Hot As A Fox In A Box On The SUN

I have heard the expression “hotter than July” before, but I can honestly say I have a new understanding of it this year. Good heavens, its HOT. 

And my question is, WHY have I been out in it so much?

I believe I may have mentioned before that I have been much warmer than in previous years, possibly due to my progressing age. Hot as a firecracker warm.

I have lost 5 pounds this week and I am sure it was all sweat. I am keeping a sharp eye out for deer, they might mistake me for a salt lick.

It has been somewhat hectic around here lately. Nothing exciting or dramatic, just stuff. Stuff involving running around helping Honey cross things off his to do list because he is working like a DOG lately. He said he had only 1 or 2 days off last month. Mostly working 12 hour days, in the hot as a fox in a box factory where he works.

Car things, supply things, errand things, banking things, weeding things, yard things, hair things, and an inordinate amount of time spent trying to get some wisdom teeth pulled for two children. That has been the bane of my existence this week. Insurance and schedules and unreasonable boys have also contributed.

Yesterday was hot, but it was also good. Capri’s Deb and Patt came to get their hairs cut, and Deb had her first ever highlights!!! She looked very darling.

After that we ate lunch at Chip and Dip, where I have not been in forever, and then headed on down the road to Homegoods and Hobby Lobby, or Hobo Lobby, as I am calling it lately, for no particular reason. After looking at the mosaic glass, we made the decision to get together regularly to mosaic things we want to give as presents for Christmas. Capri Deb is also making a scrapbooking present that needs to be completed before the holidays come, so she and I are going to get together to scrap on some Thursdays after BSF. So as you can see, the summer /fall schedule is booking up!

After leaving the stores, Capri Patt and I headed over to The Rock Shop so she could help me with a decision on a large pot. Honey will be most happy this decision has been made. He has waited on my indecision since May. We then came back to our house where she graciously helped me reorganize our back patios and decks. Streamline my hodgepodge, if you know what I mean. I need a handler and the job is too much for Honey all by himself.

She told me many things I knew, and many I had never considered. I know my pots are mismatched and helter skelter. I have been looking for new pots this year but I think I started the hunt too late. I know my random assortment of previously hanging baskets are visually….unappealing. They are also not draining well, thus causing plant death.

I know I have too much going on, which is where Patt comes in handy. She has the eye. She is an arranger. She moves this over there and that over here and makes everything so much better. She arranged pots differently, moved furniture, vetoed things, weeded some things out, skooches that over there and gave many suggestions that I should have written down.

It looks so much better!!!

002

We moved the BBQ out of the way. We have had it there before, I am not sure why we didn’t put it back.

003

I bought the shelf thingy last week. We have one that is getting ready to quit us. After perusing the internet, I realized the best prices were at the friendly, neighborhood Homegoods. My homework from C.P. is to find pots that all match, preferably ones without holes where the hangers were.

004

She streamlined the pot areas.

005

Once again, I love the coleus. I may never have anything else, ever again. They have the added bonus of doing well in blazing hot sun, which is what our backyard features. In abundance.

007

Ahhh, all my little beauties!

008

She helped me move the swing, which was above the call of duty in that heat! Capri Deb made us the purty new slipcover last year!

009

The new fire pit, that will be featured in another post. We tugged those pots around. Did I mention it was hot yesterday?

010

More tugged pots. I love that coleus, sweet potato combo. I have now declared my great love of the zinnia, also sun loving creatures.

012

The hyacinth bean is starting the climb.

022

There is still work to be done out there. Mulching, hedge trimming, a new deck, one more area to be redone. Maybe next year we can just maintain it all!

Thanks again Capri P, I love it!!!

3 Comments

  1. Marcy said,

    July 6, 2012 at 9:51 AM

    Everything looks so lovely…so, so lovely.

  2. lisa said,

    July 7, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    She’s a handy gal to have around! Looks great!
    Gonna be 105 ACTUAL degrees here today!
    ONE HUNDRED AND FIVE!

  3. deb said,

    July 7, 2012 at 6:44 AM

    CP has such a gift! Love the new look, and can’t wait to see what you got at the Rock Shop. One more day of this heat, and hopefully it will cool down.


Leave a Reply

