Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! Thanks, as always, to Joyce for her questions each week.

1. Summer officially rolls in with the Hodgepodge this week, for those of us in the Northern hemisphere anyway. What song says summer 2012 to you?

I don’t listen to the radio so I don’t know any current songs. I never thought I would hear myself say that.

2. What’s your favorite quintessential summer food?

Probably ice cream. I am not even tempted by it any other time of year. Something about going for ice cream seems fun to me.

Maybe it’s because when I was young, my grandparents used to drive over to our house and pick my Mom, and Beeve and me up and we would go on a drive and get ice cream.

Honey has always loved it and so do our kids. Any season will do for them.

3. I’ve spent a lot of time traipsing up and down the NJ Turnpike in recent weeks. Did you know the rest areas on the turnpike are named after people who lived or worked in NJ? Clara Barton, Walt Whitman, James Fenimore Cooper, Molly Pitcher, Joyce Kilmer, Thomas Edison, and Gover Clevland just to name a few. Of those I listed, who would you most like to have known and why?

Probably Thomas Edison, he seemed to be a man of many interests. I would tell him that I have been to his summer home in Fort Myers, and that my husband works for his buddy Henry Ford. I wrote about it here.

4. At what age did you move out of your parent’s house and what prompted the move?

I was 23 years and 1 month and I got married! I not only moved out of the house, I moved out of the country. Honey lived in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. We lived there for 2 years and then we crossed the Ambassador Bridge and moved back to this side of the pond.

5. What’s more satisfying to you-saving time or saving money?

Saving money is more satisfying to me. I am busy, but not so busy I feel I should just blow money.

6. Name something you think brings out the good in people.

I think that the more you study the Bible, and know what God has to say about how we are to conduct ourselves, it naturally brings out the good in us. When you know the truth, it changes you. i know I am better for it.

7. This last question comes to you courtesy of Kathy over at Reflections...will you be taking a vacation or a staycation this summer? If so where will you go? If a staycation is on the calendar have you made any special plans to fill the time?

We have not really taken a vacation in the summer in years. We used to go with our dear friends The Hostlers, and those were some very fun times! Usually Yogi Bear camping in Fremont, Indiana or renting a cottage on Black Lake up north on Onaway, Michigan.

Honey and The Boy have taken a fishing week for years now, so that is a fun vacation for them. We always like to hear their stories when they return from the sea.

While they are gone, the Girls and I have a sort of staycation that we call Girls Week. It usually involves eating, watching some carefully chosen movies or a tv series, little day trips, and of course, a get together with The Hostler Girls!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

For Way Back When-sday we are heading back to 2000. On this trip up to Black Lake, we ventured over the Mackinac Bridge into the Upper Penninsula, the first and last time I have ever done so. Honey and The Boy head that way on their annual fishing trip because they cross over into Canada in Sault St. Marie.

We went to Whitefish Bay or Point, or something, on Lake Superior. There was a lighthouse and a maritime museum dedicated to ships lost on Lake Superior. Do you know where you would never want be on a ship in a storm? LAKE SUPERIOR. It’s like a ship graveyard for really bad sinkings. Remember the Edmund Fitzgerald?

Driftwood was plentiful. Probably brought ashore from those really bad storms.

IMG_0008

IMG_0009

There were all of these really cool flat stones/rocks all over the beach.

IMG_0010

Different colors and sizes, but mostly shaped the same.

IMG_0013

We gathered a ton. We painted some back at the cottage as souviners of the trip. We brought home bags of them to put in our yard.

IMG_0011

Everyone had a pouch of rocks.

IMG_0012

The Boy in front of the bell from the wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. Superior, its said, never gives up it’s dead….

IMG_0007

Here we are back at Black Lake, back in The Mitten portion of the state once again.

One of my favorite pictures of The Ab-Cat.

IMG_0001 

IMG_0002

More rocks! The Boy got that dump hat on Mackinac Island, wore it the entire week, and lost it before we got home.

IMG_0003

Our dear friends, The Hostlers, and their friend Robin.

IMG_0004 

That is a lot of girls with the token Boy!

IMG_0005

Mousey loved feeding the very tame chipmunks. It would appear the chipmunks loved the Cheeto’s.

IMG_0006

One of my favorite family photos.

Black Lake 2000

Goodbye Black Lake, goodbye Dehostwaeler Camp!

P.s. I went out to the backyard to find some of the rocks from that trip.

The paint has almost worn off.

003

Around the arbor,  evidently adorning some weeds.

005

We also have a ton around some drains, but they aren’t that exciting to share.

Have a good week and thanks for stopping by!

4 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    June 20, 2012 at 7:37 AM

    I would love a week at home with both my girls here. We would bake and watch movies and gab. I will have to settle for quick weekends here and there which is at least something.

    Enjoy your day!

  2. Bobbi said,

    June 20, 2012 at 7:51 AM

    Love your answer to #6…and all the pictures!!!

  3. June 20, 2012 at 11:12 AM

    We have some of the rocks we painted on our front porch! They’ve held up quite well! I think that Autumn painted the majority of those that we still have. That was a particularly good year for crafting and the last year at that wonderful cabin! Good times with great friends! 🙂

  4. Neps said,

    June 22, 2012 at 5:15 AM

    That sounds like a fun trip with all those rocks…and such an encouraging quote from the bell there 😉 😀


Leave a Reply

