Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys!

Thanks for visiting and thanks to Joyce for getting us all on the same page to answer some questions!

1. William Shakespeare’s birthday is celebrated on April 23rd…when did you last read Shakespeare? What’s your favorite Shakespeare play?

Oh goodness, in high school? I think I had to read The Merchant of Venice. I think. Or not, I don’t remember. And I do not remember one single thing about the story either. I have no culture. One thing I do remember was my friend had to read a play as well. She chose one with a character named Bianca, whom she called Bi-onica, which I thought was funny. That’s it. That’s all I remember.

2. What food(s) would you recommend a foreign visitor try when they visit your home country?

Good Southern cooking and anything Honey makes.

3. What’s a lie you often tell yourself?

This is a hard one because I am generally a forthright person not given to self delusion. I am going to say that given my previous purchases at the garden center, I think I have more gardening skills than I actually do.

4. What’s something you’re good at that might surprise us? Remember this is a family friendly blog!

The Gals at BSF tell me I make a nice circle of chairs. You don’t want a wonky or egg shaped circle!

5. Who is your favorite animal character from a book?

How about Winnie the Pooh. Our kids were big fans of The Hundred Acre Woods gang.

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?" Winnie the Pooh

6. April showers bring May flowers…do you have a green thumb?

A very light green thumb. I can plant and water, but I don’t have The Eye. I have friends for that sort of thing.

7. Speaking of rainy days…which one of the following activities would you most want to spend time doing on a rainy day-

sort photos and create albums

bake cookies

read a good book

hold an all-day movie marathon

organize closets, cupboards, or bookshelves

try a new recipe

fix something that needs fixing

I would like to do any and ALL of those things! I would probably be more apt to read a book or have a movie marathon though.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Mrs. Schmenkman is flying in from Virginia tomorrow and will join Deb, Patt and I for a mini Capri reunion! Really looking forward to seeing the Gals! We will miss you Capri Laurie in Idaho!

Have a good week, thanks for stopping by!

6 Comments

  1. April said,

    April 25, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    Have a fun time with your gal pals! Oh, I am a huge fan of Southern cooking…it’s the only way to go, as far as I’m concerned!

  2. elliereads said,

    April 25, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    Our thumbs are the same shade! And I feel the same way about Shakespeare. Don’t be hard on yourself, just because people like them doesn’t mean they’re “cultured.” Look at it like it’s Star Trek, some people get that, and some don’t. It’s okay! 😉

  3. jodaley said,

    April 25, 2012 at 7:20 AM

    A circle of chairs-that’s cute : ) I quote Pooh quite often…my mother read it aloud to my sister and I at lunchtime when we were in elementary school and the three of us often drop lines from that book into conversations with one another.

  4. Laurie said,

    April 25, 2012 at 7:34 AM

    Reading Shakespeare isn’t very enjoyable for me. But I loved going to the Idaho Shakespeare Festivals each summer and seeing the plays.

    As for rainy days — a good book or a new recipe sounds good to me. Some of those other choices sound like WORK!

    Thanks for the Capri thoughts. Although I really haven’t been a participant in the gatherings, I love you all and hope you have a terrific “Reunion”.

  5. April 25, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    Southern cooking…definitely! Honey and don’t forget the Fried Chicken!
    I love to read and write…but often find myself with constant interruptions from my youngest. So on a rainy day I will find myself…watching every movie I can watch with him in the room. He gets strangely quiet with I watch my Jane Austen movies. Hehe!
    Love this hodgepodge!
    Peach State

  6. tammy doane said,

    April 25, 2012 at 9:36 PM

    Have fun with the gals.


Leave a Reply

