Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guy! Special thanks go out to Joyce for taking time out of her busy week before Christmas to gather all of us Hodgepodge-ers together!

I almost didn’t get to participate. Our main computer is all joofered up and when Honey went to put the virus protection on my new Precious, Nettie the Netbook, she was having NONE of it. Bless Honey’s persevering heart, he finally got the thing to straighten up and fly right. We need a geek in the family!

1. Are you cooking Christmas dinner? How many will be round your table this year? What are we having?

We are! There will be 15 sitting around 2 tables. Dinner will be turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, ham, corn, broccoli salad, green bean casserole, rolls and butter, delicious desserts and there could be more.

Our children are happy, they like to be home for Christmas. Me too.

2. What is one must-have Christmas cookie in your house?

Cut out cookies. The kids love them best and decorating them has become a family tradition.

From 2008.

036

Ugly, but delicious.

3. Santa likes a glass of milk with his cookies. Do you? What kind of milk is on tap at your house-skim? almond? soy? full fat (Gasp!)

2%, there are not many milk drinkers around here these days. Only for cereal.

4. Time magazine recently named their ‘Person of the Year’ for 2011. This is the person the editors believe had the greatest impact, for better or worse, in the past year. This year they chose ‘The Protester’. Your thoughts? Who would you name Person of the Year

Hmmmm, Person of the Year. The world had a lot to protest this year.

My first thought when I read this was the Wall Street protesters and I have to say I was a little disgusted. Does anyone really know what they are protesting, or what they want? There may have been a kernel of something there at the beginning, but it seems like they are just a bunch of disorganized squatters now.

Of course the protesters in other countries are probably more on the noble path. They have a heck of a lot more to protest about, like basic human rights.

I am with Joyce on this. They should give give this honor to someone doing good for mankind. I guess some of them fall into that category.

5. December 21st is National Flashlight Day… when was the last time you needed a flashlight and did you know right where to find one?

It seems like every summer we loose power once or twice. The flashlights are in the cupboard in the laundry room. We like to light candles too.

6. candy canes…yum or yuck?

They are fine, but I wouldn’t waste my carbs on them. There are MUCH yummier things to be had at Christmas!.

7. What Christmas carol lyric means the most to you?

Joy to the world the Lord is come, let Earth receive her King. It was a good night.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I wanted to thank you all for praying for our CareGroup friend Jan struggling with multiple myeloma. She went home to be with the Lord yesterday afternoon with her sons at her side.

This picture was taken at Birthday Club in May of 2009, before her first stem cell transplant. Jan is front right.

IMG_0009 (2)

I am thankful we were able to visit with her on Sunday.

Merry Christmas, hold your loved ones tight.

11 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    December 21, 2011 at 6:03 AM

    Big hugs to you and the rest of the caregroup… losing a friend is heartbreaking.
    Continued prayers for you all and especially for her boys.

  2. Tami said,

    December 21, 2011 at 7:05 AM

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. I’m glad she had friends to help her and support her.
    I don’t think the cookies are ugly at all! Very festive!
    Merry Christmas!

  3. December 21, 2011 at 7:24 AM

    So sorry to hear your friend has passed on. May she be enjoying what we all hope as the promise fulfilled.

    Merry Christmas.

  4. 3goodkids said,

    December 21, 2011 at 8:12 AM

    I will miss Jan bunches. She was very kind to my family. She was a good person and she loved the Lord.

  5. Carol said,

    December 21, 2011 at 8:27 AM

    thanks for posting the pictures. Your cookies are great! I love the colors. I am sad about Jan and my heart goes out to her boys. God has given Phil a very tender heart. He will make a good physical therapist one day or whatever God has for him! They both were so committed to their Mom.

  6. Laurie said,

    December 21, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    So sorry to hear of Jan’s passing. She is in a better place with angels all around her. The holidays seem like a terrible time to lose a loved one — there should be a law against it. I will pray for her boys.
    Loved the Hodgepodge today. Your Christmas dinner sounds scrumptious. My favorite Christmas Carol is “Mary’s Boy Child” preferably sung by Harry Belafonte. Happy Holidays to all.

  7. Joyce said,

    December 21, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    So very sorry for the loss of your friend. My 17 yo niece is undergoing a stem cell transplant tomorrow. She has AML (Leukemia) and it has been a rough rough road. Her donor cells are coming from a young man in Europe. Makes all of us truly focus on the real meaning of Christmas.

    Wishing you and your family a joyous Christmas and New Year!

  8. HOOTIN' ANNI said,

    December 21, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    Ummmmmmmmmmmmm, sorry, I think you meant there will be 16 at two tables….you forgot me….I’ll be on your doorstep….I can’t resist…with a meal like that!!!!

    [kidding of course]

    With all joking aside tho, the loss of your friend yesterday fills my heart with sadness. The memories of her, you’ll carry with you which will help the healing process.

    I have two separate posts today:

    1] New Orleans Conclusion
    and
    2] WEDNESDAY HODGEPODGE

    Hope your day, so far, has been a glorious one.

  9. Nan C said,

    December 21, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    So sorry to read about your friend, Jan. She went to Jesus’ house just in time to celebrate His birthday.

    My favorite Christmas lyric is, “Veiled in flesh, the Godhead see. Hail the incarnate deity.”

  10. deb said,

    December 21, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    Hoping and praying that you and all her loved ones can enjoy the memories of happy times had with Jan. So sorry for your loss. I’m with you, my favorite is “Joy to the World”….I can just picture my children singing their hearts out with those words.

  11. Marlene said,

    December 21, 2011 at 11:02 PM

    Nice picture of all of you. I am so glad you were able to see her on Sunday.


Leave a Reply

