Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Welcome February, the shortest winter month! A thank you to our hostess Joyce for rounding us all up to answer some pertinent questions. Head on over to her place and join the fun!

1. It’s that most wonderful time of the year…tax season! Do you complete your own returns or farm that job out to the professionals?

Funny you should ask. Honey had me poll everyone from our small group last Friday as to where they had their taxes done, and if they were happy with their person. He had a sneaking suspicion that the fellow we have been using for the last few years has been charging too much. He was correct. We are looking for a new tax guy.

2. This next question comes from Kansas Bob…he posed it in his response to something I asked in an earlier Wednesday post and I asked him if I could add it to the Hodgepodge some day. Today’s the day….

Which do you think has changed you more-love or pain?

I think I would say pain. Heartache and trial can drive you to your knees, literally and figuratively. It can bring a dependence on the Lord that you cannot develop any other way. If I could have seen a preview of our life before we married, I would have run for the door. That girl could not have managed. But God had a plan for me. A plan to use everything in my life to transform me. He knew how everything would unfold. He grew our faith, and he surrounded us with others to help us carry the heavy load. We endured the painful things and lived to tell about them, testifying to God’s faithfulness all throughout the journey. When you have suffered pain, the joy is so much sweeter. I am changed, for the better.

3. Tangerine Tango has been named color of the year for 2012. Your thoughts? Would I find this color anywhere in your house? How about in your closet? If not, will you be adding this color to your life in some way in 2012? If you’re not sure what tangerine tango looks like click here.

Maybe in my closet, but it wouldn’t match the house.

4. Are you a collector? What do you collect and does it get admired, used, and/or dusted regularly?

I am not a collector. Except maybe craft supplies. If I did collect, it would have to be useful. I like things to have a function.

5. February is National Heart Month…besides a green salad what is one tasty heart healthy dish you like to prepare?

We make a lot of soups that are healthy. Italian Escarole, Mediterranean Minestrone. Good healthy ingredients like vegetables, chicken and barley. i don’t agree that all fats are bad for you though, just like I don’t agree that we need all the whole grains. We could all do with much less grain, period.

6. When was the last time you had car trouble?

Fortunately, we have several vehicles, so we have not had serious, debilitating trouble lately. We are still dealing with the loss of the truck after The Boy and The Subject totaled it last month. Honey has been searching for a replacement, which has been unproductive. Honey’s Grandpa Gray Taurus has been in the shop getting some work done and needs some more, but he has been driving it. Our big high top conversion van was having some problems with its tires, but that seems to be fixed now. Nothing earth shattering.

7. Have you been more demanding on yourself lately or less? Is that a good trend?

Less demanding. Not a good trend, I have been somewhat lazy lately.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

When I was downstairs looking for a way back picture, I came across this sweet memory from 1998. The Boy’s first lost front tooth! Seven years old and as pleased as punch. Hard to believe he is now 20 years old, living in Chicago, and a graduate of several years of orthodontia. I miss that precious Boy.

IMG (12)

12 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    February 1, 2012 at 7:39 AM

    Cam swears by Turbo Tax if Honey is interested in doing it himself.
    No tangerine tango for me thank you.
    Oh but when that tooth grew back IN… oye!

  2. Joyce said,

    February 1, 2012 at 8:41 AM

    I’m really enjoying reading the answers to #2 today. Loved your thoughtful response to that question. Have a great day!

  3. Katie said,

    February 1, 2012 at 9:07 AM

    Very beautiful response for #2. Very touching.

  4. Laurie said,

    February 1, 2012 at 9:28 AM

    We’re huge Turbo Tax fans as well. I say “we” but Hank is the one who does the taxes and he says “it walks you right though it”.
    As for “Tangerine Tango” — I was wearing a dress in that color when I met my husband on a blind date 45 years ago!!!!
    As for collections — elephants. I am drastically reducing my collection but so many have sentimental value. If you know anyone who collects them, I have bunches to hand over!

  5. February 1, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    Liked your #2 answer.

  6. debbie said,

    February 1, 2012 at 2:02 PM

    I enjoyed your post and especially agreed with your number 2 answer. I was wondering if your name is Capri? My grand daughter is named Capri, and I have never heard of another. Such a pretty name. Hope you enjoy your day! Debbie

  7. Desi said,

    February 1, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    I am totally with you on the whole collection thing. I am the kind of person who needs things to have a function for me to want to have them in my house.

  8. Brenda said,

    February 1, 2012 at 2:48 PM

    Loved your #2 answer.
    I agree with #5. We can get so caught up in the food trends without studying them out.

  9. Tammy Doane said,

    February 1, 2012 at 5:18 PM

    Great answer to #2-agree so much with you.

  10. Nan C said,

    February 1, 2012 at 5:53 PM

    I collect pinched pennies – you know, those machines that ask for 50 cents to flatten the penny and put a picture on it. They’re much cheaper than souvenirs, and easy to see all the places one traveled to.

  11. deb said,

    February 2, 2012 at 6:44 AM

    I use turbotax, too. I know Honey could do it himself with a little help from turbotax. And I know someone, who could answer any other questions he may have.
    Thank the Lord we cannot see into our future…but for supplying everything we need for it!
    I collect fabric and glass and wool and ….and yes they are functional…lol!

  12. Marlene said,

    February 2, 2012 at 6:00 PM

    Turbo tax in this house. I guess I am a collector of both useful and not so useful stuff.


Leave a Reply

