Down to Half

Honey and I like to joke that between the two of us we have a whole brain. We regularly ask each other to help us remember things. I don’t know why we do it, neither one of us is reliable anymore.

When he came home from work on Tuesday, he asked if I would be home to wake him up at 2 for his doctor appointment. I said I did not know, because the Capri Gals were going to be there for haircuts, and that requires lunch after, and sometimes shopping is involved, so as you can imagine, I couldn’t be sure. But I did set my alarm for him, because I love him so.

As it happened, we were home at 2, so I did wake him up. Because the alarm I so thoughtfully set for him did not go off. He took a shower and beautified himself, chatted briefly with The Capri’s before heading out to meet with our doctor, whom I despise.

About 20 minutes later, he walked back in the door. We all thought that was mighty quick. He said it was his dry run, as his appointment was THE NEXT DAY. There were a flurry of “I thought you said…” and “you told me…” between us.

It would be nothing more than a funny story if the exact same thing had not happened the LAST time he went to the doctor!

We are evidently sharing a half a brain.

Well, it’s still a funny story.

7 Comments

  1. capriP said,

    October 14, 2011 at 5:24 AM

    So glad I was there to witness this! 🙂

  2. expat said,

    October 14, 2011 at 5:33 AM

    It sure is! Things like this just have to be shrugged off because no matter how hard you try, things just happen! Glad you both saw the humor in it. Life is unpredictable if nothing else and we just have to roll with it. Good job, both of you!

  3. Nan C said,

    October 14, 2011 at 7:04 AM

    I sure hope Honey made it to the doc’s on time the next day. 😉

  4. Marlene said,

    October 14, 2011 at 8:24 AM

    Same story at our house. I missed an appointment because I thought it was the NEXT day. WE are starting to write sticky notes for reminders-but they get STUCK everywhere.

  5. warren said,

    October 14, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    The wife always said that each kid costs you half of whatever brain you have left…

  6. caprilis said,

    October 14, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    I’m thinkin the math works out right then Warren, Emily knows what she’s talking about!

  7. Jip the Farm Dog said,

    October 15, 2011 at 3:43 PM

    I don’t think Jaw and I even make a whole sometimes. So you guys are doing great!


Leave a Reply

