Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, welcome back to the Hodgepodge! Thank you to Joyce for gathering us all together to answer some questions.

1. A new Miss America was crowned on Saturday night-did you watch? If you were a contestant what would your talent be?

As a young girl I used to watch the pageants every year, but I have not watched in a sweet forever.

As for talent? Y’all know I have no talents! Wait, I take that back, I can load a dishwasher better than anyone I know. It’s a work of art, a thing of rare beauty. So whenever they allow that talent in the beauty pageant, then I’m your girl.

2. Do you have houseplants? Real or fake?

All fake, all the time. Real plants are just cat toys. Plus I would have to remember to water them.

3. When you were in school did you speak up or were you more of the hide your face, avoid eye contact, and pray the teacher didn’t call on you type of student?

Mostly the pray your teacher didn’t call on you type, especially in math. Some teachers and subjects were easier to raise your hand for.

4. Next Monday marks the Chinese New Year…what do you order when someone suggests Chinese food?

Egg roll, almond chicken and maybe egg drop soup. I am not a big fan of the Chinese food.

5. How would you define a miracle? What would it take for you to consider something a miracle?

I think a miracle is something that cannot be explained in our physical world. Maybe it goes against all odds, the opposite of what should happen, it’s flat out a God thing. I don’t think it is every little cool thing that happens, it has to be a BIG deal.

6. What’s your favorite Disney song? If you’re stuck you’ll find a list here.

There can be no favorite! We had so many cassettes from the Disney movies floating around in our van. Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, Hercules, Pocahontas, Cinderella, Lion King, among others. I thought Hercules was very underrated so I will say that one. I Won’t Say I’m in Love sung by Meg was Mousey’s choice.

7. I should have____went to the chiropractor________ yesterday.

8. Insert your own random thought here

I don’t know about you al,l but our weather is all over the place this winter! The Mitten is always somewhat erratic, yesterday being a prime example.

Yesterday we had rain showers, buckets of rain, and 48 degree temperatures. It was downright balmy. Throughout the day the temps plummeted 20 degrees to 27. When I let the dog out for her bedtime tinkle there was a dusting of snow. This morning it is a brisk 16 degrees. Yikes!

Thanks for stopping by, stay warm in your neck of the woods!

9 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    January 18, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    Winter weather everywhere seems a little crazy this year. Oooh, I have the same talent…we could be competitors : )

  2. HOOTIN' ANNI said,

    January 18, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    Your second one….the cats, you and me both!! Oh, and I’m a total wuss in winter at my age….that’s why I retired to the Gulf….warm, still warm year ’round.

    GARDEN – FOUNTAINS (scroll down a bit)

  3. Laurie said,

    January 18, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    These questions get my brain started very Wednesday A.M. Thank you.
    Winter has decided to come to Idaho, finally. It’s snowing pretty heavily at present and looks so pretty. Too bad everyone has taken down their Christmas lights –they look so extra pretty against the snow.

  4. Brenda said,

    January 18, 2012 at 12:35 PM

    I guess that’s what winters all about! But I like the countdown to spring I saw on another blog!
    I agree with your #3. Now that you mentioned it, I didn’t realize how much praying i did in school!

  5. deb said,

    January 18, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    Steph had the sheet music to Little Mermaid….I remember her playing them on the piano, all those songs would have to be my favorite. See, that piano did get some use!

  6. skoots1mom said,

    January 19, 2012 at 10:11 AM

    love your blog…
    it’s colder here today but not as cold as ya’ll

  7. January 19, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    Oh definitely “The Little Mermaid” and the song “Part of Your World”. I used to sing that to my baby girls all the time. 🙂 First movie I ever took Autumn to — she was just a babe in arms … didn’t even have to pay for her to go! ❤

    About the Miss America pageant — I've been thinking lately that my chances of ever winning a crown are quite slim now. 😦 In HS I lost being "Band Queen" my senior year by one vote! I found out later that my sister's boyfriend (who later lived with our family) had voted for the girl who won — if he had voted for me I would have that crown! Oh well … guess this side of heaven I will be crown-less!

  8. Brenda said,

    January 19, 2012 at 12:16 PM

    I also wanted to mention, I love your Blog title…in fact I’ve always thought it would be neat to make a sign that says No Whining (Allowed) Aloud. I would cross out ‘allowed’ and write ‘aloud’. In other words, if you must absolutely whine then keep it to yourself!! Hmmm…I think I’ll get on that!

  9. Marlene said,

    January 19, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    I loved Cinderella because it was daughter number one’s favorite, so I know all the songs. I used to love the talent on Miss America back when it was a BIG DEAL.


Leave a Reply

