Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thanks for stopping by and thanks as always to Joyce for giving us the opportunity to get together!

1. February 22nd is National Be Humble Day…what makes you proud? What keeps you humble?

Funny you should ask! Our lesson this week had this to say.
2 Corinthians 3:4-6

New International Version (NIV)

4 Such confidence we have through Christ before God. 5 Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.

When you know this, it’s easier to be humble. Pride can be such an issue, especially for Christians, but when you already know you are not all that and a bag of chips? So much easier . Without the Lord it isn’t pretty. With Him, I am Sun Chips, garden salsa variety, and their slogan is “Live Brightly” Rather appropriate!

It makes me proud when our children make good decisions based on God’s Word. Sometimes they have not even correlated this, maybe they have listened to some of that talking and walking along the road. God’s Word does not return void.

Deut. 6:7

Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up.

2. Where is the catch-all (aka dumping ground) in your house?

There are two. The left side of the island in the kitchen, and the back counter in the laundry room. Both are stuff magnets.

3. Do you make it a point to visit State/National Parks when you travel or even in your own hometown? What’s your favorite?

Nope. I think we have camped in state parks though.
4. How would you define honor?

My thesaurus says “a fine sense of, and a strict conformity to, what is considered morally right or due.” I think that is right. The moral part is important. You can’t be honorable if you are doing something wrong, or dishonest.

5. Angel’s food or Devil’s food-which cake do you prefer?

Neither kind sounds particularly tempting. I used to like angel food with strawberries and whipped cream, but it seems sort of Styrofoam-y now.

6. What’s the most recent road trip you’ve taken? Where did you go and how many hours did you spend in the car? Do you like to zoom to your destination without stopping or leisurely wind your way there with stops along the way? What is your car snack of choice?

I guess it was to Chicago to drop The Boy off at Moody for college. I think it was about a 4 hour trip and we did stop for lunch and a bathroom break.We don’t typically stop and smell the roses while traveling. We smell them when we get there! I am not a huge car snacker. Honey likes licorice though.

7. Recent headlines told how a preschool child in NC had their packed lunch from home taken away and a school lunch substituted by a school inspector who deemed the homemade lunch unhealthy. Reportedly the parent was then billed for the school lunch (chicken nugget meal) although an update to the story says the parent was not billed. The inspector was conducting a routine inspection of the classroom-he/she was not there solely to peek in the lunchboxes. The packed lunch contained a turkey and cheese sandwich, an apple juice box, a bag of chips, and a banana. You can read the story here. Your thoughts?

I actually heard about this! That did not sound too unhealthy to me. I’m sure our children have not always chosen to eat the balanced meals I have packed for them. I certainly would not like anyone deciding what our kids ought to eat based on their idea of good nutrition. I don’t agree with the food pyramid, or plate, or whatever they are calling it these days. I am not an advocate of a low fat and dairy, high whole grain diet. Get the processed foods, the unhealthy fats, the sugary junk out of there before you come digging through the lunch boxes.

Thankfully, our kids rarely bought lunch at school. The Ab-Cat and I were laughing about this the other day. She would only buy lunch on days when they offered BBQ riblet. What the heck is that??? We have no idea! Mousey only bought when they had salad bar and Domino’s pizza. I’m sure The Boy was less discerning, but he probably mainly bought the pizza. It had to be the Domino’s too, or later, the Little Caesars. They didn’t like the school brand, too soggy, they said. By high school they all said the line was too long.

I don’t know what the solution to this is. I am sure there are many parents out there vigilantly packing well balanced, healthful lunches, and I am equally as sure that there are parents who are not. I would certainly hope that this was a mistake on someone’s part, because seriously, there are a lot worse lunches to be found. But don’t even try and suggest that chicken nuggets, battered and fried in who knows what, is a better, healthier, alternative.

8. Insert your own random thought here

The February Photo Challenge is asking to see a picture of where we work.

This is where I work, and it sorely needs a makeover. I talk about doing something with it, but then it never gets done. It is functional, if not particularly attractive. Much hair is cut down here, grey removed, and color imparted.

001

Have a pleasant Wednesday.

7 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    February 22, 2012 at 8:55 AM

    Loved your answer to #1 : ) Have a great day!

  2. February 22, 2012 at 9:20 AM

    This angel food cake talk is making me hungry!

  3. Marti Murphy said,

    February 22, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    Enjoyed you verses and thoughts regarding being humble. Very well said. I often feel like the Apostle Paul, not doing what I should, and doing what I shouldn’t, that certainly makes me humble. You work area is spacious. Visiting from Wed. HP. Drop by and see me.

  4. Laurie said,

    February 22, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    I’m in need of gray removing RIGHT NOW!!! Although, in our house it has to be referred to as “white” or “silver” because gray sounds too drab!

  5. Tammy Doane said,

    February 22, 2012 at 6:38 PM

    Enjoyed reading the verses.

  6. Marlene said,

    February 23, 2012 at 1:14 PM

    Loved your answer to #1; so practical. And it’s nice to see where you work 🙂

  7. Laurie said,

    February 25, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    Seeing your work place made me realize I need to make an appt. for my roots. I’ve been doing them myself for years, but lately I can’t seem to conquer an orangish tint.
    I’ve been DYING to get lost in a great novel…any recommendations? Do any of your readers have any?
    Was the sequel to Pillars of the Earth any good?


Leave a Reply

