Reboot

Happy Monday, Guys!

Everything starts back up again this week, and it’s probably a good thing. I need to get busy so I can’t spend too much time crying into my chai remembering that my baby boy is living in another state.

I thought I would share a list of the many things floating around in my thoughts.

1. First up, a very heartfelt thank you for all of your kind, sweet, and gentle comments about Our Boy. Have I mentioned lately that I have THE best friends a gal could ever want? I know that many of you have been through this stage of life before. We are not reinventing the wheel here.

2. I have talked with The Boy a couple of times and he LOVES Moody!!! Loves every little thing and has met so many cool guys. We are thrilled for him!

3. I hope he feels exactly the same way today when he calls around 3-ish, after his first day of classes. I wasn’t really concerned about the social aspect, that one has never met a stranger.

4. So far so good on the bathroom front, we can all breathe a sigh of relief on that.

5. Honey has noted he is the only male in our entire house, including the dog and 3 cats. And it is a vewy, vewy, qwiet house without The Boy and The Subject.

6. All weekend Honey and I kept saying “we left our son in Chicago”. It’s like pinching ourselves, it doesn’t seem real.

7. There are a lot of components to this going away to college thing. It’s not just them going away to school. It is all intertwined with mothering, and independence, and loss of some of Mama’s identity. Keelyody and I had many conversations about this last fall when her twins left for college.

8. We decided that we are mourning the loss of our most favorite job ever. Being full time Mamas has been a delight for us.

9.  I finally de-Christmassed our house on Saturday. I.Could.Not.Wait.

10. Mousey made the bus (WOO HOO!!! Happy dance!), I have a bazillion errands to run and Moms in Touch starts this morning. There is much schooling to pray for today!

What’s on your agenda?

4 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 9, 2012 at 10:16 AM

    So glad to hear that The Boy likes his new digs, so far. Hope the actual college part of it goes as well. (Good news re: bathroom!)
    Is the college just for boys or is there a girls dorm, too?

    In our home, Hank has always been “the token male” — among humans and pets, as well. He says it’s just his cross to bear!!

  2. keelyody said,

    January 9, 2012 at 12:16 PM

    I, again, feel the need to just let you know that I feel your pain. You hit it on the head; I feel like I’ve lost (at least part of) the best job in the world–mothering. But that’s so great that he’s loving it–helps knowing you’ve done your job well!! What happened with the bathroom????

  3. keelyody said,

    January 9, 2012 at 12:16 PM

    Never mind–just realized what the bathroom situation was. No need to reiterate!!

  4. Ellen Roth said,

    January 10, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    I have a new commitment to a healthy lifestyle, and I have discovered Chai tea! What is the name of your favorite brand? The reason I tried it at all is because of your many favorable remarks about it here!


Leave a Reply

