Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, welcome to the latest edition of the Hodgepodge, hosted by our friend Joyce From This Side of the Pond. Thanks Joyce!

1. Did March come in like a lion or was it something less ferocious in your neck of the woods?

It came in sort of like a goat, all kicky and rambunctious and unpredictable. This entire winter has been all over the board. Yesterday was warm and sunny, but the days before were cold and blustery. That is The Mitten for you. The joke goes if you have worn a coat and shorts in one day, you must be from Michigan!

2. Speaking of lions, which one’s your film favorite…The Cowardly Lion (Wizard of Oz), Mufasa (The Lion King), Elsa (Born Free), or Alex (Madagascar)? You may notice I left Aslan off the list. Including him would have made this question way too easy for many of you.

Lion King, hands down. That movie was huge around here with the younger set. Go Mufasa!!!

3. What’s your favorite spot from which to view the sunrise or sunset?

Probably the beach. It seems so much more…..delicious.

4. To what extent is knowledge power and to what extent is truth power? What’s the difference?

I am going to say truth trumps knowledge. There is a lot of “knowledge” out there, from all sorts of experts. Much of it debatable and some flat out wrong. All you have to do is look at the politics of our country to see that many people have their own truth and knowledge.

There has to be a starting point and I believe that God’s Word is the source of truth.  It even says "The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom" (Prov. 1:7).

This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. 1 Timothy 2:3-4

Behold, You desire truth in the inner being; make me therefore to know wisdom in my inmost heart. Psalm 51: 6

Knowledge is important, but knowledge based on what?

5. What’s something peculiar you’ve seen recently?

Honey and I were watching a smidge of last nights election coverage. I asked if he noticed the hair on Newt Gingerich’s wife?  It was IMMOVABLE! Like a perfect hair helmet. A swoop of bangs, heavily shellacked and not one single hair out of place. That is the most peculiar thing I have seen recently. I am sure she is a very lovely woman.

6. Bottled water…your thoughts?

I think bottled water certainly has its place, but I think it can be sort of silly too. Do we really need to be able to slug back water at any given second? Can we not look for a drinking fountain if need be, or for heavens sake, wait until we get home? What are we, fish?

7. What’s your strongest sense?

Smell, and let me tell you, it’s not always a blessing. I hear pretty well too, so maybe I am part dog.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Times up! I must take my knowledge, truth and water bottle out into the goat-ish weather and go to BSF!

8 Comments

  1. Hootin Anni said,

    March 7, 2012 at 8:09 AM

    Hair Helmet….this is so delicious, I love that description and hope to remember it when I need it.

    Y’know, I liked SCAR best…not for the character but the vivid color and sinister look of the art work on that one.

    My Wednesday post link: White Pelican ‘chit-chat’

    Hope you’re having a terrific day!!

  2. April said,

    March 7, 2012 at 8:12 AM

    Yeah…I’d say that Newt’s wife is due for a major makeover…or a different can of hairspray!

  3. Nan C said,

    March 7, 2012 at 8:33 AM

    Thanks for the good morning laugh about Newt’s wife’s hair! I believe her name is Calista, by the way. . . Or was that one of his other wives’ name?

  4. Joyce said,

    March 7, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    Ha-my hubs and I had that exact same conversation. He could not get over the hair!

  5. Laurie said,

    March 7, 2012 at 10:02 AM

    Obviously, Mrs. Gingrich is the clear winner with her “something peculiar you’ve seen lately” hair. Hank and I have been commenting on it since Newt got into the race(??). Does she sleep sitting up? Is it a horrible, plastic wig? Do she have stock in the hairspray company? Capri K, you need to offer her your services and give her one of those “swingy” dos.

  6. Tammy Doane said,

    March 7, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    I am also experiencing rambunctious weather. So ready for weather to be so unpredictable.

  7. ttmillers said,

    March 7, 2012 at 1:33 PM

    Newt’s hair isn’t stylish either. Both need a make-over. 😉

  8. Marlene said,

    March 8, 2012 at 7:22 AM

    Of course you would notice the hair. Love your description! I read recently that women have better smellers than men. I know this to be true!
    And I think truth power comes from the heart and soul ready to act upon. Head knowledge is this information not yet put to use.


Leave a Reply

