Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Many thanks to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for thinking up some questions for us all to ponder!

1. Do you send Christmas cards? If so about how many will you send this year? How do you display the cards you receive? Or don’t you? (gasp!)

I usually do send cards most years, but have been known to not quite get around to it on occasion. It is always my goal. It is usually the family picture that is the problem for me. This year my Girl Cousin Lindsay took our picture on Thanksgiving, WOO HOO!! Check that off the list! Sometimes the Christmas letter causes me angst, but since I have been blobbing, it is not as difficult as it once was. My typing skillz have greatly improved. There may be those of you who might say don’t bother to do a picture or a letter, but I have to say that is what I enjoy most about the Christmas cards we receive.

When I do send cards, there are about 90/100. I do not display the cards we receive, I put them in a pretty basket for anyone to look at. My Mother always enjoyed this as she knew many of the senders.

2. When do kids become adults?

I am not quite sure about this. All I know is none of ours are! I would think being adult should indicate that you are not dependant on your parents anymore, therefore, we have no adults.

3. Does your ‘beauty regimen’ change with the seasons?

I probably use more moisturizer, and occasionally wear foundation. Other than that, no.

4. What’s something you like to eat that might cause another person to turn up their nose?

I live with some wimpy baby kitty whiners. Many of them would turn their noses up at mayo, chocolate, salad dressings, vinegar, mustard, beef, sour cream and a lovely dessert I like to call pink fluff, but The Boy refers to as doo doo.

5. Gloves or mittens?

Mittens to walk in, gloves for everything else. Preferably with at least leather palms.

6. What’s the longest queue you’ve ever been in? Was it worth it? Queue=line but doesn’t queue sound nicer?

The longest line that comes to mind was when The Boy and I were registering him for summer school. It seemed like hours. I have waited in some doozies at Cedar Point as well. Gemini, Corkscrew, Blue Streak.

7. Besides Christmas, what is one thing you are looking forward to in the month of December?

I always look forward to spending time together when our whole family is home. Decorating cookies, playing games, snowed in, Honey home from work, lounging around talking. It’s all my favorite and it happens this month!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Girl Cousin Kay and I went and visited our Great Aunt Adalene yesterday. She moved into a nursing home last month and is receiving visitors. We had a wonderful visit, talking about the old days, the good old days and the present. There was laughter and some tears.

Aunt Adalene is 96 and has lost her sight to macular degeneration. She is getting weaker and she is worried about her forgetfulness, but Kay and I told her we are worried about our own forgetfulness! But despite her troubles she is determined to have a good attitude and be kind to all she speaks to. She said everyone at her new home is so nice, and I was impressed she knew everyone’s name. Including us, she had 5 visitors that day, confirmation that she is much loved.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post. My Grandmother Hoover and Aunt Adalene were sister-in-laws, as well as good friends. Shortly after The Boy was born, Grandma and Grandpa moved up north to be near their daughter Ava and her husband Frank. Aunt Adalene frequently travelled the 4 hours up The Mitten with me and the kids for a visit.  Here we are on the famous porch swing in front of Grandma’s house. My Grandma Hoover is on the left, Capri K, The Boy, The Ab-Cat and Aunt Adalene in 1997.

IMG_0001 (7)

We continued visiting together when Grandma moved out of her house and into an assisted living place. 2004. Eight hours up and down The Mitten is prime conversation time! We talked about everything under the sun and solved many world problems. There were also many visits to her home. Many games of Skip-Bo were played.

IMG_0002 (5)

Beeve joined us in 2006, the year before Grandma passed away.

IMG_0003 (4)

And here we are last summer.

464

She had been living with her daughter Girl Cousin Joyce for many years. This is her with her other daughter, Girl Cousin Vickie from Indiana.

466

It would be hard for me to tell you how much my aunt has meant to me over the years. She was always so good to me and Beeve. She loved my Mother and my Mother loved her dearly. She has such a sharp memory and has told me many stories that I treasure. I have loved hearing her tell about her life, she has a book in there and I am not the only one who feels this way. It has been hard watching her health fail, but it has been inspiring to see her immediate family rally around her, to lovingly care for her, to watch over her, to remind her that the Lord still has a plan for her life, even in her last years.

She is a wonderful example of persevering, of finishing strong. She said she guesses the Lord isn’t finished with her yet. I love that she is so positive, and still has her good sense of humor intact. Yesterday she kept sliding down in her chair and we had tried several times to rearrange her pillows to get her more situated. She had taken a fall a few days before and had some aches and pains that were being attended to. Finally Vickie couldn’t do any more and she asked “Mother, what would make you more comfortable?” Aunt Adalene joked, “are you KIDDING ME?” What wouldn’t! A new body would probably do the trick! We had a rousing laugh over that!

I look forward to visiting with her again soon.

Thanks for stopping by, see you next week.

7 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    November 30, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    Glad you had a good visit. Where did you lunch?
    Question… Joyce and Vicky are pretty much exclusivily female names, so why the need for “girl cousin” instead of just cousin?
    Getting old is not for whimps as DaMaMa would say, so glad she is able to stay positive.!

    • Capri K said,

      November 30, 2011 at 2:55 PM

      A long time ago I blogged about how there are only a couple of boy cousins on my father’s side, but a plethora of girl cousins. All of them are now Girl Cousin_____

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    November 30, 2011 at 11:18 AM

    Great pics! Love your stories about Aunt Adaline – she has aged since we saw her at the reunion at your house (well I guess I probably have too – now that I think about it) – but boy her and Vicki sure look alot alike don’t they! She has lived a long life – bless her heart!

  3. Robin said,

    November 30, 2011 at 3:42 PM

    Ditto to what Cindy said! Aunt Adaline has aged but still so beautiful! And as you said, always so positive. Glad to know how she’s doing. Keep us posted.

  4. Honey's Older Sister said,

    November 30, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    Where abouts in the mitten? If it is near us I didn’t realize that it would be a four hour drive…..

  5. Joyce said,

    November 30, 2011 at 5:00 PM

    We’ve moved a lot so Christmas cards are one way we keep in touch. I’m always a little disappointed if someone I haven’t seen in a year or more sends a card without a picture.

    I enjoyed your Aunt Adaline story : )

  6. Marlene said,

    December 2, 2011 at 4:56 PM

    Yea for the family picture and letter. I love receiving letters and pictures and display my cards, the same way you do. Enjoyed your Aunt Adaline story.


Leave a Reply

