The Cone of Concern

I can’t take it anymore. I have a confession to make. We are not in The Mitten. Lots of you know this, it is not exactly a secret. But  I always feel strange saying we are not home, especially if we have left children.

Honey said it was ok to share. So here we are. When all One does is blob about One’s every day life, it is very hard to not talk about One’s life for 2 weeks!

We are in Bonita Beach, Florida, and up until 3 days ago, it was bee-youtiful. Then Hurricane Rina vacillated about making an appearance, and there was talk about the Naples area being in the “cone of concern”, which cracked us up.

There have been a couple of heavy rains, much standing water, and ugly grey clouds, but we are fairly certain we can dispose of the cone. Of concern.

We arrived on the 21st of October. It was getting chilly up Nawth, so it was delicious to be back in the warm sunshine. It was just Honey and I until last Thursday when we were joined by The Boy. We are thrilled to have him here, because he makes everything even more fun. I was going to say funner, because I like that word, but I knew spellcheck would throw a red line at me. There, I did it anyway, take that crabby spellcheck.

These pictures were taken last week, pre “cone of concern” and pre Boy arrival. I have got to stop leaving my camera in the trunk of the rental car. It is of no use to me there.

Honey had a hankering to go to The Naples Pier to see the sunset. So did many others. It was like The United Nations down there. Many languages,

001

Yes, Life is Good!

002

There’s my Boyfriend.

004

My thick and thin partner. We were once thin, now we are thicker-er.

007

He wanted to take a sunset picture that had flying birds. He got it.

Whew, I feel so much better! Once I fessed up, the words just tumbled out. That’s good for today, enjoy your Monday!

7 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    October 31, 2011 at 12:07 PM

    Halloween in Florida — you can dress up (or down) and be Ariel the Mermaid!! Have fun and enjoy you time away.

  2. October 31, 2011 at 3:40 PM

    So glad you fessed up so I am more free (I was going to say freer but didn’t know if spell check would like that) to write what I want in my comments. The pictures look so nice. Sigh….would love to be there….well before the “cone of concern.” That is totally one of your “words.” Ha ha. Needs to be in the “dictionary.’ Today has been cloudy and dreary here in the mitten. Hope you get better weather soon.

  3. deb said,

    October 31, 2011 at 6:56 PM

    Happy Halloween, does it feel like Halloween down there? I can see you soaked up some sun, you have a golden glow in the photos! I might just have to use the “thick and thin” analogy myself! Any chai?

    • Capri K said,

      October 31, 2011 at 8:10 PM

      It does not feel like Halloween, although we did see some people in stores dressed up. No chai 😦
      The sun should be back out tomorrow 🙂

  4. capriP said,

    November 1, 2011 at 5:14 AM

    The sun will be back out tomorrow AND for the next 5 or 6 month’s 🙂
    Arrived safe and sound. Sorry about the chai….so sad

  5. warren said,

    November 1, 2011 at 9:37 AM

    Glad you got that off of your chest///I am so jealous. I really want to be somewhere warm. The sneaky sun is out here but it is not warm. I so want to be a FL snow-bird!

  6. Carole said,

    November 2, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    Haha, I must say I was a little confused. Thought maybe you just wanted to get out of walking so you made up the whole going to Florida thing. I hope you’re having a wonderful time. I have walked a few times but it’s just not the same. I don’t give myself as good of advice as you do. 🙂


Leave a Reply

