What Doing

Hello my People!

Finally, that dad gummed February Photo Challenge is over.

It’s not as if I was all jammed up, holding back the tide of blog topic possibilities, it was just keeping up with someone else’s agenda. Keeping up being the operative word.

I have several things to share that lack a common thread, so a rambling list seems in order. I am not even ashamed!

1. I love Juanita! Love to drive her, love her bun warmers, love that I am sitting up higher again! Enjoyed filling her gas tank with a mere $50 and the gas pump didn’t automatically shut off like when we fill the big van.

2. We were going to use the license plate from the now defunct truck, until we realized it was dented and a little peely. Honey decided to just get a new one, and I chose the prettier, Mitten featured plate. I didn’t think too much about it until days later.

012

Yeah, Fork You. Loverly. When I put Mousey’s lacrosse sticker above it I will be a bad mother shut your mouth.

3. Juanita is a dirty bird.

4. I noticed this morning when Mouse-tine caught the bus that it is getting lighter. Winter is losing it’s grip.

5. We have discovered something worthy! When we were in Naples, we ate at a restaurant called Big Al’s Toy Barn. I think I added the Toy Barn part because of our intimate family connection with Toy Story, but I really can’t remember right now. Anyhow, Honey had something called un-grouper, or non-grouper, or something that wasn’t grouper, and it was delicious.

After asking our waitress many questions. she mentioned that the real name of the fish was Swai. And Honey, the great fisherman from The Great White North, had never heard of it. Imagine that?

All they did was salt and pepper it, dredge it in a little flour (we used Drakes and Panko) and pan fry it in a little butter and oil.

008

The first time we bought them was fresh from the stinky fish case at Kroger. Which I have to admit was NOT NEARLY as stinky as the fish area of Meijer. I have to hold my breath in that area.

When we went back to snap up more, the fish case was empty, but these were in a freezer case nearby. Actually a better fit for our purposes. They were frozen and wrapped individually. Since we never know who is eating around here from day to day, it is nice to just take out however many fillets you need. I think the bag of 6 was on sale for $7 something. I could be wrong, and Honey will surely let me know if I am. Say it several times; sway fillets, sway fillets. Kind of fun.

I didn’t think there was any difference in taste between the fresh or the frozen, but I did not ask Honey his opinion on the matter. We have been known to have differing opinions, but he did not mention it, so I feel fairly confident in my assessment.

010

We had it for dinner again last night. It is my new favorite, go to meal. Scrumtrulescent!!!!!

004

6. I went to the MANDATORY!! parent meeting for lacrosse last night. By myself, because Honey weaseled out of it at the last minute by claiming he needed a nap.  Bless their hearts, at least they kept it brief. I signed my name to the forms Mousey filled out, listened to all of the well organized information they had to share, tripped going down a step, and opened my checkbook and heard a sucking sound. Because girls lacrosse is not a school sponsored sport, it is a club sport (listen to me, don’t I sound all knowledgeable??) and it is a little bit…costly.

7. I will get a hundred dollars back if Mousey does not destroy her uniform, so there is that to look forward to.

8. They also offered you a $50  discount if you were willing to chair a committee. That will be the best $50 I spend all season. No one wants me running their chair.

9. We are having lasagna for dinner.

10. Have a very fun Friday!

5 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    March 2, 2012 at 9:56 AM

    I never heard of swai fillets either — it will give me something new to look for at the grocery store. And since the grocery store is not my favorite place to go, looking for a new item might make it less of a chore.
    I did get a chuckle at Juanita’s plate. TAILGATERS BEWARE!!!

  2. caprilis said,

    March 2, 2012 at 10:14 AM

    We love Swai too! VERY good without the bread crumbs if you just sprinkle them with old bay and saute them in butter. YUMMO!

  3. Marti Murphy said,

    March 2, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    I just noticed Swai in the freezer case yesterday, and since I wasn’t familiar with it, passed. I love tilapia, cod, etc. Is there a flavor difference? Have a good day.

  4. warren said,

    March 2, 2012 at 12:35 PM

    I might pay extra for a license plate like that…embrace it!

  5. Marlene said,

    March 4, 2012 at 9:33 AM

    You never know what new information one will learn from you!
    The word picture was very hard-congats for keeping it up!


Leave a Reply

