Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! I am writing this down in Virginia while at Mrs. Schmenkman’s house for our 17th annual Memorial Day Extravaganza. I will be heading on home later this evening. We have had a wonderful time of chatting, shopping, eating and desserting, all things near and dear to our hearts!
Thanks to Joyce for being our Hodgepodge hostess!
1. What can the average citizen do to honor a military veteran and/or those currently serving?

 One of the things I do when someone is speaking of their time in the military is to thank them for their service.
When my Dad and I were in Florida preparing to sell his home, we had dinner with his next door neighbor and his wife. For some reason he began talking about his time in Viet Nam as a gunner on a helicopter. His wife quietly began filming him. She said their grandsons had started asking him questions about being drafted and his military tour and he was reluctant to talk about it. He said the hardest part was returning home. People yelling at them, calling them terrible names and spitting on them. He seemed still genuinely hurt. I thanked him for his service and being willing to defend his country when called. He said I was welcome. I thank you again Dick Weiss.
2. Besides a flag what is something you own that is red, white and blue?
 I don’t have much of anything that is red, so I will say I planted a pot of flowers with a patriotic theme.
3. Does love really conquer all?
 Probably not. But God can.
4. Strawberry shortcake or blueberry pie?
This is a super easy one, strawberry shortcake!
 
5. Do you share personal stuff with your hairdresser?
Considering my hairdresser is Schmenky Schmenkman, I would have to say yes. I also have another hairdresser for the times when Virginia isn’t convenient. I am not quite as personal with Connie, although I do love her!
 
6. Does money lead to selfishness?
 I don’t know if selfish is the right word. They can probably be out of touch about what they think they need, but lots of wealthy people are extremely generous.
7. What piece of furniture in your home most needs replacing or refinishing?
 Our couches have seen better days. Honey and I talk regularly about getting a new king sized bed, Especially after coming home from vacation.
8. Insert your own random here.
Schmenky has a really fun game on her computer. I play it at night after she goes to bed. Have I ever mentioned that she goes to bed with the chickens? Well, not that bad, but you get the idea.
I have been working really hard, loading an inordinate amount of barges.
 I need to go home and get some rest!
Have a good Wednesday!
3 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    May 30, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    I haven’t seen that game but I don’t really need to be playing anything else : ) So far it’s all strawberry shortcake in the HP. Have a great day!

  2. tammy doane said,

    May 30, 2012 at 6:49 AM

    Same thought to question #3 and #4.

  3. Mary said,

    May 30, 2012 at 2:19 PM

    My FIL was a helicopter pilot during VietNam, and the first time I heard him say anything about it was when we were in DC a couple of years ago. He said something about the VietNam Vets being screwed…again and again. I can’t even begin to imagine what they went through.


Leave a Reply

