Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Thank you as always to our hostess Joyce! She finds the questions, we show up!

1. What is a pet peeve you have when vacationing?

We have rented condos for quite a few years now. One of the things that always bugs me is that there is rarely more than an inch of any kind of soap in the place! Hand soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap or laundry soap. I don’t feel we should have to go out and buy these things on vacation, sheesh!

2. Would you describe yourself as a light packer or do you need everything in your closet plus the kitchen sink?

I used to be a kitchen sinker, but I am getting much better! I still wouldn’t say light.

3. What’s the best lesson a child ever taught you?

Two of our children have spent a great deal of time in hospitals, treatment clinics, physical therapy or in doctors offices. The Boy since he was 19 months old, and The Ab-Cat since she was 6. We have seen them afraid, in pain, groggy from surgery or procedures, angry at their circumstances, and told what they can and cannot do. But here are the lessons they have taught.

Cooperative hearts and spirits, no matter what was going on that day, whether it was blood draws, therapy, t.h.e.r.a.p.y., and THERAPY, hours long infusions, medications, deep tissue massage and uncomfortable stretching, x-rays, surgery, procedures on top of procedures, multitudes of doctors appointments, they didn’t throw fits. We just went. And played games, and had lunch at Wendy’s.

A smile and genuine gladness to see those who lovingly cared for them, their nurses and PT’s especially. The names Gretchen, Julie, Marcia, Susie, Dr Ki, Carla, Dr. Castle, Sylvia and Carmella, immediately come to mind.

An uncomplaining attitude throughout, I kid you not. I have heard others whine FAR more about FAR less than what these two went through.

Patience. Hospital time is not real world time. We tried to always have snacks and a deck of cards. They went a long way towards fending off boredom and have come in handy.

A quick adaption to their ever changing circumstances. What was normal for them was knowing that while Honey and I could not protect them from a lot of the unpleasantness, they were never alone. No.Matter.What. We rode it out together.

I am not saying they were perfect children, but as close as we could have hoped for under the circumstances!

I don’t know why God chose for The Boy to have many years of barely controllable chronic ITP, or for Ab-Cat to have a spinal cord injury. Those are gate questions. But I am thankful that they survived and thrived, and I feel blessed to be their Mama.

4. Share one piece of advice you’d give a recent graduate as they attempt to enter the job market?

It’s all right if it takes you a bit to get situated. It’s ok if your first job won’t be your last job. You can quit. No one’s going to prison.

5. What’s your favorite lemon something?

My Aunt Phyllis makes a mean lemon curd tart, I’ll say that.

6. Flat sandal, wedge, heel…your favorite footwear?

Small wedge please. Flats hurt my back and heels? Shaq don’t need no stinkin’ heels!

7. What do you like best about a beach holiday? If you’re not a beach lover (GASP!!) what do you dislike the least?

I love to read in the sun, it’s my favorite part!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I took this picture off the refrigerator for Way Back When-sday. Here are the kiddos from question #3, around 1997 or 1998.

IMG (22)

The Ab-Cat and The Boy. Wonderful, brave, so tight they slept in the same bed for years, and two of our three greatest joys in life!

6 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    May 9, 2012 at 7:20 AM

    It’s easy to see why your children are as great as they are — it’s because they have two truly awesome parents.
    That sticking through everything, together, makes the difference.

  2. April said,

    May 9, 2012 at 7:44 AM

    Your children have definitely taught you…and the rest of us…some great life lessons! I agree…why is there never enough soap???

  3. girlymamma said,

    May 9, 2012 at 10:51 AM

    Thanks for sharing all of those lessons for your children, all of them are important.

    Lemon Curd tart? Sounds fantastic.

  4. May 9, 2012 at 3:34 PM

    Amazing kids. Thanks for sharing because I have learned a lesson of patience from it. I hate being at hospitals; what brave kids you have.
    I also like reading in the sun at the beach. I am also not a light packer; even though I think I’m getting better, I am not so sure. The Kindle helps me not to pack so many books.

  5. tammy doane said,

    May 9, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    Great lessons taught. Enjoy reading in the sun

  6. capriP said,

    May 10, 2012 at 5:01 AM

    Loverly post CapriK!


Leave a Reply

