Happy Thanksgiving 2011!

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. All of the family, food and fun, without all of the Christmas hustle and bustle. Not that I do much hustle and bustle anymore, but there is still more to do at Christmas.

I have a list of thankfulness to share.

1.I was up early yesterday. Not super thankful for that, especially since Mousey had no school and I had no reason to be up at 5. But I was happy to have two cups of tea and peruse some blogs to see what you all have been up to. I am thankful for blogs and keeping in touch with loved ones and friends.

2. I was thankful that I was finished with my food preparations by noon. Except for that last run to the store for the broccoli. The broccoli salad would have been mighty skimpy without it. Cheese ball, check. Lemonade Icebox Pie, check. Grandma Hoover’s carrot cake, check. The salad AND the broccoli, check check.

3. I am thankful that Honey has a few days off! This has been the case for the last couple of years and I have already decided it should be a tradition. We have been talking about what we will eat and do for the next few days. He has some ideas. He always has some ideas.

4. I am thankful again for The Boy’s acceptance to Moody Bible Institute. And we found out on Monday that his friend, The Subject, was also accepted! Chicago has NO IDEA what it has gotten itself into!

014

Mostly I am thankful that these boys want to serve Jesus with their whole hearts.

5. I mentioned yesterday that my Mom has been on my mind. What I am thankful for is that I have so many memories and was able to spend so much time with her here in this life. I realize not everyone has that blessing for 47 years. I can hear her laughter, the stories she loved to tell, see her pretty, smiling face, watch her with our children, all from the home movies that run through my minds eye. God’s kiss on the cheek to me.

6. I am thankful that The Sewer Debacle is 95% finished and done with. I am most thankful that we spend very little time wishing hateful stuff on our incompetent, dishonest builder. God is the God of miracles.

7. Seven is God’s number, I am thankful for Him.

1 John 4:9-10

New International Version (NIV)

9 This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

That’s it, isn’t it?

8. I am thankful for Honey. As we inch closer to being back to two, I am so thankful that we still enjoy the company of each other. I don’t take it for granted that we are a good team, companionable, or that we can still make each other laugh.

But I am telling you right here, in front of the world wide web and God, he is going to have to break down and get some hearing aids.

9. I am thankful for health in our home. We are not complaint free, but God has blessed us with things that were not insurmountable. I like surmountable.

10. I am thankful for our Girls. Both so different, so special, such Dears. I am looking forward to many more years of being their Mama.

11. I am thankful for my sisters of the heart. God did not bless me with sisters, so He gave me extra special girlfriends that I cannot do without. They just make life all the more sweet! All of you, come on, group hug!

12. I am thankful to be spending today with family and friends. Lets eat and play Peanuts!

What are you thanking God for today?

5 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    November 24, 2011 at 7:09 AM

    Family, friends, Capris, critters(especially beavers and cats), health, Sassy Cat Hill… just all of my many MANY blessings.
    Happy Thanksgiving Schmenkmans!

  2. Marlene said,

    November 24, 2011 at 8:34 AM

    My hubby was so glad to hear about Honey’s hearing aids, because I tell him the same thing!!! I am thankful for him though and that we enjoy each other’s company as retirement has happened.
    I am thankful for my family, my girlfriends like you, my blogging friends, and last but not least God who has been revealing Himself to me in such a mighty way ythis year.
    I miss my mom, but am glad for the last really good Thanksgiving we had with her before she died 3 months later. She didn’t even know she was sick.
    Okay, now that I have written my blog here-I am all set 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. deb said,

    November 24, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    I am thankful for health, my blessed family, Capri’s! and all my friends, my BFG, home and the ability to make things to my hearts content! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  4. Laurie said,

    November 24, 2011 at 9:34 AM

    The list could go on forever — or,at least, until dinner!
    I, too, am missing “Da Mama”and am glad to have had her as long as I did.
    My hubby (who can also use hearing aids and maybe I can, too).My two girls (and a job for the first one). All my brothers and sisters and their wonderful kids . Our Surrogate family who include us in holiday gatherings and their lives Our friends
    Our health, retirement, our cottage in the woods, etc., etc., etc.
    And to the “Man Upstairs” who has given us these blessings.

  5. capriP said,

    November 25, 2011 at 6:18 AM

    EVERY BIG AND LITTLE THING!! …….including you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

