The Day After New Years and All Through the House…..

Hi Guys!!! Happy New Year, again! How about we break in the new year right with a list? I know Capri Laurie will like it even if the rest of you heaved a heavy sigh.

1. I have seen some really nice 2011 picture recaps on a few blobs, and in my heart of hearts, I long to do the same. But our big computer, where all our pictures live, has quit us and Honey is vacillating on his next move.

2. Wipe it yet again, or buy a new tower? That is the question for the ages. Or at least our age right this moment.

3. I have The Sickness. It was coming for a few days before it actually took up residence in my head and sinus’. It’s not a horrible one, but a nuisance all the same.

4. On New Years Eve we spent a goodish part of the afternoon digging out the garage. After a summer full of yard work to restore our front yard to its pre Sewer Debacle form, and Honey’s project of repairing our worn out glider, there was much stuff hogging the third car spot. Plus, you know how when one area is a mess, it causes other areas to atrophy in sympathy? Well, multiply that by 3 and you have a very untidy corral for the automobiles. After everything was put back where it belonged, he hosed the little piggy down and WA-LAH, a sparkling beauty of a garage!!!! You know how important the garage is to a Day-go.

5. Our 3 garages now house all of our vehicles, because we no longer have a truck. The Subject and The Boy, coined The Moody Bro’s by Faithful Reader Tammy from OK., were in a 5 car accident on the freeway the day after Christmas. We are THANKFUL God was merciful and spared them from harm, as was everyone else involved. But the truck was totaled, again. I will have pictures at a later date, I did not have the presence of mind to grab the camera when the call came. We still have to go and clean it out, so I’ll get some then.

Suffice to say, God had his hand on those Boys, protecting them and all involved from serious injury. The very best kiss on the cheek from God. As Jip the Farm Dog so accurately texted, it was almost my worst nightmare.

6. Honey is as busy as a beaver this morning. He evidently has a goal to fix everything he had wanted to get done last year in one fell swoop! Little projects left languishing, bags from Lowe’s being emptied and used, things involving electricity. Last week he was The Shredder King, reducing about 20 years of paper to gerbil bedding. He does so love to accomplish things!

7. The Boy has finally decided it is time to pack for college. He called me last night to ask what he should pack everything in. We are going to use suitcases, them bring them all back home since his dorm room is the size of a camera chip. I say that like I have seen it, but I did take the virtual tour, and I mean to tell you, I could not live with so few amenities. Like I mentioned last year, (that amuses me to say last year like it was ages ago) he is going for a spartan existence. Toiletries, clothing, bedding, coffee pot and teas, books, computer, highlighters, his Bible and 3 pillows. And a lamp.

8. I am going to miss that cotton headed ninny muggins like crazy.

9. I would like to give the inventor of Puffs Plus a giant kiss of gratitude, but  I won’t, because they probably would not like to be exposed to The Sickness.

10. Honey and I had a marathon session of watching White Collar on The Ab-Cat’s new WII Netflicks. Jip has been recommending it for some time. We like it a lot. It is sort of Castle-ish.

11. I have washed more dishes, wiped more tables and counters, and loaded the dishwasher more in the past 2 weeks than I can remember!

12. I will end on the New Year number. Have a productive first week of the year! Anything on your agenda?

5 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 2, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    The list pleased me!! A nice way to start the New Year.

    I didn’t know about the accident, so glad that none were injured. Not sure I want to see the damage!

    Honey sure starts his year in a gung-ho manner. I think you’re suppose to make a resolution and then spend time thinking about things before you actually get started. He’s gonna give the rest of us a bad rep.

  2. Marlene said,

    January 2, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    So glad the boys are okay and sorry you are sick. That thing is going around. Our last guests left this morning; I feel the same way about the cooking and cleaning up-and all the eating going on here. I hate to tell you what is on my agenda, but I am packing for my cruise on Sunday and getting the house ready for Uncle Buck to stay here while we are gone.

  3. caprilis said,

    January 2, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    Oh dear! So glad the boys are ok!
    Happy New Year to all of you!

  4. deb said,

    January 3, 2012 at 5:46 AM

    Oh my……so glad theboys r fine. I highly recommend zicam rapid melt tablets. Made it go away faster.

  5. warren said,

    January 4, 2012 at 10:21 PM

    I always packed in garbage bags…


Leave a Reply

