The Critters on the Hill

Sassy Cat Hill has a lot of critters. Critters with fur, feathers, and shells. Probably more, but that is all I’m recalling.

Pudge the beaver is starting to behave in a beaver-ish fashion. He closed off the door to his house to make himself feel safer. He enters and exits through the water back door.

047

He always comes for treats. Grapes, sweet potatoes, apples, cantaloupe, and his favorite, banana. Plus a healthy scoop of rodent chow. Yum.

Helping himself to a grape.

049

Two fisted cantaloupe chowing.

060

He will eat from Schmenky’s hand.

127

He has a room mate! Or his own pet!

135

I don’t believe I had ever seen this fella. Or lady. I think it was a pheasant. It was a loverly creature, whatever it was. Seemed a little shy. It’s name Schmenk?

063

The horses next door. Delilah, Miracle, and I forget, again. Jezebel? Bucky? Ed? Sorry horsey.

066

Nellie, the back porch kitty. She looks beautimous among the purty flowers. She’s a no touchy kitty.

085

Tux, the garage kitty, posed for me here. This leads down to the chicken coop.

121

Poppet could hardly wait for me to sit down. This is where Schmenk plays Words With Friends. Now she plays with me!

137

Sp*nking kitty and a world famous Mrs. Schmenkman smoothie.

139

She likes me. She likes everyone.

149

Down the front porch steps was looking especially pretty.

144

Master gardeners have all sorts of attractive areas. I, on the other hand, have lots of areas with a weed problem.

145

Big Boy Casey Lee Bumgarner. Or Bumgardner. He was my special buddy this trip.

146

He has not always been so friendly, but for some reason this year he gave me special loves.

152

Kismet luxuriating on the special biscuit blanket. Oh he had a wonderful nap! He’s a kneader, an excellent biscuit maker.

155

Time to say goodbye to my buddy. I kept my purse and camera bag on that ledge. He furred it up well!

203

He’s a big old boy.

207

We have an understanding.

208

One more Virginia post to wrap up the trip. See you tomorrow.

4 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    June 7, 2012 at 6:55 AM

    That picture of the beaver is so great. We have many lodges around here but I never seem to be able to capture their residents in a photo. I have lots of pictures of their homes though : )

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    June 7, 2012 at 8:33 AM

    Your friend is amazing with animals!

  3. caprilis said,

    June 7, 2012 at 5:05 PM

    Thanks Cindy!
    Horse’s name is Dixie. (there used to be one named Bucky)
    Pheasant’s name is A.C. (Mr.C. named him after his grandpa)
    He’s not only shy, he’s a dumb as a box of rocks.

  4. deb said,

    June 7, 2012 at 6:24 PM

    Nice to see Casey is getting less “busy” and more loveable. Your hairs look great CK.


Leave a Reply

