Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Happy Thanksgiving Y’all! Thanks for stopping by, and special thanks to Joyce for taking time out of her holiday preparations to host us!

1. Let’s start with something controversial…dressing or stuffing? What’s it called at your house and what’s included in your recipe…cornbread? oysters? sausage? chestnuts?

Definitely dressing. It is a southern recipe that has been passed down. We had been trying to get a written recipe for years and after many revisions, we finally nailed it the Christmas before my Mother passed away. Some of the ingredients are cornbread, celery, onions, eggs and sage. If I tell you more, I will have to kill you. It’s The Boy’s favorite food, he requests it for his birthday every year. Da-licious!

2. Who do you sometimes compare yourself to?

I think I am a sampler. I see all sorts of things I like or would want to incorporate into my life, character traits, wisdom, spiritual walk, fashion sense, home decoration, service, skills. So obviously I am comparing myself to these things, and sometimes making a change, but I don’t know that I compare myself to a complete person.

3. When were you last inside an airport?

November 5th., Fort Meyers to Detroit Metro.

4. What is one side dish that absolutely must be included in a turkey dinner?

My Aunt Phyllis and I were talking about this a couple of years ago. We are not opposed to having different things at dinner, but we want certain things every year! We HAVE to have dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, rolls, and our children would say corn, cranberry relish and broccoli salad. All of them, not just one.

5. What Christmas song do you dread hearing?

I used to always dread I’ll Be Home For Christmas. No matter where I was, home, work, shopping, it would always make me cry. And it could quickly turn into the ugly cry! My Mom told me she thought she knew why. The year I was born they were living in California and were not able to come home to Michigan for the holidays. She said she remembered sitting with me on her lap when that song came on and she proceeded to have the ugly cry. She always said I just looked at her solemnly while she sobbed. She was aware of how the song affected me and always said she was sure that was the reason.

I don’t know if that was the case, but it is a good story. It just makes me so sad to think about loved ones being separated for the holidays, like our military or for whatever reason. I guess that is why I cried. I am able to hear it now without having to leave the premises.

6. If someone approaches you and asks for money do you give it to them? Do you drop money ‘in a tin cup’ that belongs to a person on the street? Do you have a specific charity you support during the holiday season and/or year round?

I do not. Honey does not either. One time, years ago, we were in the parking lot downtown at the courthouse and a regular looking man said he had lost his wallet and needed the parking fee, $10/15 dollars or something. Honey told him to pull his car behind ours and he would pay for us both. The man was annoyed and left. He had no car there. It was an eye opener. There is SO much of this in the Detroit Metro area. Every corner has a person with a sign; homeless.

Since it is impossible for us to know who is in genuine need, and who is a scam, we prefer to donate time and resources to organizations that serve the needs in our communities. Our church partners with Gleaners and has a food pantry that provides monthly groceries and to over 300 families. They also provide a homemade soup lunch on pickup day, and hats, coats, scarves, mittens and gently used clothing are sometimes available those days as well. There are many hands needed to run this ministry, many opportunities to come along side others. The church where I attend BSF has a well attended outreach ministry they call The Clothes Closet. We donate all of our clothing, and sometimes other things there.

I don’t want to give the impression that every scrap of our time is spent serving and funding others, that would be false. Some things we do weekly, monthly, yearly and occasionally. Just a plug for looking around and seeing ways to help others. And ask the Lord, He’ll show you where you are needed  🙂

We have supported many different charities and organizations over the years, at holidays and year round. With our finances and our time, don’t discount your time, it is a valuable resource. Many hands make light work. The Salvation Army, Focus on the Family, Grace To You, RBC, Samaritan’s Purse, BSF International, missionaries, church related things, individuals we knew had needs, lots of things. It’s a good thing to do, God calls us to care for others.

7. Share a favorite Thanksgiving memory. If you live in a country that doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving share a favorite memory associated with food.

Nothing comes to mind, they are all good!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My Mother is never far from my mind, but she is even closer during the holidays. I mentioned above that we were able to finally get the correct recipe for dressing the Christmas before she passed away in 2010. I wrote about it here, and I think it was The Boy who photographed the moment.

The liquid is the hardest part for me, it needs to be soupy. How soupy is the hard part.

This is SO my Mom, it’s like she said mmmm, perfect!

My Dad was here last night for his holiday haircut and dinner. We had a nice time reminiscing about Mom. We will see her again one day.

10 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    November 23, 2011 at 7:34 AM

    I love the family cooking photos-those are special! Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and the dressing is not too soupy, not too dry : )

  2. deb said,

    November 23, 2011 at 8:06 AM

    Stuffing, dressing goes on a salad. So glad you have those photos and the recipe from yo’ mama. Have a lovely Thanksgiving!

  3. caprilis said,

    November 23, 2011 at 8:51 AM

    And that last sentence is the most important thing to be thankful for!
    Happy Thanksgiving to all of you wonderful Schmenkmans. As always, your friendship is right at the top of my list of things I’m most thankful for.
    Love to you all!

  4. November 23, 2011 at 9:15 AM

    I miss my mama too, she’s been gone since 1997 and I never learned how to make the dressing, my sister-in-law does a pretty good job though so we usually let her . . okay we beg her to do so.

    Here’s to a blessed weekend.

  5. Nan C said,

    November 23, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    Ah yes, Thanksgiving traditions. Actually, in our home this was a TG/Christmas tradition – homemade egg rolls! It’s the men, my brother or BIL, that have taken on the task of getting’s Maa’s perfect egg roll taste down. No bean sprouts in those egg rolls!

  6. Laurie said,

    November 23, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    Here’s the deal: you make a huge bucketful of that bread/veggie/broth recipe, the part that fits INTO the turkey is stuffing. The part left over and baked is dressing — at least that’s how I look at it! It’s all good.
    Wishing you and your family continued blessings, especially at this Thanksgiving time. Happy turkey day.

  7. Marlene said,

    November 23, 2011 at 7:58 PM

    I miss my mom too, especially at Thanksgiving. We had such a great Thanksgiving the year that it was her last and we didn’t even know she was sick. She died two and a half months later. I always make her dressing. And I make yeast rolls, because they are great the next day for turkey sandwiches. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your great family.

  8. Mary said,

    November 23, 2011 at 8:39 PM

    How great that you were able to grab a piece of your mom before she passed!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Mary said,

      November 23, 2011 at 8:40 PM

      Okay, that didn’t come out right! I hope you know what I mean!

  9. Robin said,

    November 23, 2011 at 11:23 PM

    Love the pictures…so sweet. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your precious family. So glad we’re connected!


Leave a Reply

