Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thanks for stopping by. Thanks go out to our hostess Joyce, for gathering us and giving us something to talk about.

1. What do the words ‘freedom’ and ‘liberty’ mean to you? Does your mind go more in the direction of not being persecuted or discriminated against or does it head in the direction of doing what you please?

I think the first one is more what our Founding Fathers had in mind. Unfortunately, there are those who have not grasped the concept that doing what you please is usually not good for the majority of folk. We can’t all have our own personal code of ethics that conflict in every way possible. There has to be some framework for peaceable living. God’s laws give us a good foundation for this.

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly[a] with your God. Micah 6:8

That’s a good place to start.

2. Nathan’s sponsors a hot dog eating contest every 4th of July. Last year over 40,000 people attended the event and almost 2 million watched it on TV. The winner ate over 60 hot dogs and buns in 10 minutes. How do you like your hot dogs?

I don’t do dogs. Except for about once a year when I am forced to eat a dog at an event or function, or else starve to death. I always say I have a one dog a year limit.

3. If you were going to enter an eating contest what would be on the menu?

I am fairly fond of the kettle chip. Tim Horton donut holes call my name. Loudly.

4. Do you run your house more as a dictatorship or a democracy?

I would say it is a combination of both, if that is possible. There are always things that can be discussed, tweaked, changed, added or discarded.  But again, just like God’s laws, there are also things that are not open for debate. We operate freely within a set of rules. How’s that?

5. Where was your favorite summer place when you were a kid?

We spent a lot of time at my Aunt Nancy’s pool. She was not really our aunt, but a good friend of my Mom’s. I was frequently allowed to bring my best friend and next door neighbor, Tina.

There and the Alfred Noble public library. I loved the smell of that place.

6. Do you have a guest room? Would you want to stay there?

We do and I would. It has a comfy bed with my favorite kind of pillow. It’s in the basement, so it is cool and dark. It has the added bonus of it’s own bathroom. People don’t seem to mind it, it has been booked all summer so far!

7. Next Wednesday America celebrates her independence. Do you have any special plans for the 4th of July? If you live outside the USA when and how does your country celebrate its own patriotic holiday?

We usually head out to my Dad’s. He lives on a lake that has a very nice fireworks display. We will have lunch and make a day of it.

At some point around that time we will also see parts of Independence Day on tv. To miss that would be un-American!

 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I went to a second garden walk this week, I will have more pictures later this week. It was delicious!

001

Can I get an amen?

009 

Love this pot.

Thanks for stopping by, I need to git walking, Keelyody’s waiting!

3 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    June 27, 2012 at 6:42 AM

    I probably only have one or two hot dogs a year too. I like them but am pretty sure there is nothing good for you in a hotdog : )

    Beautiful basket!

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    June 27, 2012 at 7:08 AM

    When hub was taking chemo he craved hot dogs, and we had them at least 4 times a week.

  3. Krista said,

    June 28, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    Operate freely within a set of rules… perfect!


Leave a Reply

