Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! A big thank you to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for facilitating this get together.

1. The Hodgepodge falls on the last day of February this year, a leap year. How will you spend that extra day?

Not doing anything out of the ordinary. I remember my 7th grade locker partner, Marilyn Kay, had a birthday on leap year. It was like her little claim to fame. She is probably still pretty young! Happy Birthday, Marilyn.

2. What has recently required a leap of faith on your part?

Since last November I have been a tutor.

I know, I know, I can’t believe it either. I may write a post about it in the future, but I don’t feel like talking about it in detail yet. Mainly because I feel like an imposter.

I am not a teacher. I am a mathematical id-jit. I am not what you would call a kid person. I do not enjoy going to Detroit. I had many doubts. I was pretty sure I did not have what it took to tutor a child. Seeds of “what if….” sprouted and flourished in my mind.

I heard about the need for tutors at the inner city church that our church partners with. I talked to one of my clients, she said she was going to do it. I talked to the woman who sat next to me in the service, she had done it last year! Keelyody’s husband does it. It just kept coming up. I went to the informational meetings and sat in the back. I didn’t feel that academically I had anything to offer. What if the child I was assigned didn’t listen or even want to learn anything? What if they were already ahead of me in math??

I felt like God was encouraging me, I was supposed to do this. It had to be from God because it certainly wasn’t something I ever considered doing! I put aside my fears and took the leap of faith, holding on to His hand AND the railing.

The program is called ABC’s in the D. Our motto is “Flex and obey”. The kids don’t all show up every week. Some weeks it’s freezing cold, some weeks we are roasting. Some weeks we can only use the gym. Most weeks the bus is late and our time with the kids is limited.

Well, I have learned a lot from tutoring. I have learned that I can listen to a little girl read a story she has never heard before, and agree with her that it rates 5, no 10 stars! I can help her learn how to tell time. We can talk about place value, and add double digit numbers and learn how to carry, and I get to see the light of understanding flicker in her eyes. I get to play Candyland with her and hear her say that she just loves that game. I get to read her a Bible story and a memory verse, and even though she doesn’t always understand what I am talking about, I know that God’s Word does not return void. I get to hear about her week, and her extended family. My heart grows 3 sizes when she grabs my hand to hold, and gives me a big hug and says “Bye, Kelly”.

It’s a God Thing. I know that on my own, it’s not in me. I am not a teacher. Or a kid person. But I am Ja’Shayla’s tutor, and I love her.

3. We’re one week into the season of Lent…are you marking these 40 days in some way? Giving something up or adding something extra to normal life? How’s it going so far?

I have never participated in Lent. I remember kids at school giving up dessert or candy. One year my boss, Carol at the salon, gave up cake. But not birthday cake!

4. When was the last time you sat beside a fire?

This was taken in December of 2010, or January 2011, after Mrs, Schmenkman’s mother EEEK passed away. They had a commemorative bonfire in her honor, attended by all of her children and many of her grandchildren. They graciously let Honey and I horn in on the occasion. They are good to us like that.

I think it was the last time I sat beside a fire. See #7 below.

004

Capri’s Deb, Laurie, Patt in front, with Kel and Lisa in back. BFG builds a good fire!

5. Surf and Turf is on the menu. Do you order as is or do you ask for just the surf (lobster), just the turf (steak), or a menu so you can select another option?

Strictly a turf kind of girl.

6. If you could have any television program back, not in reruns but in new episodes, what program would you choose?

Well, that’s an easy one! Friday Night Lights for sure. I miss those folks from Dillon Texas. Mousey and her friends, Chip and Dale, were immersed in seasons 3 and 4 during Winter Break last week. It caused me to haul up some random episodes on NetFlix. I was reminded of so many great lines. Like Rigs confessing to Becky that his mom never took him shopping for a pageant dress. I guess you had to be there.

Matt Saracen: You don’t have to worry about me, in a fight I just kinda stand in the back and just yell stuff.

Coach Eric Taylor: Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose.

“Tami: What is the Scarlet Letter about Tim?
Tim: It’s about a gal named Scarlet, obviously…”

Tyra Collette: Just wish I could build a time machine and go back and shoot who ever it is that invented Algebra, that’s for sure.
Landry Clarke: Well, see, that’s kind of a Catch-22, though, because in order to invent that time machine you may need to use Algebra.

Tami Taylor: “You and I have the exact amount of experience being parents.”

Tyra Collette: “What’s the big deal?”
Tami Taylor: “The big deal is it’s part of my job, to make sure that you don’t grow up stupid. It’s bad for the world.

Eric Taylor: [about Julie] At least she’s not interested in some serial killer… or one of the Riggins’.

Tim: Good friends liven large in Texas. Texas forever,

Go Panthers. And Lions.
7. They say an elephant never forgets. These days would you say your memory is more like an elephant or a gnat?

My long term memory used to be pretty good, but not so much any more. My short term memory is atrocious. Now I just pray that God will help me to remember what I need to. It works surprisingly well, certainly better than left to my own devices.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

The last February Photo Challenge prompt is something you are listening to. Not much. So far this morning I have heard a far away, lonely train, the tea kettle whistling, the cats running through the house and Mousey telling me she didn’t feel well and could she stay home. And the grandfather clock. Every 15 minutes.

10 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    February 29, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    Oh Friday Night Lights!! Yes!!

    I just loved the way you wrote about the tutoring. You are both lucky to have each other : )

  2. Laurie said,

    February 29, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    The tutoring story made me cry — happy tears. When I was in High School, a group of us tutored in the inner city on Saturdays…it was most rewarding.
    My all time favorite TV show was “Northern Exposure”. I’d love to meet those folks again, although one of my favorites has gone to heaven.

  3. February 29, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    Your leap of faith into tutoring story blessed my heart this morning. There is something so wonderful about making a connection with someone and being at a place where you are both learning something from eachother and blessing eachothers lives. It sounds like taking this leap was an amazing thing for you!

  4. April said,

    February 29, 2012 at 12:54 PM

    Would you believe that I never saw one episode of Friday Night Lights? It’s a travesty, isn’t it? Such a heartwarming story you shared!

  5. warren said,

    February 29, 2012 at 1:37 PM

    Ladies, those scarves are divine!

  6. warren said,

    February 29, 2012 at 1:39 PM

    (Don’t tell Butch I said it like that)

  7. Laurie said,

    February 29, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    Wanted to add that 40 years ago, I spent a goodly part of Leap Day in labor. I didn’t really want a Leap Day baby so she obliged and came really early on March 1st. Now, she’d probably rather be 10 than the big 4-0!

  8. Angie said,

    February 29, 2012 at 9:10 PM

    I LOVE the tutoring answer. Awesome! I love to hear how God is stretching others. You are making a difference. Love it!

    I’ve never seen Friday Night Lights, but I read aloud a couple of your quotes. I may have to look it up on Netflix. I always liked the guy who played one of the main characters, the guy who got the “in-the-future newspaper” in another show. I’m so up on these things! 🙂

  9. deb said,

    March 1, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    Thanks for the heartwarming start to my day, CK.

  10. Honey's Older Sister said,

    March 1, 2012 at 3:00 PM

    Bless you for putting aside your fears and taking that leap of faith. That takes courage……….have a great day.


Leave a Reply

