February Photo Challenge-Makes You Happy

I would like think that those who know me well could see all of these things lumped together and say, ahh, that’s Capri Kel!

All of these pictures make me extremely happy. They are highlights of my very favorite parts of life. Treasures. God given, widest things in my museum of recollection sorts of things. Not a full list of happiness mind you, but a list of essentials. Which is bending the rules all to heck anyway because the title of the challenge is PHOTO of the day, not photos.

Onward HO.

My People make me happy. Inordinately so. God’s extra special, kiss on the cheek to me.

017

My big, fat, kitty witty boo-lie woo-lies. I have always been a cat person. Always wanted to own them, nap with them, look at them, touch them, hold them, and bother them. My family says it doesn’t matter how many we have, they are all mine. I can’t help it, they love me best.

008

Oooh, a twofer! my Dad AND a cat! A patient, gentle, loving man, who had to endure my teen years with no extra pay. A pleasant, enjoyable time, to be sure.

134

THRIFTING!! Oh how I love to find buried treasures among the trash.

240

My hand picked by God, blessings. He had pity on me for the having no sisters thing. Seriously, I hit the jackpot with my large posse of can’t do without, scattered all over the place, gathered from all walks of my life, Girlfriends.

 

My Precious.

 

I think I honed my love of reading on The Ingalls Family. I love the Little House books and many other books.

011

I can’t say enough about the influence of BSF in my life. Having been born into a Christian family and in church all of my life was a strong foundation and a blessing. I had a lot of head knowledge, but I needed to learn how to download that into my heart. I had been spoon fed God’s word and had no idea how to feed myself.

When I started class 12 years ago, I was tired. Our youngest had entered first grade and I had just came off 6 hard years. Years full of mothering, crash courses in nursing, phlebotomy, occupational and physical therapy, and we had earned our masters degrees in holding down the fort and flying by the seat of our pants. Seriously uncharted waters.

I had several friends (Hi Peanuts Champ!) ask me many times to come and join the class. I purposely waited until Mousey started school all day because I already had mothers guilt about all of the time spent away from her in her young life. Now that I know what a wonderful children’s program BSF has, I would have done it differently, but at the time, I just thought it was child care.

In the past 12 years I have learned more about God and His word than in all my other years put together. I was now an active participant. I had to work for those answers. I had to learn how to apply what I had learned, not just do something because that was what I was supposed to do, or what I had been told to do. I downloaded all of that head knowledge, and my heart has been the better for it. Wonderful teaching, interesting discussion, community with women who were not just like me. Then three years into it, I was asked into leadership on the administration team and I learned  a whole lot more about serving with humility, passion, excellence, and with a high view of God. A special word of thanks here to Jip the Farm Dog. God called me into leadership, Jip trained me! We were on a good team.

BSF, it’s like the Army; Be all that you can be!

There you have a good chunk of what makes me happy!

2 Comments

  1. Marlene said,

    February 11, 2012 at 8:23 PM

    Love this blog! You put so much thought and effort into it and I can tell it is right from your heart. Thanks for sharing what makes you happy. The pictures are great.

  2. deb said,

    February 13, 2012 at 7:30 AM

    Yes, this is Capri Kel through and through! Agree with Marlene, you speak from the heart.


Leave a Reply

