Way Back When-esday Hodgepodge

Hello everyone, thanks for visiting today. It seems like I have been gone forever! Thank you to our hostess Joyce at From This Side of the Pond for having us over.

1. What song reminds you of a specific time in your life and what is it about that song that makes you remember?

What song DOESN’T remind me of a specific time in my life? Most music takes me right back and I have no idea why. My mind must just be programmed that way.

Just last week I experienced this. The Ab-Cat, New Hair-do Autumn and I were talking about something that then turned into a discussion of The Osmond Brothers. I started singing One Bad Apple and proceeded to tell them the song reminded me of a birthday pajama party I went to at Cynthia Kusza’a house in elementary school. That song and Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey by Paul McCartney were the featured songs of the party.

We then had to go and goggle the song on the computer so I could show the girls The Osmond’s fancy dance moves. The Osmonds’s, the original boy band. In their super groovy clothes. Hot.

I have to also confess that we then goggled I Think I Love You by The Partridge Family, where I was instantly transported back to my friend Dawn Slater’s double twin bedroom in 4th grade, and then completed the flashback circle with my own true love, Bobby Sherman. I told them how I was sure he was talking to me as I lay on my bed  listening to Julie Do You Love Me, because he used the line, “But Baby remember, I’ll be back September”. My birthday is in September! Get it??!!

2. What’s something you’ve given up on?

Wearing high heels. They make me way taller than Honey AND they hurt my feet.

3. What’s something you’ll never give up on?

These three works in progress.

IMG (6)

4. If you had to cook something from scratch in the next hour what would it be?

I will be making chicken pot pie for dinner. It won’t be as good as Perkin’s, but it is still pretty tasty. I also do not make my own pie crust, does it still count as scratch?

5. Have you started Christmas shopping? Decorating? Listening to Christmas music?

No, nada, nein. Let me get through Thanksgiving. But I have been thinking about it, does that count for anything?

6. What do you know about your parent’s wedding?

Not much. They were married wherever my Father was stationed, maybe Virginia? I think my Mom and Grandma came back home after. I know she moved to Germany when he was stationed there. I’m pretty sure these were taken after the fact. I don’t even know if I have ever seen a picture of them from that day.

These are going Way Back to 1954.

IMG (8)

That’s my pretty Mama!

IMG_0001 (6)

We still have this dress down the basement in the dress up box. Our Girls liked wearing it. We are saving it for Grandkids to play with. She must not have saved the veil or I totally would have worn that when I got married.

7. I can’t believe I ___________________.

will be 50 years old next year!!!!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is my favorite senior picture of Mousey’s from yesterday. I loved it the first time I looked at the proofs. It was on almost all of your lists as well. Yes sir, that’s our Baby.

Thanks for stopping by, have a good week!

5 Comments

  1. Marlene said,

    November 16, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Yep high heels are out for me too. Love your mom’s wedding pictures. So pretty. I will have to post mine when I get a chance. Mousy is darling!!!

  2. Jocelyn said,

    November 16, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    Awwww I love your mom’s wedding pictures — she is sooo pretty!! And I thought it was cute and very very loving that you said you’ll never give up on your kids 🙂 Hope you have a fun wednesday!!

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    November 16, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Love Mousey’s picture! Your mom was a GORGEOUS bride! I was 2 yrs old in 1954 – you’re turning 50 next year and yes I’m turning 60 – hard to imagine but my knees say it’s true!

  4. Dottie McNally said,

    November 16, 2011 at 4:14 PM

    Fifty years young, What is hard for me to believe is that my oldest daughter is 48 and soon we will celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary if I let Mike live that long. Somtimes I feel older than dirt but most times I wonder where did the time go, my daughter cannot really be that old.

    Agree, your mother was beautiful.

  5. Joyce said,

    November 17, 2011 at 8:08 AM

    I love your mom’s wedding picture-gorgeous! And I could totally relate to the song list : ) Fifty is not so bad…just sayin’


Leave a Reply

