Hired Hands

And no, I am not talking about Abilene and Minnie from The Help, my most favorite book and movie of the year. I am talking about a whole bunch of guys who came and helped us put the last of The Hoopty back together!!!

Oh, it was a fine weekend. Weather AND work wise.

We knew the Boulder Wall Guys were coming, and then the Sod Guys said they were coming, and finally, out of nowhere The Cement Guy said they were coming! Let’s just say we had a lot of vehicles in front of our house for a few days.

I was waiting to show you the boulder wall until we had the plants stuck in there, but you can see it here. We can’t see much of it from our vantage point, but it looks nice from the neighbor’s yard.

This small patch of land was evidently a big pain in the rear. Some fellows who came out to give us a price didn’t even really want the job. They kept saying “it’s all hand work”. We had the stumps ground earlier in the summer on a 100 degree day. There was so much clay in that dirt, the Stump Grinder Guy feared he would never get his machine OUT of the quagmire. The result was very chunky wood mixed in with our nasty clay.

The Cement Guys made short work of taking a layer of yukky stuff out, putting a layer of something else in, and covering the whole business with wet cement. All the while, carefully avoiding putting themselves or their equipment into our pool.

005

Everything had to be carted out and in by this nifty little bucket on wheels.

008

It’s looking like a problem fixed to me! Just needs some lounge chairs!

011

It surprised me that they all just stood in the wet cement. In their boots.

012

The Sod Guys covered my failed garden experiment with beautimous, green, grass. Nothing much would grow in all that nasty clay, but the weeds flourished, as you can imagine. I have some day lillies to put back there. The day lillies didn’t mind the clay, that is why they are my favorites.

013

Remember our pear tree Brad? The one who broke in half and had to be cut down?

004 

We finally had his large footprint covered. He lives on in our memory.

014

They did a better job than this, but I didn’t remember to go outside again. They were in a hurry to finish though. One of them had tickets to the Lions game. Imagine that! Someone excited to get to a LIONS game!

I also forgot to take pictures of the front yard, I have no idea what was keeping me so busy yesterday.

But LOOKY, no more HOOPTY!!!!

I think this concludes the work others will do for us. It’s all on our shoulders now.

4 Comments

  1. deb said,

    October 11, 2011 at 5:51 AM

    Looks luscious and green, and neat and tidy, Can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Marlene said,

    October 11, 2011 at 12:54 PM

    Wahoo!! Now what will you write about?? 🙂

  3. Tammy said,

    October 11, 2011 at 4:32 PM

    Excuse me!!!! Is that a little house on the prairie house by the swings. Oh my, I so covet that.
    Well my friend, your whiskey tango days are now in the past, but you and your family persevered and learned patience. I am so happy for y’all.

  4. caprilis said,

    October 11, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    Nice! I would like to see the boulder wall from the other direction please.
    From the field towards your house.


Leave a Reply

