February Photo Challenge-Green and Happy Birthday Ab-Cat!

Our Baby is 23 today. Am I going to be saying this (with a new number) every year, with every child, for the rest of my life? Because I just can’t believe it!

The green prompt threw me until I remembered that Miss Abra-Cadabra had a couple professional pictures taken in green. I am positive that this little dress was a gift from her Grandmama, because she was a fan of the pretty dress.

The date on the back says her full name with the date, 12-90, and her age, 22 months. When you have one child, this sort of thing comes easy. When The Boy arrived 6 months later, I did everything abbreviated.  By the time Mousey came around, there was no writing at all, we just hoped we would remember it was her and give our best guess how old she was.

On this fine December day, my Mom and I took Little Abby Dabby to K-Mart for these loverly shots with the obligatory Christmas tree poster in the back. I seem to recall that she was not crazy about the idea and there were some tears. There may or may not have been a tear on her cheek in the pose they selected for us.

IMG (15)

I believe there were times we thought we would have to come back another day. This surprised me because Girlfriend was generally amiable in all situations. She was bookish, even as a 22 month old, and pushing buttons was her hobby. This must have assured her that this place was not so bad.

IMG_0003 (6)

You know how, back in the day,  K-Mart have you 1,695 pictures to pass out to all of your close personal friends, including their selection of the the $9.99 deal pose, and including a giant 18 X 20 and little bitty 1 X 1 squares that you also did not get to select yourself? Then you had to additionally buy sheets of the pose that you really liked.

This was my VERY favorite pose. I could not select additional sheets of this pose because they only made this pose in the totally useless 1 X 1 squares that you need a magnifying glass to see. Now here we are, 21 years later, and through the wonder of technology, I can see my precious little girl bigger than a postage stamp! This picture has been stuck in my bedroom mirror for the majority of those 21 years. Perhaps I should have it reprinted at The K-Mart’s close personal friend and competitor, The Wal-Mart? Then I could finally, you know, FRAME it!

IMG (16)

A couple years later she was sporting another green dress, purchased at my friend Laurie’s garage sale. We benefitted greatly from those sales because it was Laurie’s great joy to dress her daughter Caitlin in a most beautiful fashion.

Such a sweet, precious little angel baby, that’s what she was.

IMG_0001 (10)

I found no more green pictures until she was either a sophomore or junior, guesstimated by the fact she is wearing her retainers. She wore those retainers for years until one of the cats stole them. We found them years later under her bed, wedged in her bed frame by the mattress. Her bottom teeth have shifted. She still blames the cats. I blame the dumb orthodontist who should have used expanders on her, but he was not so cutting edge.

IMG_0002 (7)

She is still a darling, darling girl, shifted bottom teeth and all.

Happy Birthday Ab-Cat. You are still our first, adored, precious, wonderful, priceless, loved, Baby Girl. You made us a family.

Jeremiah 29:11

New International Version (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

8 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    February 25, 2012 at 9:43 AM

    Happy birthday, Ab-Cat. You look quite nice in green!

  2. caprilis said,

    February 25, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    Happy Birthday Ab-Cat! Love you!!!

  3. Marti Murphy said,

    February 25, 2012 at 10:51 AM

    A beautiful baby, now all grown up, happy birthday to her.

  4. February 25, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    Happy Birthday to Ab-Cat! Love htose photos.

  5. Laurie said,

    February 25, 2012 at 12:41 PM

    Happy Birthday Abby!! What a precious baby girl! I haven’t visited your site in quite a while…when I do it always makes me miss you desperately. I have an adorable picture of Caitlin in that same green dress (probably my VERY favorite picture of her). I am taking the 2nd week in April off because Brett is off that week, which means I will be marooned at home….will you be in Florida that week? If not please come have lunch with me one of those days. Love and miss you!

  6. Honey's Older Sister said,

    February 25, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    Happy Birthday Abby! You do look wonderful in green.

  7. deb said,

    February 25, 2012 at 9:34 PM

    Abby, Happy Birthday to you! Hope this 24th year brings you much prosper, and blessings and all the good stuff in life!

  8. warren said,

    February 27, 2012 at 3:34 PM

    Happy birthday Ab-Cat!


Leave a Reply

