The Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! I missed last week but I’m back to partake of some Hodgepodge. Thanks, as always, to Joyce for getting us all together.

1. Lake Superior University has once again published a list of words/phrases they think should be banished from the Queen’s English in 2012-

amazing, baby bump, shared sacrifice, occupy, blowback, man cave, the new normal, pet parent, win the future, trickeration, ginormous, and thank you in advance.

Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Go here to read more about how the words are chosen.

Oh dear, I use a couple of these words! I agree that amazing should be retired. You can pretty much guarantee that if anyone says something is AMAZING, it isn’t. I have never heard of pet parent, win the future or trickeration.

2. Are you easily embarrassed?

No, I think I am a pretty good sport and my skin is not that thin.

3. What is your go-to snack?

To tell you the truth, I am in need of a go-to snack. I am trying to climb back on the low carb wagon and I need some new ideas. I like flavored almonds and I make a mean sugared pecan with Splenda. There’s always cheese. I just had some of Honey’s homemade salsa with chips, that was pretty good.

4. Have you ever been to Washington D.C.? If not do you have any desire to go? What site/attraction would you most want to see in that city? If you have been, what’s your favorite site/attraction?

We went to D.C. in August of 2004 or 2005. It was right after National Treasure came out and I think that made it all the more interesting for the kids. I consider it to be one of our best family vacations, even though it was meltingly hot and we walked about a thousand miles!

I can only narrow my favorite sights down to 3. The Viet Nam Memorial, The WW2 Memorial, and The Holocaust Museum. And Arlington, ok 4, I lied.

I would like to go again someday. Maybe we could see the Jefferson Memorial, it was closed for repair or cleaning that week.

5. sit ups-planks-lunges-squats…which do you hate the least?

I guess sit ups, they are all heinous.

6. What’s a small act of kindness you were shown that you’ve never forgotten?

I will never forget all of the acts of kindness shown to us after our car accident in 1995. People cleaned our house, did our laundry, cut our grass, watched The boy and Mousey while Ab-Cat was in the hospital for 7 weeks, brought us meals. Did many things for us when we could hardly do for ourselves. I will always be grateful for the kindness shown to our family.

7. Have you ever been a blood donor?

I tried to give blood once and was rejected because of low iron. Since my iron is rarely even at normal, I never tried again. I am a recipient of donor blood, does that count for anything?

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Since dropping The Boy off at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago last week, I have run the gamut of emotions. From excitement, to busyness, to sadness, to the ugly cry, to weepiness, to longing, to irritation, to practicality, to thankfulness, to pride, and back to excitement.

He LOVES college, every little thing, from the people, the city, semi independence, his classes, the conversations. We LOVE that he is smack dab in the middle of where God wants him to be. We are all going to be alright.

046

5 Comments

  1. Tami Miller said,

    January 11, 2012 at 8:27 AM

    I am low in iron too. I had to take iron pills for all of my pregnancies, otherwise I would have passed out. The picture of your son is (well I’d say ‘amazing’ but you want that retired.. lol) precious!

  2. warren said,

    January 11, 2012 at 10:30 AM

    Man cave is the phrase I think I hate more than about any other…argh.
    Ginormous and amazing are next in line…argh

  3. Brenda said,

    January 11, 2012 at 1:17 PM

    Key words “smack dab in God’s will” Love that!

  4. Joyce said,

    January 11, 2012 at 3:11 PM

    I love all those same sites. Been there in the heat of summer many times and meltingly hot is a good way to say it.

    I’m enjoying the answers to the kindness question. There are good people out there! So glad your son is lovin’ life!

  5. January 11, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    How wonderful your son is at Moody Bible Institute.


Leave a Reply

