Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by and as always, thank you to Joyce for gathering us together to chat.

1. What’s the last job you did that required elbow grease?

 Cleaning our shower. One of my least favorite tasks. Who knew something could get so dirty while getting you clean?

2. March Madness, aka the men’s Division I basketball championship, is nearing an end. What sort of ‘madness’ has your house seen this month?

No madness here that I can think of. Sometimes The Hectic visits, but it has been blessedly absent lately.

3. What’s your favorite shop for browsing?

Browsing as in not buying? I don’t particularly enjoy that kind of shopping. If I’m looking, I might buy, and if I’m not looking to buy, I don’t shop. I guess I’ll say Homegoods because I occasionally make a chai run in there and take a quick look-see without buying. But I would buy if I saw something worthy!

4. Is there ever a time when giving up makes sense?

Oh, lots of times! I like that saying that goes something like “the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results”. There are times when you need to persevere, especially in a challenging, stretching, growing type of situation. Then there are the folks that are just perfectionists and can.not. admit defeat under any circumstance. I think that can be pride and it’s not attractive. Sometimes I think God wants you to admit you can’t do it in your own strength. He might come along and do it for you, but He might not. Prayer can help you decide how to pick which hills to die on.
5. What’s a song you love that contains the name of a city, state or country in its title?

The only one I can think of is Georgia On My Mind.  My Grandmother’s name was Georgia, and she is often on my mind.
6. When did you first begin using a computer?

We bought a family computer the first Christmas we lived in this house, so….1998. The kids had been using them at school, but Honey and I felt like we were learning a foreign language! As ignorant as I still sometimes feel, I was totally useless then! E-mail was hard, the internet was confusing, and we had dial up so it cut off at very inopportune moments.
7. Did you buy girl scout cookies this year? What’s your favorite?

I didn’t buy and I don’t think I was asked. Not complaining. We just don’t have that kind of stuff hanging around the house anymore. The kids don’t eat many sweets and that leaves Honey and I to make sure they don’t go to waste. And we are very efficient in that area!. When I did partake, my favorite were Samoa’s and thin mint. Honey is always partial to peanut butter.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I mentioned in my post yesterday that our DVR threw me under the bus and didn’t record one of my favorite shows last Friday, “Who Do You Think You Are? Ug, I was SO disappointed and mentioned it between one and ten times.

THEN, Mrs. Schmenkman’s niece Kayte stepped in and saved the day! She left a comment suggesting I watch it on Hulu. I have heard of Hulu on other blogs, but never tried to access it for myself. Ab-Cat gave me a little tech support while I made a cup of chai, then I sat right down and watched the episode where Helen Hunt finds out that she is descended from very wealthy, influential people!

003

Thanks Kayte, it was a great suggestion!!!

10 Comments

  1. Nani said,

    March 28, 2012 at 6:30 AM

    I like your answer for giving up. I agree with you – why go to the store if you’re not buying?

  2. ttmillers said,

    March 28, 2012 at 7:40 AM

    I forgot about dial up. We’ve come a long way.

  3. deb said,

    March 28, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    I’ve had an ear worm of the song “Oh, Atlanta” by Alison Kraus…very contagious, beware!

  4. Laurie said,

    March 28, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    Going way back: “You’re the Reason God Made Oklahoma”

  5. April said,

    March 28, 2012 at 8:33 AM

    Scrubbing down the shower has to be one of my least favorite household chores! UGH!

  6. sterlingsop said,

    March 28, 2012 at 9:10 AM

    I like the way your random thought ties in nicely with the computer question. Back in the days when computers were on dial up could you ever imagine downloading a TV program that you’d missed? Or catching up with it online?? Wow, we certainly have come a long way over the past 20 years or so!

  7. Kayte said,

    March 28, 2012 at 10:05 AM

    Yay! I saved the day! I am glad I could help and that you got to watch it.

  8. girlymamma said,

    March 28, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    I have really liked the Who Do You Think You Are? Shows that I have seen, I’ve never tried Hulu but I will most definitely keep it in mind for when I need a catch up.

  9. girlymamma said,

    March 28, 2012 at 10:11 AM

    I’ve never tried Hulu, but I will definitely keep it in mind for the next DVR mishap. Mine usually involve someone in my house thinking I have watched a show and deleting it without cheking with me first.

  10. jammygal said,

    March 28, 2012 at 5:03 PM

    Well looky here, you have the comments this time girlfriend. Let’s see where should I begin? I am going to sign up for Hulu-first time I’ve heard of it and the show “Who Do You Like?” I know I’m still in the dark ages sometimes just like the dial-up computer and being charged for how long you were on the computer.
    I liked your answer to #4 God does want me to admit many times that I can’t make it in my own strength. Thanks for the reminder. Now check me out at my blog http://www.jammygal.blogspot.com. I need some new readers on my new blog.


Leave a Reply

