Capri Kel and Her Old Friend Laura

Honey gave me a special gift for Christmas this year. Besides the very special gift of chai that he also gave me.

006

I have loved the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder since I could read on my own. I checked and rechecked them out from the Daniel Webster Elementary School library many, many, many times. The librarian, Mrs. Lamont, was always trying to steer me towards new selections. Lots of times I went where she steered, but I always returned to The Ingalls.010

I had a few books growing up. Some young children books, an assortment of paperback books bought from the Scholastic book orders, that was about it. We did go to the library in the summer, I always liked that.

011

Because of my great love of books, I introduced our children to many of my old favorites, plus many new favorites. I have read many chapter books, volumes and volumes, aloud at bedtime, and sometimes in broad daylight, just because we couldn’t wait to find out what happened!

One year for Christmas we gave The Ab-Cat the soft cover set of The Little House books. I read them to her and The Boy, in order. Mousey always seemed a little too young, so when she was older, I read them again. Every now and then the Girls would read one, or I would go and pick one out. Usually The Long Winter, as those who have been around the blog any length of time would know. But I have never had my own set of books.

Many years have passed and our softcover set has seen better days. Covers have come off, bindings have broken, pages scattered, and I am not even sure we still have them all. The last couple of years I have checked The Long Winter out of the library for its annual read. I decided I would someday like my own set, and I wanted hardcovers, like I used to check out from the old Daniel Webster library.

014

Look what Honey gave me! My very own set, still minus the first book, which CBD inexplicably did not have. I am so excited to have them, only about 40 years after I first fell in love with them!

Thank you Honey, I love them! I look forward to reading them to our grandchildren!

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 10, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    A set of books like that is priceless as far as I am concerned. It’s like having a whole family of friends sitting on your shelf, waiting patiently for another chance to communicate with you. And what’s really amazing, you always find something new, no matter how much time you’ve spent with them. Sit down with your favorite, have a cup of chai and escape!

  2. Tammy said,

    January 10, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    Oh…I am so happy for you! It is cloudy and cool today, I think I might exchange my Cape Light for a Long Winter.

  3. Kayte said,

    January 10, 2012 at 3:58 PM

    I don’t know if you like online ordering but here is your missing book from one of my favorite places to shop!
    http://www.powells.com/biblio/1-9780060264307-18


Leave a Reply

