Three Days Away

How about a good old,3 day before Christmas, list? I feel like all I’ve got are little bits and bobs to talk about.

1. Thank you all for your kind words regarding our CareGroup friend Jan. I pondered NanC’s thought about her arriving in time to celebrate Jesus’ birthday.

2. After my Mom passed away I remember thinking doing everyday things were so surreal. I am having the same thoughts now. Jan just passed away and we are going Christmas shopping, cleaning the house, making dinner, having everyday life, all the while praying for her sons and her brother and his wife. Surreal.

3. I put a big dent in my cleaning yesterday. All those things that don’t seem to get done very often. Things involving vacuum cleaner hoses and many paper towels and spray bottles. Who invited all the dust and spiders? I never saw any spiders, only evidence of their occupancy.

4. The Ab-Cat went to Chicago on Tuesday with the young adult group she attends. She returned home last night to our great delight! We missed her! And I don’t want to sleep one more night with her snoring little dog! Katie was absolutely bereft without her Mama.

5. If we were that lonesome with a child gone overnight, whatever will we do when The Boy leaves for Moody in January??? He is beyond excited. I am beyond trepidation.

6. Our big computer is still joofered. Honey is seriously contemplating a new tower instead of a fourth wipe. Whatever. We have endured this before, we’re getting to be old pros. On a side note, we are considering an arranged marriage for one of our daughters with a nerd clause firmly stated.

7. After an uncertain start, we are getting together with our dear friends The Hostler’s for Christmas Eve!! Looking forward to that time honored tradition! My Dad will be joining us as well. I was trying to think how long we have all known each other. At least 18 years. Where should we eat Rae Babe?

8. I was talking to Capri Deb at lunch this week. She was telling me about some melatonin pills she bought for her daughter, newly hired for the night shift, Nurse Steph. They evidently help with the sleeping of people on night shift work. This captured my interest because Honey has worked at night for the majority of our married life. He can be a notoriously poor sleeper.

I goggled melatonin to edjamacate myself on its glorious properties. Wikipedia gave me the lowdown here, and it sounds like a wonder drug. For Honey and the rest of us non shift working folks. It ran the gamut, preventing cancer in night working folk, perimenopausal women, ADD affected, troubled sleepers, headaches, auto immune affected.

So clearly, we should buy stock in this brand. I bought a bottle at Sam’s and took one last night. While I did awaken at 1:30 and my usual 4:30, I was able to fall back asleep, and I do believe I slept sounder throughout. I am now on a campaign to get the household involved.

9. Today is the day I need to pick up our 16 pound, spiral sliced ham from our friendly neighborhood Coney Island. Honey said they had a 14 pounder last night at their Ford Motor Company Christmas Feast and there is no way we need a 16 pound ham for our NutHatch Christmas Feast-ette. Good to know before I actually buy it.

10. Fuzzy said his ham was DA-licious, so that is also good to know before I actually buy it.

Have a pleasant, productive, and proactive Thursday. Needed one more P.

8 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    December 22, 2011 at 8:59 AM

    #7…. I really don’t think you shouls eat Rae Babe! The family would certainly miss her!

    • caprilis said,

      December 22, 2011 at 8:59 AM

      *should*

      • Capri K said,

        December 22, 2011 at 9:58 AM

        “Where should we eat, Rae Babe?” How’s that?
        The comma is a meaningful little bugger!

  2. Laurie said,

    December 22, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    In regards to your children leaving the nest: Preparing them to fly is what parenthood is all about. You should be filled with pride in a job well done — not that trepidation stuff. As to leaving their pets behind, that is a whole other story!

  3. December 22, 2011 at 2:24 PM

    We’re fine with anywhere. Really. The last few years we have gone to Ruby Tuesday’s, and Max & Erma’s. I can eat at either of those two places very easily (and healthily — if that’s even a word). We’ve also gone to Papa Vino’s — which is good as well.

    Let me know what you think and when you want to meet — we’re going to the 11p Christmas Eve service at NRC so we have no where else that we HAVE to be … except with you, dear friends! Nurse Lauren is working the night before so she’ll need to get some beauty rest — I’m thinking around 3p would be a good time to meet if that works for you. BTW: I’m so glad your dad is joining us! 🙂

    • caprilis said,

      December 22, 2011 at 3:17 PM

      AND glad that they don’t really plan on eating you I’ll bet!

  4. Marlene said,

    December 22, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    #2 it doesn’t seem like we should be partying when a loved one just died; it is a surreal experience.
    #8-The melatonin does seem to work for some people. I wake up the same times you do. Glad you able to go back to sleep.

  5. Tammy said,

    December 23, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    #6. I love the nerd clause idea. I have an IT son in law and it is awesome. Y’all have a Merry Christmas.


Leave a Reply

