Magic and Ordinary

I have been on a reading kick lately. I love to read, but I can get a little……consumed by the reading. And then things go undone, and folks get hungry, the house falls into disrepair and my People start wearing ragged, dirty clothes. It can be a problem.

Combine all that with the inability to find really good reading material, and you have a lull. So that is what I had been doing. The Lull.

When I do my daily perusing of blobs, I always write down the titles and authors of books recommended, so I can hunt and gather at our friendly neighborhood library. I think I need to combine and recopy my little bits of paper.

006

This has been a mixed bag for me. We all have certain things we like to see happen in the books we read. One of my things is to have the loose ends tied up. It doesn’t have to be all neat and tidy or happily ever after to suit me, but I like to have the ends tied and clipped.

I am also not a fan of the no point story. I like a good slice of life tale as well as the next gal, but no point leaves me wondering why the book was written, and why I needed to read it. Unsatisfying endings can also be bothersome. So I guess I have turned into a picky customer, and when combined with my ability to get…..consumed by a book, I have just not read as much. Sad, I know. Fussbudget Capri Kel.

I saw this movie on The Hallmark Channel a while ago and thought it was such a sweet story. The credits said it was based on a book and I always think the book is better. It was better. It was so touching and sweet. I almost cried for Ray half a dozen times. Just a small, quiet, honest book.

The Magic of Ordinary Days by Ann Howard Creel.

What is on your nightstand? Fiction or non-fiction?

10 Comments

  1. Marlene said,

    March 8, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    Talking to people down at the pool we have had several authors recommended to us. I will have to share them with you. We have been reading machines this past month. Love a fellow reader!

  2. caprilis said,

    March 8, 2012 at 8:12 AM

    dust

    • Laurie said,

      March 8, 2012 at 9:31 AM

      Teach all those kitties to roll around and do your dusting.

  3. Laurie said,

    March 8, 2012 at 9:30 AM

    I, too, am looking for some recommendations. Please share ideas.
    After reading “Pride and Prejudice”, I read 3 other Jane Austen stories -now I seriously need a break from that old English way of speaking!!

  4. March 8, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    Have you ever read Francine Rivers. I would definitely recommend the Mark of the Lion Trilogy. Actually, I would recommend every single one of her books, but that series is my favorite.

  5. Honey's Older Sister said,

    March 8, 2012 at 12:19 PM

    I have always been an avid reader but it is getting harder and harder to find a book that involves you intelligently or even emotionally so if you come across anything that is good please send me the title and author. I like anything by Jodi Piccoult but she can be very heavy-duty emotional but is well written. And of course Nora Roberts for romance and something a little lighter.

    The last book I truly liked was The Help. Send me lists Capri! 🙂

  6. Queen B said,

    March 8, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    I recently enjoyed The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser. And I will check out The Magic of Ordinary Days. Thanks for the recommendation!

  7. Robin said,

    March 8, 2012 at 4:05 PM

    The Mitford series by Jan Karon…they’re all good. Love that Father Tim!

  8. Nan C said,

    March 8, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    I love reading. I’m just worried that my eyes won’t let me love reading as the years go by (my mom had really bad eyes).
    I started re-reading the Mitford Series, by Jan Karon, a while back. I had forgotten how much I enjoy that series (written in the mid-90s). But, alas, I have to read a book for Bible study, Crazy Love by Francis Chan. Then I can finish up the series and maybe read The Hunger Games trilogy this summer (after the movie comes out 😦 )

    • Nan C said,

      March 8, 2012 at 4:11 PM

      Oops, I didn’t see Robin’s post before mine. Thumbs up to Father Tim, Robin!


Leave a Reply

