle, pigs, chickens,were all valuable commodities back then.

The funniest part of the discussion for me was when we were determining what we would have gotten for our daughters in trade. Because they have both had the benefit of braces, we figured that in the early ages they would have had their price marked down because of bad teeth. Mousey especially, as she had significant problems, and was runty.  We predicted The Ab-Cat would have fetched a goat and a chicken. Mousey and her significant problems would have garnered a barn cat and an egg. This still amuses me to no end! Seriously, still laughing.

5. The Boy got his hair cut!!!! This always makes me SO happy! It is a good thing when he finally allows me to remove the furry badger from the top of his head. At first he only wanted a “trim”, but his friend The Subject talked him into a more satisfying look, for US!

013

He looks SO much MORE handsome!

014

Have a good weekend People!

5 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    October 7, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    You never faile to amuse me!!!

  2. caprilis said,

    October 8, 2011 at 7:32 AM

    So glad you have a reprieve this year.
    Your family has the most wonderful discussions.
    I’m sure Mousie would have done better than a barn cat and an egg… at least a chicken!

  3. Laurie said,

    October 9, 2011 at 11:34 AM

    Now, all day, I’m going to wonder what I might have fetched in the dowry department!!!

  4. Marlene said,

    October 9, 2011 at 7:25 PM

    Glad you had a reprieve this year. God is good! LOVE your family. You guys do such interesting things. Love the report!

  5. October 7, 2012 at 6:48 AM

    […] 7th. Sometimes the day coincided with other hard things. Last year, I was inexplicably offered a reprieve. I thought I might sail through again this year, but the telltale signs were becoming more […]


Leave a Reply

