February Photo Challenge-Handwriting

When I was around 6 or 7 I wrote my name in every book I owned. With a trusty purple marker. My writing has changed since those days. As has my last name.

009

This was my Mother’s writing. My cursive used to look a great deal like hers, when I actually wrote in cursive. She would always have me write my own excused note to school, and sign it. She always said it looked pretty good!

012

My Mother’s writing was very similar to her Mother’s writing. Grandma Georgia’s h’s were different. My Grandma was big on using the full name, and the Miss. That Lady and the Tramp book was one of my favorites.

017

I don’t write true cursive anymore. It is more of a print/handwriting hybrid. This recipe for the last week mentioned pumpkin cookies, looks to be all printed.

003

006

The only regular writing I do anymore is my BSF lesson. Always done in pencil, with things added from leaders meeting in pen. 90% hybrid.

022

Have a neatly written Monday.

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    February 20, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    Who would think a person could write so well about handwriting? My penmanship is pretty darn good for a lefty — even though the nuns tried really hard to put that pencil in the other hand!

  2. deb said,

    February 20, 2012 at 10:25 PM

    How interesting! I think the change in writing is a sign of the times…we rush ourselves more nowadays. I love to consciously think about my writing and try to make it be somewhat attractive.

  3. warren said,

    February 23, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    The only C I ever got in school was in handwriting. I type everything now. My son is worse than I am so he is really going to have a time although I don’t think they have a handwriting class any more


Leave a Reply

