Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hello People, time for another Hodgepodge. Thank you to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for giving us questions to answer!

1. Have you ever been ‘asked’ to report for jury duty? Were you chosen to serve? If not, were you happy or disappointed?

I was summoned in Detroit about 14 years ago but it wasn’t a good time because Abby still needed care and I couldn’t take the chance of being tied up for too long. I had to get a letter from her pediatrician stating I was her primary caregiver and they excused me. I then started getting summoned locally, and that was more doable. Every time I was summoned, they told you to call after 5 p.m. the night before to see if you needed to show up. I have probably been called 3 or 4 times and they have always dismissed us before we went. So technically, I have been “asked” to report to jury duty, but I have never gone.

I was VERY happy not to have to report in Detroit, but I would not mind serving locally. I have a feeling they would not choose me anyway.

2. On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being very), how mechanically inclined are you? Give an example to back up your answer.

I would say a 1, and that might be generous! When something breaks or needs attention, my first inclination is to get Honey.

3. Beets-cabbage-cauliflower-butternut squash….of the four, which is your favorite fall vegetable?

The only one we eat is cauliflower, which Honey calls Flower-of-Cauli. He makes it many different yummy ways. I like cabbage and squash, but we don’t make it.

I DESPISE beets. They gag me. The kids always wanted to have beets at buffets because they are a pretty color. I told them I didn’t eat beets because they give you a hairy bum. Once we went to a buffet with my Grandma Hoover, who was thrilled to taste many things that she hadn’t made for herself in a long time. She chose 3 bean salad, carrot salad, and beets. The Boy and Ab-Cat looked at me with round eyes and whispered, “ Great-Grandma’s eating BEETS!”

4. What do you recommend to overcome self-pity?

Everyone should be able to have a 5 minute pity party in the privacy of their own home, but after that, GET OVER YOURSELF. My advice is to lift up your head and look around at all the things you have to be thankful for. Then look around at all the things you are thankful you don’t have. God can use all circumstances in our lives, good and bad. Self pity is an ugly accessory.

5. Do you enjoy classical music?

I am not opposed to it, but I don’t seek it out.

6. October is National Book Month…what’s on your reading list this month?

I feel like I am always looking for a good book. I would still like to read Water For Elephants. I need to go scour the library. Anyone have any suggestions?

7. What is your idea of ‘cute’?

Someone just asked me this question and I cannot remember who! I would say cute brings a sweet smile to your face.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My favorite cute things! Many favorite Way Back When-sday pictures!

June 1995 Going to babysitter Julie Converse’s grad party.

IMG (6)

July 1998. Those were the days when they all fit in one bed!

IMG_0001 (5)

Summer 2003. Our Christmas picture that year. The most prepared I EVER was!!!

IMG_0002 (4)

Ab-Cat at Wheelchair Sports Camp, July 1998, Grand Rapids, Michigan. 9 and 1/2

IMG_0003 (3)

The Boy, Christmas 1994. Three years old.

IMG_0004 (3)

Miss Muggins Q. Mouse, almost 4, July 1998. She spent a great deal of her time picking me bouquets of clover.

IMG_0005 (3)

With their dear friends, The Hostler’s, July 1997.

IMG_0006 (3)

Thanks for going Way Back with me!

9 Comments

  1. October 12, 2011 at 7:42 AM

    Greatly enjoyed your post. Blessings!

  2. Joyce said,

    October 12, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    I miss the days when we all fit in one bed. I have my Christmas card photo for this year. I planned ahead which is what needs to happen now that we’re all spread out. I love the photo…its a summer photo but I thought ahead and painted letters for us to hold to add some Christmas to the scene. It’s cute if I do say so myself : )

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    October 12, 2011 at 11:35 AM

    I have been picked for Jury Duty in Wayne County way back when – and it wasn’t so bad going down there – I was working in a law firm (and still am) and they picked me — I was pretty nervous because I was the first juror (seat #1) they picked – when the attys would walk over to the jury box – I was right there in the first chair. I will say it was interesting but then when the trial would conclude at 4:00 I still had to go back to my office for a whole hour and then deal with traffic AGAIN!

  4. Michelle said,

    October 12, 2011 at 1:43 PM

    I despise beets as well.
    I love your answer to this question.

    Great pictures!

  5. Dottie McNally said,

    October 12, 2011 at 3:24 PM

    Reading suggestions: Unbroken, Sarah’s Key, Prayers for Sale, Same Kind of Different as Me to mention a few. All of these titles are excellent. Water for Elephants is also on the excellent list. I could probably think of at least 10 to 20 more if I give it a few minutes so if you need more titles let me know. Dottie

  6. sterlingsop said,

    October 12, 2011 at 4:02 PM

    Great post, your pics are lovely 🙂

  7. Marlene said,

    October 12, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    Now there are beets as in pickled-yuck and there are fresh beets simmered and sliced and buttered. Perhaps you would like them better 🙂 I love your early Christmas picture. I have an idea-let’s pick an old Chirstmas picture from years ago and send that out. I can find lots of those!! ha ha. We can call it “Way back Christmas.” Because I don’t have a Christmas picture for this year and don’t know how I am going to get one.

  8. Tammy Doane said,

    October 12, 2011 at 7:34 PM

    I enjoyed reading The Confession, Sarah’s Key, Unbroken, and I just can’t think of them all right now. I read Water for Elephants=not one of my favorites.

  9. Laurie said,

    October 13, 2011 at 12:00 PM

    We ARE sisters in the heart — I, too, hate beets (as does my husband). Someone once gave our eldest daughter a cute cranberry colored pant/blouse/vest outfit — the blouse had beets on it and she didn’t even know what they were!!!!


Leave a Reply

