Potent Quotable

Joe Fox: Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.

Kathleen Kelly: What will NY152 say today I wonder. I turn on my computer. I wait impatiently as it connects. I go online, and my breath catches in my chest until I hear three little words: You’ve got mail. I hear nothing. Not even a sound on the streets of New York, just the beating of my own heart. I have mail. From you.

Joe Fox: It wasn’t… personal.

Kathleen Kelly: What is that supposed to mean? I am so sick of that. All that means is that it wasn’t personal to you. But it was personal to me. It’s *personal* to a lot of people. And what’s so wrong with being personal, anyway?

Joe Fox: Uh, nothing.

Kathleen Kelly: Whatever else anything is, it ought to begin by being personal.

Joe Fox: You can forgive this guy for standing you up, but you can’t forgive me for this little thing… of putting you out of business?

Joe Fox: So what’s his handle?

Kathleen Kelly: Uh…

Joe Fox: I’m not going to write him, if that’s what you’re worried about. You think I’m going to e-mail him?

Kathleen Kelly: All right… NY152.

Joe Fox: N-Y-one-five-two. One hundred and fifty-two. He’s… one hundred and fifty-two years old. He’s had one hundred and fifty-two moles removed, so now he’s got one hundred and fifty-two pock marks on his face.

Kathleen Kelly: The number of people who think he looks like Clark Gable.

Joe Fox: One hundred and fifty-two people who think he looks like a Clark BAR.

Kathleen Kelly: [laughing] Why did I ever tell you this?

Joe Fox: One hundred and fifty-two stitches from his nose job. The number of souvenir shot glasses that he’s collected in his travels.

Kathleen Kelly: No! The number… his address? No, no, he would never do anything that prosaic.

Joe Fox: Mr. 152 Felony indictments.

Kathleen Kelly: Mr. 152 insights into my soul.

Joe Fox: Oh yeah. No competing with that.

Kathleen Kelly: I love daisies.

Joe Fox: You told me.

Kathleen Kelly: They’re so friendly. Don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flower?

You’ve Got Mail

It’s time to watch it again.

5 Comments

  1. expat said,

    November 13, 2011 at 8:46 AM

    Classic!

  2. Marlene said,

    November 13, 2011 at 8:18 PM

    Could watch it anytime. Nice talking to you at church today 🙂

  3. Robin said,

    November 13, 2011 at 11:27 PM

    Same with me…watch it all the time!

  4. warren said,

    November 15, 2011 at 4:39 PM

    I really like to watch that movie…purely for scientific reasons of course…not for chick-click reasons

  5. Marcy Hunter said,

    November 17, 2011 at 10:48 PM

    -One of my all time favorites along with Sleepless in Seattle with the two of them as well!


Leave a Reply

