The Pickle Man

Hi Guys.

The entire week before we left The Mitten, Honey was repeating his mantra. “Thursday Florida, Friday The Pickle Man!

The Pickle Man lives at The Daytona Flea Market. We have visited him before and it was Honey’s fondest desire to meet up with him again.

Because the fleas are only out on the weekend, we headed over on Friday. Plus, Honey had a hankering. FOR A PICKLE.

He will probably want this picture blown up and framed.

585

Look, he is in pickle heaven.

587

He tasted this one and it was an excellent choice.

588

Because he is such an ardent fan, and because I mentioned that my pictures were for my blob, The Pickle Man gave him a pickle on a stick, on the house!

590

Bob The Pickle Man. Do you have those bumper stickers? Honey would like to advertise on his car. “I got pickled in Daytona”. “I feel brine!”,“Got pickles?”, “Olive The Pickle Place”. Maybe it’s not such a good idea. They all sound a little…unsavory.

591

These two made a big deal about my photographing the event for the blob. Especially Mouse-tine.

594

Like they were embarrassed or something. Geeze Louise. Get over it.

595

Contemplating eating the complimentary pickle on a stick.

596

Doesn’t she look pleased as punch? To be featured in an entire piece about PICKLES??

597

Bob The Pickle Man was an excellent pickle packer. He even ladled in some extra juice. I know this because the bag tilted in the rental car and now our rental car smells just like hot garlic dill. ALL the time. We did hose off the car mat yesterday, so we’ll see.

599

They even have olives, which I believe to be of the devil. But Honey’s love of the Sicilian olive is legendary around our house. He said they were SCRUMTRULESCENT.

610

There is no place on earth that I feel less directionally challenged than at a flea market. I have no idea where I am at ANY given time and live in fear that I will lose sight of my loved ones and be doomed forever to keep walking around in a circle vaguely thinking I have been here before. It’s a good thing for me that Honey has a GPS in that pretty little Daygo head of his, because he did not marry me for my sense of direction.

When we finally got back to the car, and I have to tell you that we walked out the CORRECT door the FIRST time and I still marvel at that fact, they could wait no longer to get into that pickle on a stick.

This picture makes me laugh. Honey’s nose looks like Bob Hope’s ski nose here! Honey does NOT have a Bob Hope nose!!

613

They liked it. They loved it. It was SO juicy!

614

Thank you Pickle Man, for making their day.

10 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    April 9, 2012 at 9:03 AM

    I thought that Honey dislikes anything with vinegar???
    Is my mind in a pickle?

  2. Tammy said,

    April 9, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    I am so jealous! I love everything pickle (I am eating my dill pickle sunflower seeds as I am typing this). Friday I had my first pickle snow cone of the season, all is right with the world. You married well.

  3. Capri K said,

    April 9, 2012 at 9:58 AM

    pickle snow cone!!?? Heavens to MERGATROID!!!

  4. Pam said,

    April 9, 2012 at 11:04 AM

    We’ve been to the flea market, but I must say I’ve not noticed the pickle man. However, no trip to Frankenmuth is complete without at least one pickle from the general store! I laughed about the car smelling like pickles. We’ve done that too – only without benefit of vinyl mats!

  5. Laurie said,

    April 9, 2012 at 11:56 AM

    Somehow I thought that the Pickle Man would be dressed up in a green costume — he looks quite normal.

  6. deb said,

    April 9, 2012 at 12:23 PM

    I think Honey’s nose turns “Polish” when eating dill pickles…us pollocks really love dill!

  7. warrenp94 said,

    April 9, 2012 at 1:07 PM

    Holy cow! A whole store with just pickles! Holy cow!

  8. Nan C said,

    April 9, 2012 at 2:43 PM

    Yeah, Bob would like the Pickle Man’s place, too.

  9. jammygal said,

    April 9, 2012 at 6:46 PM

    Yep that’s what I thought; a blob about pickles. It was worth stopping by because it is a most excellent blob and pictures!!! Amazing!!


Leave a Reply

