Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for visiting. Special thanks to Joyce for taking time out of her busy holiday preparations to host!

1. Will you be hosting any house guests between now and the end of December? Does that thought make you happy or crazy? Do you do anything special for your guests to make them feel at home? How long should a house guest stay?

None that I am aware of.

If anyone were coming, it would make me happy. I don’t think I do anything super special when guests come besides clean the room and bathroom and change the sheets. Maybe that is why I don’t mind how long they stay! I’m glad they come, they can eat with us if they want to and how much time they linger is up to them as well. I give them a key and see them when I see them. They seem fine with this arrangement.

2. Walter Elias Disney was born this week (December 5) back in 1905 …what’s your all time favorite Disney movie? Here’s a list in case you’re struggling…and yes, you have to pick one.

That is TOO hard! All of those movies make me so nostalgic. So many take me right back to moments when our children were young. Two year old Ab-Cat singing along with The Little Mermaid. Mousey watching The Lion King over and over. The Boy ( all of us actually) loved the Toy Story series. I loved National Treasure and have been know to watch that whenever I come across it on tv. Aladdin, Little Nemo, Pocahontas, Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, The Emperor’s New Groove, Hercules, all were huge. It would be so much easier to chose the ones that they were not so fond of. The Fox and the Hound, Robin Hood, The Sword in the Stone. There seemed to be a few years there when Disney lost their mojo.

What was the last thing you purchased that you realized was a mistake after the fact?

I bought some cute sandals at Marshalls at the end of the season that I thought might be uncomfortable. After wearing them around the house, I am sure they are uncomfortable and they are going back.

4. What percentage of your Christmas shopping is done online?

None. That is Honey’s department. All of my shopping is done the semi old fashioned way, at the store with a credit card.

5. Amaryllis-snowdrop-poinsettia…your favorite winter blossom?

I don’t even know what the first 2 are so by default, the poinsettia.

6. What is one thing on your personal Christmas wish list? I think we all want peace on earth so let’s make this answer an actual item.

For the last couple of years I have remembered after Christmas that I would like a hardcover set of the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I heart her so. Our soft cover set has seen much better days.

7. If you could only use one word today what would it be?

I don’t get this question, so I will just point to The One who knows all things; Jesus.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

We are going Way Back to Christmas 1998. It was the year we moved into our present house. Ab-Cat was 9, The Boy 7 and Mousey was 4. Abby was just looking at these and commented how white our walls were. Capri Patt didn’t come along and help me paint everything until a few years later. You still have my extreme gratitude, Capri Patt!!!!

I love this picture of Abby and Honey. She is her Daddy’s Girl. 

IMG (9)

Christmas Eve. We had probably just been out for dinner with our dear friends The Hostlers.

IMG_0004 (4)

Posing with some of their haul on Christmas morning. I am especially enjoying Mousey’s gold sparkly shoes. You can’t really tell, but I remember.

IMG_0003 (5) 

We spent the day out at the lake at Grandma and Grandpa’s. I think my Mom was opening a calendar that I made. She loved pictures of her Grandkids.

IMG_0001 (8)

Mousey logged a lot of time in one of these Target carts, she knew just what to do with her “bebe”! I love Abby’s sweet face in this picture, always so happy for her little sister. Beeve and Stacey are in back there too.

IMG_0002 (6)

This picture CRACKS me up! We had moved into this house 3 months before and not all of our furniture had arrived. Obviously, the office furniture had not made it yet. Have you ever seen such a motley assortment of cobbled together pieces??? We were SO excited, this was our VERY first ‘puter!

IMG_0005 (4)

Thanks for joining me!

5 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    December 7, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    I looked at that Disney list — there’s no way to choose just one. How about we get to select one from each decade? The 40s, 50s, etc.

  2. Jocelyn said,

    December 7, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    I love your list of disney movies…it’s hard to pick just one.
    I love the little house series! Love the pics 🙂 Happy Wednesday!

  3. Nan C said,

    December 7, 2011 at 9:44 AM

    Those are great pictures. 🙂
    My fave Disney movies definitely include the Toy Story series. Pixar used groundbreaking animation when the first one came out (but I guess Walt used “groundbreaking animation” when many of the classics came out then, too). The Toy Story humor was appropriate for adults (I got nostalgic just seeing those toys we used to play with), as well as kids

  4. Joyce said,

    December 7, 2011 at 12:47 PM

    I love all the old Christmas photos…maybe I’ll get around to digging some of mine out for a post. We were just talking about our first computer the other day…essentially my girls used to get on and paint. Ha…times have changed haven’t they?

  5. Marlene said,

    December 8, 2011 at 5:40 PM

    Love the family pictures. We have to get you an Amarylis!!! It is so cool to watch it grow. They are everywhere now. They come in a kit and you water it and watch it grow-very tall!!!


Leave a Reply

