Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

It’s Wednesday, must be time for The Hodgepodge! as always, thanks to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for gathering us all together.

1. How do you typically react in a sudden, extreme, pressure-filled crisis? Would we want you nearby in an emergency?

I know from several first hand experiences that I do pretty well under pressure. I am not a crier or a screamer so I am able to remain calm, which I think can help others calm down. Nothing escalates a situation more than hysteria. As far as wanting me nearby in an emergency? It depends on how helpful you need me to be. I don’t know that I would be super helpful in the quick thinking-action department, but I can do what I’m told. Mousey just said I would be fine because I am level headed. Aw, thanks Mousey!

2. Caramel apple-caramel sundae-caramel corn-caramel macchiato…of the four, which caramel treat would you choose?

It would be easier for me to pick the one I wouldn’t want! The macchiato does not appeal to me. The others? YUMMY!

3. Is there such a thing as destiny? Explain.

I do believe in destiny. I looked it up in the dictionary and one of the definitions was predestination. I believe that the Lord knew my whole life before I was born, therefore my destiny was already written. I certainly don’t know everything it involves though.

4. What’s your favorite piece of furniture? I’m referring to something currently in your possession as opposed to something on your wish list.

I am going to say our bed. We have a comfortable bed. I am not very attached to our furniture. I like it fine, but I wouldn’t cry if I had to replace any of it.

5. Wednesday night marks the start of the 2011 Baseball World Series. Did you know? Do you care? Will you be watching? Ever been to a professional baseball game? If you’re not an American do you find the title ‘World Series’ annoying or amusing?

Well, I am aware of it this year, and I am aware that our Tigers will not be participating! That last playoff game was just pitiful and never ending, bless their hearts. Honey and The Boy were very sad.

I imagine they will watch the World Series anyway. They will probably not care if I am in there either because I have not been known spread my bad juju to any team but the Tigers. For the record, the ‘Gers can NOT blame me for their playoff losses, I kept my bad juju to myself and did not go in the room when the tv was on. I was getting tired of hearing “GET OUT” yelled at me.

I have been to see the Tigers play in person. I don’t think they ever won a game in my presence. That is how I became aware of my bad Tiger juju. I try and stay away, for their sake.

Baseball is about the only sport I can tolerate. Those who know me could tell you that when it comes to sports, “CHERYL! I DO.NOT.CARE.”

6. A sound that takes me back to my childhood is____________.

The theme songs from The Brady Bunch or The Partridge Family, the soundtrack of my youth.

I would have LOVED to be a member of their families.

Come on get happy!

7. On average, once you’ve linked your hodgepodge post to mine how many other participant blogs do you visit? Do you ever come back to the Hodgepodge later in the day or even the day after to read posts?

I always try and visit everyone who leaves a comment on my blog so I can do the same. Some of these blogspot blogs are a real bear to leave a comment on though! Make you jump through a hundred hoops and they STILL won’t accept a comment. And it’s NOT ME. It must be how they are set up. Some are easy peasy, no trouble at all.

I do sometimes go back a couple of days later because Wednesday and Thursday I have BSF, and they are my busy days. Sometimes I look at the later entries because I figure not as many people hit them. The first 5 probably get the most traffic.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here I am in 1971, nine year old Capri Kel.

IMG (7)

In the throes of my addiction to The Brady Bunch and The Partridge Family. I lived for Friday nights, the best hours of the week. I probably liked this outfit because it looks vaguely like the concert clothes the Partridge’s wore.

I mainly can’t believe how straight my hair was. That must have been the best bang trim my Mom ever did! I think this was also the year I got glasses. I would not wear them in a school picture for another 4 years.

I was in the fourth grade, Mr. Heikkla’s class, at Daniel Webster Elementary School. He was my first man teacher. He was a kind, gentle, man who had a brilliant idea to reward his students for good behavior with tickets he called “minutes”. You earned them for various things, good class performance, behavior and deeds, and could redeem them for extra recess. His room was right by the playground and we had to stay by his windows so he could keep his eye on you. That was the year I discovered my love of tetherball. Most likely all my minutes went towards that. We all thought it was the coolest thing ever.

I’m pretty sure we could lose minutes for bad behavior, poor class performance and misdeeds as well.

Fourth grade was also the year I knew for certain that math was never going to figure prominently in my life. I think Mr. Heikkla was aware of that fact as well, but he was sweet to me anyway.

I don’t think I played tetherball much after that year either.

Thanks for stopping by!

9 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    October 19, 2011 at 5:53 AM

    Love those two shows….staple in my younger years also….I often quote those shows and my 17year old daughter looks at me like I’m crazy…not sure if she has ever watched them. Sorry about your Tigers….they had a great season though!
    Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  2. Hootin' Anni said,

    October 19, 2011 at 6:56 AM

    Oh dear….now I’m going to be humming “Here’s a Lovely Lady….” today. LOL

    Oh me too….I was so hoping the Tigers would have won. As you’ll see by my answer if you find time to visit. I LIVE in Texas and do NOT like the Rangers. LOL

    Wednesday photo and HODGEPODGE

  3. sterlingsop said,

    October 19, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    Yeah, I’d noticed that about blogspot blogs too. Some are easier to comment on than others. I much prefer WordPress!!

  4. Nan C said,

    October 19, 2011 at 8:47 AM

    Ah yes, the Brady Bunch! By the time they hit re-runs on Channel 50, I could tell every episode within the first minute or so.
    But, “M is for Monkees on Mondays” was my mantra. I must’ve only been in first or second grade. When playing house with my sister, I always had to married to Mickey Dolenz. 😦 Bob and I say that the show “Big Time Rush” is like the present day “Monkees”.

  5. warren said,

    October 19, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    I loved the Brady Bunch and MASH and Welcome Back Kotter…and Dukes of Hazzard and probably others. Gosh how TV has changed

  6. Back Door Neighbor said,

    October 19, 2011 at 10:03 AM

    Kel, the Partridge Family was one of my favorite shows too. I so wanted to be Lori in that family. And have her long, straight, hair–instead of my curls and waves. Just like your style in 4th grade! My fourth grade teacher was Mr. Hall, he was so similar to your Mr. Heikkla! Isn’t that funny?

  7. October 20, 2011 at 2:33 AM

    Having had to replace all of our furniture after a bit of a catastrophy last year, I can tell you that you wouldn’t cry. It’s amazing how little it means to you when your worried about your loved ones and the irreplaceable items like photos, childhood tokens and art-work, and address books!

  8. Tammy Doane said,

    October 20, 2011 at 7:13 PM

    Loved the Brady Bunch and Partridge Family–had a pocketbook I carried with David Cassidy all over it. Great pic!

  9. Joyce said,

    October 25, 2011 at 4:11 PM

    I loved those programs too. I still like to watch the reruns. You definitely look like you could be a Partridge Family cousin in that photo : )


Leave a Reply

