Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by at this busy time of month! And special thanks to Joyce for having us, I’m pretty sure she has enough on her plate without the Hodgepodge business!

1. Do you put Christmas decorations in every room of your house? If not every room, what rooms do you decorate?

No I do not. Only the family room, kitchen and powder room. That is quite enough I think.

2. If you could visit one of the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden) which one would you choose and why?

I am not familiar enough with any to choose so I will defer to Joyce, she has been everywhere!!! Where should we go Joyce?

3. What does the word faith mean to you?

Funny you should ask because our BSF lesson asks a similar question this week. Hebrews 11:1 says "Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see,". The question then asked us to explain in our own words the different aspects of that faith. My answer was “We believe in a God without concrete, physical form because we have experienced His love, care, protection, salvation, mercy and grace in our hearts, minds and lives.”

I have always loved this song by 4Him, I thought it was a pert near perfect answer.

So I Am Walking By Faith and Not By Sight

And I Am Trusting in Invisible Things

For I Have Felt in My Heart What I Can’t See With My Eyes

’cause the Proof Is Living Inside of Me

I’ve Been Set Free And This Is All the Evidence I Need

Thanks Boys.

4. You can go back to your childhood for one day…what day and age would you choose?

I would go back to a big Hoover Thanksgiving or Christmas and see many relatives that have gone on to their eternal home. The good thing about that is both sets of Grandparents would be there because the Hoover’s absorbed my Mother’s family of 4 into their own ginormous herd.

5. When did you last have ‘punch’? If it’s not too much trouble share your favorite punch recipe.

At  my Aunt and Uncle’s for Thanksgiving. We are a punchy sort of family. Honey and I host Christmas this year and we will serve punch as well. The kids think it is the best drink ever. Earlier this year my Dad brought over my Mother’s silver punch bowl for me to keep. I plan to debut it on the 25th.

Recipe

1 can frozen concentrate orange juice

1 can frozen concentrate lemonade

2 cans water

1 lg can of Hawaiian Punch

2 liter of lemon lime soda

container of sherbet

6. Do you fill stockings at your house? Are stockings opened before or after the bigger gifts?

Yes, we have stockings, they are opened Christmas morning and are from Santa. We open our gifts on Christmas Eve.

7. What takes your breath away?

Reunions. Takes the breath away, puts tears in eyes, can turn into the ugly cry in a heartbeat.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

This picture is from 1970, so Beeve would have just turned 4 and Capri Kel was 8. It was taken in the living room of our home on Richfield in Livonia. I love Beeve’s sweet little face and I am wondering where my eyes were??!!

IMG (10)

Thanks for stopping by!

6 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    December 14, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    Your punch sounds delish…I love the old Christmas picture! So cute!

  2. Hootin' Anni said,

    December 14, 2011 at 8:42 AM

    I love your Christmas Stocking tradition. And the photo with the huge smiles is so contagious….I’m smiling right back.

    ATCHAFALAYA SWAMP PHOTOS is my link for today. Hope you can find time to visit with me.

  3. Tami said,

    December 14, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    Your Christmas picture sure does bring back memories!

  4. Tammy Doane said,

    December 14, 2011 at 11:50 AM

    Love the picture!

  5. Ang said,

    December 14, 2011 at 6:03 PM

    Your punch sounds yummy and the pic is cute!

  6. Marlene said,

    December 16, 2011 at 10:13 AM

    The stocking tradition was the best. Miss it even now, as I stopped doing it several years ago for the kids and the grandkids.


Leave a Reply

