February Photo Challenge-Money

Only 1 more day of The February Photo Challenge and you know what that means, LISTS galore!!!!! I have enjoyed most of the challenge, there were a couple that seemed forced, but all in all, we made it work.

Money. That is a big subject. It can be most helpful, a way to right wrongs, a gateway to fun, the root of all evil, and quite literally, the means to hold off homelessness and starvation.

I once commented to Honey that I didn’t think money was that important to me. He said that was because I have always had it. He is right. I have always been well taken care of, I have no idea what it is like to live without a safety net. When I was younger and said I was poor, it meant I had no disposable cash for what I wanted. I could always scrape together enough change out of the car ash tray for Taco Bell, or I could go home and eat. I was never in danger of going without.

I have learned much about generosity and giving from Honey. He is a compassionate soul with experience in life without a net. He sees needs when I see nothing at all.

Because I can be dense, this year God has brought to my attention, multiple times in multiple ways, that there is work to be done. And money can be of assistance in this work. 

At BSF, we study the Bible as our only textbook. God has plenty to say about our resources. Money, time and otherwise. Giving, in love, is required. From the notes and lecture over the last couple of weeks I have heard:

“Of all things believers do, only love will endure the grave”

“Let us not pray for easier lives but for greater power to bring blessing out of every pressure and trial”

“Every act prompted by faith will be empowered by God”

“Judgement proves that who we are and what we do matters”

“When you know the truth, the right response is required”

and just this week:

2 Corinthians 9:6-7 (NIV)

6 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7 Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

Our small group has been studying Crazy Love by Francis Chan. Just under the preface there are these words.

To just read the Bible, attend church, and avoid “big sins”- is this passionate, wholehearted love for God?

-Francois Fenelon, The Seeking Heart

What do I do when I see a need? Do I recognize an opportunity God placed directly in my path, or do I trip over it trying to get out of the way?

Do I do what God asks of me? In love? With an open hand? Knowing He can do more with our resources than I ever could?

I want to be faithful. I want to be generous. I want to be intentional. Not just give leftovers to the God who saved me. I need to do some more pondering.

************************************************************************************************

All that said, this is what I have spent money on the last couple of weeks. With our gaggle of Value World, 50% off coopins! Graciously given to me, or shared with me, by Honey, Capri Deb, The Saint and Jip.

Twinkies for The Ab-Cat. The Girls beg me to stop with the sleep pants. They have no more room for the sleep pants. But I just can’t. So they choose what they need and the overflow goes into the give away bag. To bless others. THAT’S IT! A sleep pant ministry!!!!!

Red Gilligan and O’Malley, .80 cents. Darling flowered sleep pants $1.05. Bath & Body Works tote bag, $1.05.

018

Abby is going back to work this summer, where she interned last summer. Thanks to Jaw Dog, husband of Jip the Farm Dog! She had expressed a desire to replace her old, tie dyed, draw string bag that she has had since junior high. She needs a bag to hold her lunch and her current book, and whatever else she might need for the day. She approved this daisy bag, because don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flower?  They are according to Kathleen Kelly from You’ve Got Mail.

020

Honey likes this brand. I discovered this fact in Florida, where he looks for golf shirts at The Goodwill. I recognized the fish on the cuff, cause I am all observant and everything. Greg Norman long sleeved golf shirt (like NEW!), .80 cents. Stratford Signature (never heard of the brand, but it is soft as kittens) $1.30. Rust colored Merona hoodie for moi, $1.80. Little black leather purse $1.70. Like brand new!

023

Now I realize that I don’t need this. BUT, when I broke the strap on my favorite black/brown shopping purse a couple of years ago, while vacationing in Boca Raton, I was seriously in a bind. I did have it repaired, but it could happen again! There is still the other non-replaced handle lurking out there. Ready to snap and cause me great consternation, yet again. So consider it a little insurance policy, for a mere $1.70. And considering that the darling green, Relic replacement purse that I had to buy in Florida, after the breaking of My Precious, is already in the give away bag because of it’s propensity to collect smudges and stains? I’d say it is a bargain.

As you know, I like to buy children books for our future grandchildren. Sometimes they are books our children have loved, and sometimes they are books that look clever or interesting. This is a mix of the two. I did have a coopin this trip. It was the trip with My Dad and Mousey a couple weeks ago. We went when my Dad came into town to recognize my Mother’s Home going. She would have approved, as she loved a good bargain herself. A homage, if you will.

I am a huge fan of the Little Golden Books. The old ones. Sweet stories and darling illustrations. Smokey The Bear pictures were drawn by our friend, Richard Scarry. 20 American cents. The Thomas ABC Book is one we own. It was one of The Boy’s most favorite books of all times. He would probably say The Bible now, but this was another time.  I did save this book for him, in the Huggies box of memorabilia stashed up in his closet, unfortunately, it might not survive the love of another child. Also .20 pennies.

001

The hardcover Never Tease A Weasel just looks plain cute! “It’s more fun to please a weasel, and be friends with him instead!” .25 cents.

003

Johnny Appleseed looks good, written and illustrated by Steven Kellogg. I like a picture with lots to look at and point to. .30 cents. Hardcover Big Al looks darling and Yoshi’s illustrations are perfect! Also .30, into the Grandchildren Box they go! They might get a preview with The Goomba as well, he is one to enjoy a good story. Mama Mia finds them most agreeable.

So there you have my expenditures for the last part of February. The next round of coopins don’t start until March 12, so there will be a slight reprieve. The Boy will be home to benefit from their bounty!!!!!!! That will be FUN!

Tomorrow is the last day of the February Photo Challenge, as well as The Wednesday Hodgepodge. The prompt is what I am listening to, which should be boring, as I don’t listen to music. I could change my habits though because Juanita has a radio that I can actually operate. But come for the questions, which are always good. Have a fiscally aware Tuesday.

1 Comment

  1. Laurie said,

    February 28, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    I do love the daisy bag.

    I have a Golden Book that I could donate to the grandchild fund — “The Saggy, Baggy Elephant”.


Leave a Reply

