Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by and thanks to Joyce for the questions!

1. What’s something you miss about the 1980’s? If you’re too young to miss the 80’s how about the 90’s?

I miss my weight, or lack of it! I miss my figure, my ability to stay up late and get up early, to eat whatever I wanted and never gain weight. Really big sigh.

2. Do you have a library card? If so, how often do you visit?

I do and I visit fairly often, more so in the summer. Ab-Cat goes every Friday. Like clockwork.

3. What’s the secret to success?

I think everyone might have their own definition of success, whether it is their career, power and prestige, personal happiness, finances, things. The world certainly does. I would say God’s view of success goes something like this:

Philippians 4:11-13

New International Version (NIV)

11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

That seems like a good recipe for success. The other stuff is just extra.

4. This is National Backyard Games week…what’s your favorite backyard game?

Since our backyard has a pool, I am going to have to say Marco Polo. If I can’t say that, I have nothing to add.

5. If I dropped by today what would I find on your coffee table?

003

A couple of coasters, pinecones, my Bible, my BSF lesson waiting patiently to be completed before this morning, and a book I read when I go to doctors appointments. It’s a somewhat funny book and it’s becoming age appropriate. She talks about the problems of being an aging female.

004

6. Do you own a bicycle? When was the last time you rode a bicycle? Is that something you enjoy?

Honey keeps telling me that we have bikes over the garage, and he is going to get them down, and we are going to ride like the wind. But I have not seen any movement in that direction yet.

I used to ride bikes all the time when I was young. The last time I regularly rode a bike was when The Ab-Cat was a baby. She loved to go for rides in the baby seat. 

7. What’s your favorite cheese?

I like cheese, just not Bleu or Gorgonzola, or that sort. I know people LOVE it, but it smells like vomit to me. I like all of the pedestrian varieties, munster, cheddar, colby jack, feta, parmesan. Honey is a fan of Pinconning.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I mentioned that I went to the favorite flower place last week with Jip the Farm Dog and CMB. It was a FULL van on the return trip home.

It took 2 days, but it is all planted.

Here is the porch chair pot.

010 

I found some more confetti lantana, I heart it so!

007

My Dad gave me a peony from my Mom’s garden a year or so ago. I thought it died because I saw no evidence of it last year. Well, look what greeted me this year! Hello my Precious.

005

Thanks for stopping by!

5 Comments

  1. Jocelyn said,

    May 23, 2012 at 5:39 AM

    I tend to like cheese that dont smell bad too! lol The flower pics are pretty!

  2. jodaley said,

    May 23, 2012 at 5:46 AM

    #3-Great minds : ) I love peonies-yours is so pretty. I have some pink and white confetti lantana in a pot. I love the color of yours! I wish we had a pool-this is not a climate that makes having a pool very practical. Such a short short season. I remember huge games of Marco Polo in our neighborhood pool growing up-so much fun!

  3. Bobbi said,

    May 23, 2012 at 6:24 AM

    Greetings from one BSFer to another! I enjoyed your flower pictures…the confetti is gorgeous! My poor peonies have some sort of fungus this year…I’ve been faithfully treating them…and praying! HA! Have a marvelous Hodgepodge!!

  4. April said,

    May 23, 2012 at 6:34 AM

    The bible verse you shared is one I posted on our fridge when my husband was out of work recently for 11 months…such a great reminder. Wow…your flowers are to-die-for!

  5. Theresa said,

    May 23, 2012 at 1:35 PM

    Your flowers are pretty 🙂 Love the bible verse you used for success.


Leave a Reply

