The Package is Delivered

We left for Chicago on Wednesday morning in the jam packed Grandpa Grey Taurus. Stuffed with suitcases, bedding, books, a coffee pot, many bags of tea and us.

We stopped for lunch at Culver’s, because we like Culver’s and doesn’t ice cream make everything better?

Our GPS, aka The Girlfriend, insisted we get on the turnpike, insisted it was the best way to go. She is a liar and we disregarded her on the way home. She was also hugely befuddled in Chi-town, evidently not a big city girl.026

But, we made it.

She led us on many wild goose chases to find our dinner. We settled on Gino’s East, by default.030

Legendary? I think not. I cannot be objective though, I am not a fan of the Chicago deep dish pizza. Not this one anyway. All cheese, all the time.

While there, we drove over to see a college Mousey is considering called North Park. It looked nice. Forgive me for not being excited, but I just left one child in The Windy City, I’m not excited to leave another.031

Just hours away from the ugly cry.

036

After a so/so night at the hotel, we breakfasted at the Rock-n-Roll McDonalds, then headed a couple of blocks down LaSalle to Moody. The Boy checked in and we went up to his room on the 11th floor.

The floor break room is right outside his dorm. Note the panda.037

The kitchen. Two burners, a microwave and a griddle. Maybe a rice cooker.038

Their mascot for the floor is a panda.039

The bathroom The Boy will have to learn to use. Well, he knows how to use a bathroom, but this is also The Boy who made me pinky swear promise I would  come and get him from high school if he had to go. He’s shy. Good luck, Son.

040

His dorm room. His roommate is Sweet Tea, whom we did not have the pleasure of meeting. He is a missionary kid from Germany, and word on the floor is he is very European. I am not sure what this means, or how it will impact our Boy.

I think there will be some discussion as to how the furniture is arranged. The Boy says if Sweet Tea wants the top bunk, they can remain stacked. But if Sweet Tea doesn’t, the bunk is coming down.

041

We helped him unpack and Mousey put his duds in the drawers. It’s good to have a sister to put your under squares away.

045

This is the entrance to his hall, affectionately known as Culby.

047

There is scripture all over the walls, like God Graffiti! I love that, you know how I like words on the wall.

049

Look who we ran into! Well, fancy that! The Subject’s room is on the same floor, on the other side of the break room. Mousey is sad. She is losing two of her three best Boys. Of course, she still has her Dad.

050

In The Subject’s room. He has his OWN panda picture! I will keep my eyes open at The Value World for panda paraphernalia.

052

The Moody Bro’s have arrived. Culby may never be the same.

053

Do they look…..pastoral?056

Some of The Boy’s duffel bag of books.

062

He is a college Boy now.

070

The floor RA Joon offered to take our picture before we left. Right in front of my own personal life verse. Proverbs 3:5-6. It’s the not leaning on your own understanding part that is hard.

077

With The Subject and his Mom, The Mayor.

There were tears, hugs and kisses before we headed back to The Mitten. My waterproof mascara was not waterproof.

078

I just left a big part of my heart in Chicago. I feel unsettled, weepy and my eyes are puffy.

081

But he is exactly where God wants him, and that is good enough for me.

063

16 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 6, 2012 at 12:56 PM

    Be very proud of the job you’ve done in raising that Boy. And make all your tears droplets of joy that he has found his calling and is following his heart. Of course you’ll miss him, but get that mascara back on and smile for him.

  2. Shannon said,

    January 6, 2012 at 1:40 PM

    Oh. My. Stars. I am not ready for this! You are my hero.

  3. Nan C said,

    January 6, 2012 at 1:43 PM

    I was getting testy-eyed reading this blob. Godspeed to you, Boy. 🙂
    I didn’t know that The Subject was heading to Moody, too. Maybe I forgot that I read that. I’m glad there will TWO Moody boys together.

    • Nan C said,

      January 6, 2012 at 1:44 PM

      I mean teary-eyed. (darn autocorrect!)

  4. Jip the Farm Dog said,

    January 6, 2012 at 1:55 PM

    The last picture is the one you have to hold on to, for yourself and for the Boy. The Word of God will be the foundation for a new path for both of you.

  5. keelyody said,

    January 6, 2012 at 2:27 PM

    I KNOW just how you feel. Three parts of my heart left me in September and will be leaving me again soon. I wish I could tell you it gets easier but I haven’t found that to be true yet. But it helps knowing they are where they’re supposed to be and that we’ve raised them to be wonderful, independent young men. Call me if you ever want lunch and to shed a few tears…….I’m always up for that.

  6. warren said,

    January 6, 2012 at 3:41 PM

    Well, Mr European is the next guy he won’t ever want to talk with again…college roommates seem to go that way. Smart move not rooming with The Subject…they will be friends after they graduate!

  7. caprilis said,

    January 6, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    Big hugs Schmenky… Chi town is not far away if you need a Boy fix.

  8. Marlene said,

    January 6, 2012 at 4:43 PM

    A big hug for your mother’s heart. It is hard; part of my heart is in Chicago (5 parts). He is in a great place and he will be studying the BIBLE. What a great opportunity. You trained him up in the way he should go! Prayers for you and him as you start a new part of his life.

  9. caprilis said,

    January 7, 2012 at 6:47 AM

    I meant to mention… back in MY day if someone was said to be “very Europeon” it meant that the didn’t use deodorant!

  10. beckib said,

    January 7, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    Sending some hugs your way! At least you aren’t too far way if you need to see him. 🙂

  11. Carol said,

    January 7, 2012 at 2:55 PM

    Loved the pictures. Thank you for posting them. I feel like 2 very special guys have landed in a new world, embarking on an amazing adventure. I am so excited for them. But bummed for you. My favorite picture was his stack of books on the shelf. Amazing…he will learn so much and grow so much in the Lord. I am excited!

  12. capriP said,

    January 7, 2012 at 8:00 PM

    He will be an AWESOME pastor in the future ….:)

  13. deb said,

    January 7, 2012 at 11:23 PM

    Yes, he WILL be a great pastor! Congratulations mama, you did good!

  14. Cindy Wildasin said,

    January 8, 2012 at 3:39 PM

    I am so proud of him and I don’t even know his real name!! It is so encouraging to see young people honor God. My baby is only 8 years old but I always hated it when my sister’s kids went back to college so I can only imagine how hard it is to let go of one who lives in the same house…..Praying for you!!!!

  15. Ellen Roth said,

    January 10, 2012 at 11:53 AM

    It is very hard, but as you watch him grow even more into the young Man of God that he will become, you will be ok with everything. So proud of him! Mitch is a sophomore at Grand Valley, and he loves it there. That also makes it easier, knowing they are happy where they are. You know that old saying that a parents’ job is to give them roots and wings. You have done very well on the roots part, now he has to try his wings. God fully understands and appreciates a Mama’s heart when our kids leave the nest, and He will fill you up in new ways.


Leave a Reply

