Some Pretty Yards

Hi Guys!

I feel I have been a spotty blogger lately.  I attribute this to the fact that my calendar has been more full than usual lately. That, and playing Words With Friends on Mousey’s Facebook. I always get a little obsessed when learning a new thing. I don’t win many games, but I am getting better. I think. I am good at making the words, but getting them on a good tile is another story.

I managed to eke out a free afternoon, from my heavy game schedule, to go to a garden walk with The Peanuts Champ and our friend. I am pretty sure we came up with a clever name for Our Friend, but alas, I cannot remember what it was. I will be seeing the same Gals this afternoon, along with another friend, The Back Door Neighbor, because we will be attending another garden walk. Perhaps we can all recall what the name was, or most likely, create another one.

I had never been to this garden walk before, but The Peanuts Champ had. It was in a really cute neighborhood in the town I grew up in, Rosedale Gardens in Livonia. All of the houses were different and so unique in their own ways. Unique would be a good word for Words With Friends on those turns when you are vowel heavy. Sorry, it’s hard to turn it off.

Try and not let my impressive lack of flower knowledge be a turn off. I take pictures of what I like, not what I know.

I had never seen this kind before.

002

Don’t know the name.

 

003

I have a plethora of information on this one! I took this picture because it is in my power to duplicate this pot. I love coleus, zinnia and sweet potato vines. Petunias, not so much, but I could replace the tunia with a million bells or a wave or something. I am always on the lookout for things I can copy. It’s what I do.

005

More pretties of which I know not their name.

006

Delicious lily.

007

Purty spike-y ball thingy.

008

This house was not on the walk, as many of my pictures feature. It was very lush.

010

I also liked those square flower boxes on the steps. SO sweet.

011

No idea, but aren’t these cool?

013

It looked like it had spoons for petals.

016

I spent some time monkeying with the macro flower symbol thingy on my camera to get this darling little loner.

017

There is The Peanuts Champ, also known as Same Shirt as Last Year Barb, with Our Friend, who shall be named after the garden walk today.

022

Bee balm, love.

024

I love this house. We just happened to drive by and I had to get out.

030

  Across the street from a featured house.

032

They had porch appeal.

034

I like this walkway.

036

This house had a lot of interesting thing tucked here and there.

 038

Hydrangeas. My Precious.

039

I heard the story of this fella. The owners grandfather was in WWI, and after the war he worked at a prison that held German POW’s. He was a friendly sort of man and made friends with some. One German prisoner made him this.

040

When her grandfather passed away, no one wanted the fisherman because it was broken. Just what she was hoping! She brought him home to live in her yard.

041

I love a good story like that.

They also made a new sort of planter. They had a lot of ferns at this one. I like the ferns, but I heard a rumor that they like shade. They would not like our house. Drats.

044

Capri Kel with Our Friend. Our friend who needs a name.

046

 Don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flower? -Kathleen Kelly

048

How cute are these?? I like a cattail! Any kind of cattail!

051

I like this stone edging.

052

These two houses were not features, but on our way from where we parked to the featured house. This one was loverly, but smelled of mothballs. Really. Then I saw a big crow swoop down and pick up a little white ball in its beak. It WAS a mothball!!! They had sprinkled them all around! Maybe they were trying to keep rabbits out, but the crows were taking them and their area was stinky. I might rethink that idea. How many mothballs would you have to use to stink up your entire area in the neighborhood??!!

053

I thoughtfully took this picture for Honey. We have had a discussion about flower boxes. And his building some. Someday.

063

This deck had a pretty gazing ball and a ramp. We are all about accessibility. And gazing.

064

Really liked this home.

065

I am looking to implement this sort of idea. (ie copy.)

069

Very fond of this, for all kinds of reasons.

070

I saw this idea at Schmenky’s house in Virginia this spring. I am going to get me some chicks and hens!

073

They had a very nice setup on their patio. Most welcoming. Inviting. Comfortable.

078

Nappish.

 079

With a nearby pond to provide ambient nap noise.

080

This caught my eye immediately. It’s a bowling ball, Capri’s!!! We can copy something like this!!

081

I think I have even seen these things in Capri Deb’s vast supplies! I have shells and rocks!

083

I believe this is a sort of sedum. I know I like it.

084

They had fishes in their pond, but not here.

085

Another item I have been pondering. My porch things are getting ready to quit me so I am exploring other options.

088

That is it for this one.

We hit up another today, but I will probably hook up with The Hodgepodge tomorrow, so maybe I will show you some pictures  later in the week.

8 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    June 26, 2012 at 9:05 AM

    Beautiful beautious beautonimous! I have a hens n chicks plant gone wild – have had it for 3 years – it stays outside all winter and comes back in full force in the spring and summer — just can’t kill that thing! I’m not kidding the spikes have shot out and they are about 6-8 inches with pink blooms on the top – it’s in one of the pots with little sections – I call it my hens n chicks condo. ha ha ha

  2. caprilis said,

    June 26, 2012 at 9:25 AM

    Loverly gardens up there in The Mitten!

  3. Joyce said,

    June 26, 2012 at 9:39 AM

    I think you got some fabulous pictures. I love a beautiful garden…we have some challenges here with all the critters but I keep trying. I am thinking my yard is more woodland than garden-y and that’s okay too. The woods don’t require landscaping.

  4. Wendy said,

    June 26, 2012 at 11:52 AM

    Great pictures! I’ve heard the moth balls are REALLY toxic….she may want to get rid of the bunnies, but kill them and the birds? Yikes!!

  5. peanuts champ said,

    June 26, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    Thanks so much for including our walk in your blog. Good photos. Nice memories with two of my most treasured friends.

  6. warren said,

    June 26, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    Me too on the spotty. Does it seem like there are lots of spotty posters and people aren’t reading as much? Maybe it’s just me but…

  7. Back Door Neighbor said,

    June 27, 2012 at 6:43 AM

    Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Karen said,

    June 27, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    I recognized all these houses – right in my neighborhood! I’ve never done the “walk-thingy” officially, but have spent many hours roaming these streets – sometimes trying to get little ones to sleep, or trying to wear bigger ones out, or just clearing my head and being alone with my thoughts. I really enjoyed your pictures!


Leave a Reply

