Thrifting For Gold

I believe I may have mentioned that I have been thrifting this week, and I have SCORED! Spell check is insisting that thrifting is not a word. It is totally a word spellcheck. Spellcheck is not a real word.

I think I also confessed that I am trying to add a little color zest to my brown and black wardrobe. A little pop of color, like I have heard on What Not To Wear, or Project Runway, or somewhere.

***BTW, I am happy with the winner of Project Runway!!  The person was  one of my picks all along, and I can say no more about the winner because Rae Babe has not seen it yet and I would not want to give it all away!!! I can divulge that I was a little afraid there for a moment when the winner was up against my VERY LEAST FAVORITE designer. And considering that last year our VERY LEAST FAVORITE designer won, I was preparing to swear off the runway for LIFE. All is well on the Runway this morning, whew.!***

Back to the color pops.

These will do nicely in the pop department, either under or over a solid color with solid pants. I have no printed pants, because for me, that is just wrong.

Love the pink flowered Liz Claiborne sweater for $4.99, the multi colored Cyrus (never heard of that brand) will look darling under an already owned black sweater, $2.99, and the bottom print was Talbots for $4.99, LOVE them all!

021

$4.99 is more than I regularly pay for thrift store clothing, I do not regret these purchases, because I heart them so, and I need some new BSF and church clothes, but I decided to challenge myself to not spend more than $2.99, unless I REALLY loved something. So far, so good.

Next up was a Daisy Fuentes blousy top for $2.99. Vintage Suzie top and Merona also $2.99.

024

Here are the staples of my wardrobe. I never have enough white tops, short or no sleeve. And you know how by the end of the season your white tops are not so white anymore? I am there, my Friends! When this phenomenon happens, the old white shirts become walking shirts, and the old walking shirts go in the give away bag.

I discovered something. I like Chico’s white shirts. I have never owned anything by Chico’s, but I am now the proud owner of 2 and they fit like a dream! I did pay $4.99 for one, but only $2.99 for the other. There was an Ann Taylor one that I am also fond of. Everything here except the afore mentioned Chico shirt was $2.99, excluding the green Old Navy tank, it was $1.99. All the white are 1000% better than anything I have been wearing lately! Like new.

026

Since I have purchased clothing for my hindquarters, you can correctly assume that I shopped at Goodwill, where they have the luxury of changing rooms. Something Value World should get on the stick about. That was one of my Mother’s isms, get on the stick. No idea what it really means.

The $4.99 rule did not carry over to hindquarter garments. Cheetah sleep pants, bought because they are SO cute and will make all 3 of my children groan, $2.99. Cropped capri Izod’s $4.99. White Bandolino Blu, also $4.99. Brown Style&Company, $2.99 WOO HOO! White Merona jeans $4.99. Grey Champion sweat pants that can be worn as pants or sleep pants, oh the decisions! $2.99. And finally tan, long David Brooks long pants, $3.99.

028

Honey’s haul of polo shirts, mostly $2.99, maybe a couple sneekers at $4.99. I am most happy about the red one on the right. I told him to find a new red shirt to match his traveling pants. What are those you might ask? I believe The Boy was the one who noticed that Honey always travels in the same outfit. Black track pants with a red strip down the side. The Boy asked him once if those were his Traveling Clothes because he always wore them when flying OR driving on a trip. Honey said he guessed they were!

033

Well, the red shirt he always wore was looking a little …weathered. The true red had given way to an orangy red, and worse yet, he had a little hole in the back, down by his rumpus that was UNACCEPTABLE to me. His excuse was always”but these are my Traveling Clothes!”. He can now retire the orangy red jersey and wear the new true red, non hole by the rumpus one, and we can travel without shame. Not that any of that ever bothered HIM.

Here are some twinkies for the Girls. Transformer sleep pants for The Ab-Cat, at a whopping .99 CENTS and white and black staples for Miss Moustine, all $2.99.

031

And that is what we have so far!

5 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    October 28, 2011 at 6:30 PM

    Good hauls!

  2. deb said,

    October 28, 2011 at 8:50 PM

    Yes, I like them all! Remember that old cotton tshirts can be cut up and make great grout rags. Just saying, don’t need any!

  3. October 28, 2011 at 9:22 PM

    Wow-you will be popping all over the place. Such finds from a whole week of thrifting. Who cares what spell check says?

  4. October 30, 2011 at 8:13 AM

    P.S. Went to Value World for the first time yesterday. I had no idea……

  5. November 1, 2011 at 2:00 PM

    I truly appreciate you editing yourself for me!! I totally agree that I absolutely despised the Project Runway winner last season — I hope that my feelings about the new winner matches yours! 🙂

    Great haul — I am becoming a ‘thrifter’ myself. I still cannot stand the smell of Value World, but I muster on because they cannot be beat when it comes to the bargins and the selection. As I have had to completely overhaul my wardrobe recently (I literally only had socks left!) it has been a lifesaver! 🙂


Leave a Reply

