Thanksgiving Day 2011

We headed up to Lansing for supper at my Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis’ house. The food was da-licious, the company was most enjoyable and GUESS WHAT??? I think we got the Christmas picture!!!!!!!

Mousey was loaning The Grandpa some of her hair. He misses the hair of his youth.

006

This was the only food picture I took. The lemon curd wasn’t even there to be photographed. I just want to say there was not a bad bite in the whole batch. I know, I sampled every single thing. Some twice.

004

I asked my cousin Lindsay if she could find it in her heart to take our family picture. She said SURE, which leads me to believe she has never heard how difficult that particular task can be. Then her mother, aka Aunt Phyllis, said she wanted to get a family shot too. Unfortunately, we had this great idea after their son, Michael, had already departed.  He had to leave early to travel with The Red Wings. Yes, those Red Wings. He won some sort of great prize involving The Red Wings in a poker game. I feel I need to say RED WINGS one more time to make a point!

Here they are, sans Mike. Uncle Bob, Aunt Phyllis, Lindsay, Robbie and their fur child, Ava, who was rocking a cool lions mane.

My uncle is not a big smiler. He was looking too serious, so I mentioned he looked like he should have posed with a pitchfork.

029

There it is! From then on, I didn’t bother to say cheese, it was just “pitchfork”.

031

Still working!

034

All this posing was wearing Katie out.

039

Mousey too a picture of me and Honey.

041

Then there was a photo crasher right between our legs.

054 

I tried to take our picture holding the camera out in front of us. It was not very …..flattering.

059

Uncle Bob said he liked this better.

063

The Grandpa and Phyllis had front row seats for the show.

057

Lindsay began with us posed this way.

010

Then that way.

013

Change of venue. I had already decided that Katie’s look was not going to influence my choice.

017

Group hug!

024

Extreme close up. It’s even cute of Katie!

025

This was the most well behaved family photo shoot our group has EVER had!!!!!!! Seriously, all of the shots were good, there may have been a couple of mid blinkers, but no shenanigans! Instead of my usual hard decision of which pose The Boy ruined the least, I have a nice selection to choose from. I think The Boy is FAR too comfortable with Nurse Lauren, our usual family photographer. The poor dear only does it out of the goodness of her heart and he gives her all sorts of grief!

Thank you Lindsay! It was so nice to see Team Levine, up from Orlando!

037

We taught Robbie to play the card game Golf, and played our usual game of Peanuts. We heard the story of  Bob and Phyllis’ meeting at church when she was on a date with Dwayne, their courtship, their hanging chad of a pause when he went into the Marines, his eventual return home and their marriage about 6 months later. Oh, and then the story of Bob and my Mom, breaking down in his corvette on the way to his wedding in the 190 degree heat. They are celebrating the big 5- 0 soon, so I guess it all worked out for them!  There was more talking, laughter and then we ate again, and then there was a theological discussion to cap of the night. A day full of things I love!

On to Christmas!

4 Comments

  1. November 29, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    Great family shots! Glad you got ‘the one’ for your Christmas cards. 🙂
    ~FringeGirl

  2. deb said,

    November 29, 2011 at 7:03 PM

    I love the extreme closeup! Glad you had a good Thanksgiving….

  3. Laurie said,

    November 29, 2011 at 10:38 PM

    The family pics are super — I’m having a hard time choosing my favorite. Am leaning toward the one with the boy on the floor.

  4. warren said,

    November 30, 2011 at 5:38 PM

    I love that pic of you and Butch where the Boy is breaking in…hilarious! He must be a ton of fun! You guys always smile!

    The other pics of you 5+1 are great too…esp the second one! Well done Capri Ks, well done!


Leave a Reply

