Last Thursday’s Bargains

Capri Deb and I hit up The Value World again on Thursday. I am loving having her come to BSF and lunch afterwards! She was looking for more materials to make her beautimous pins. Brass zippers, suede and wool to felt. She had a bit of luck.

I did as well. Of course I found some sleep pants, because I spend a large majority of my leisure time sporting them. A black pair and a blue pair of Gilligan and O’Malley, and an aqua polka dot pair of Sonoma. I live for comfort.

For the last couple of years, I have been a little vest-y. Maybe because I have also been a little toasty. I wore my favorite white vest quite a bit last winter, even when it was very cold. Especially if I was only going to go from car to place quickly. So I have kept my vest eyes on, have had my finely tuned vest antennae turned up. Kind of like how I can spot a pair of comfy sleep pants at 50 paces and zero in for the kill. I’ve got some skills. I’m just keeping it real.

I found this uber flattering Liz Claiborne vest for $4.10. And again, I MUST ask, why the .10? It is SO soft and comfy and I love this color with jeans.

009

A couple of years ago, Mousey made a statement that happened to be true. She said my color palate was brown. It was true. I still love brown and all of it’s warm brown family members, but I felt I needed to try and infuse some color into my wardrobe. The striped sweater will test all of my color wearing ability. It matches jeans very well, and I can’t say that I would ever wear it without my Precious, the white vest, but I am going to try it with the white vest. It is from Talbots and the price tag is inconveniently missing at the moment. I will guess somewhere around $3 dollars, because I would certainly not pay more than that for a fashion experiment.

010

I can barely see the tag in the picture. I am going to guess $2.60, because my first guess was $2.40, then second guess was $2.80, and I try to be fair and balanced about the important things.

The next two garments (that sounds SO Project Runway to me!) look a little Easter-y by comparison.The pink is definitely a springy, summery affair as it is knit and holey and so darn cute! $3.20 by Northern Isles, a brand I have not had the pleasure to ever hear of before. I look forward to wearing it next season.

012

The next two were the bargains! I had noticed the green Eddie Bauer sweater above on a previous visit with Mousey. We decided against it because it was an odd green color, and more importantly, it was FOUR DOLLARS and SIXTY CENTS! I could do better than that!

BUT, Thursday was red tag day!

Just in case you don’t know about such things, every day, or perhaps week, there is a color of tag that is half off. I do not seek out the color tag that is half off because it would be an exercise in futility. It’s hard enough to find things you really love without limiting your chances by narrowing the field. But it is always a great JOY to discover you have actually chosen something that is the lucky colored tag!!! I was certainly happy to pay $2.30 for the sweater! Lucky tag, lucky day!

This purse was a STEAL! Also half price because all purses were half off that day. It is a Fossil and seriously, it must have been used only once on a Sunday by the little old lady from Pasadena! Not that it is an old lady purse by any means.

It meets ALL of my many purse rules; wear across the body, built in wallet, pockets and little places of organization for my gum, lipstick , hand cream, kleenex and floss. The important things. Also just a smidge bigger so I can carry my super cute new bifocal sunglasses that I now need to carry!

004

Good color palate for my wardrobe needs. Mint condition, clean as a whistle.

005

I think I picked a WINNER! For $1.60!!!!!!! Hands down, bargain of the month!

006

In other good news, Capri Deb did me a solid. She took my bargain Vera Bradley purse home and lopped off the badly worn handles that I failed to notice at the store. Meet my new Vera Bradley toiletry bag!! Knowing Capri Deb? It’s a good thing!!! Thanks Girly, I love it!

013

Any one have a good bargain or deal?

6 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    October 17, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    SUCH deals! I’m still pouting.

  2. Back Door Neighbor said,

    October 17, 2011 at 9:01 AM

    AMAZING!! You certainly have a knack for great finds. I am trying to learn thru the computer screen!!!

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    October 17, 2011 at 9:03 AM

    You hit the motherload didn’t you! I was at TJ Maxx yesterday after church and actually saw a pair of boots for $399.00 – and that’s TJ Maxx’s price! I almost fainted ! ! ! ! !

  4. deb said,

    October 17, 2011 at 8:37 PM

    Yes, Kel…Thursday has become a day I really look forward too! You are skilled in pawing through those racks. That purse is so gorgeous!

  5. capriP said,

    October 18, 2011 at 6:59 AM

    do you work as a personal shopper?

  6. Marcy Hunter said,

    October 18, 2011 at 4:19 PM

    Ummmm, I’m very jealous of your bargains!!!! You go girl! I did purchase 4 shirts for Cameron for $1.97 each at JC Penney the other day. We giggled when the cashier said that our total was $8.00 and some change, and that we had saved $87.00 As fun as this was, it still is not as much fun as getting the bargain for yourself. I guess that sounds a bit selfish.


Leave a Reply

