Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Welcome back to the Wednesday Hodgepodge after having our holiday break. Thanks, as always, to Joyce our Hodgepodge hostess!

1. How often do you check the weather? How do you check the weather?

I don’t regularly check the weather. If I really want to find out what is going on, I usually check The Weather Channel or our local stations to see if there is a weather alert. The Mitten forecasters are known to be dramatic, I usually take a wait and see approach.

2. Since this is volume 84 of the Wednesday Hodgepodge, and since I got married in 1984, and since I’m attending a wedding this weekend it only seems right to post something related here.

"Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance. If the dispositions of the parties are ever so well known to each other or ever so similar beforehand, it does not advance their felicity in the least. They always continue to grow sufficiently unlike afterwards to have their share of vexation; and it is better to know as little as possible of the defects of the person with whom you are to pass your life."

Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Agree or Disagree. Why?

No, she can’t be serious! Was she being serious?

That has not been my experience. I think Honey and I are more alike and IN like now than we ever were. We were always compatible, we have grown alike.

I felt like we knew each other fairly well before marriage, but you can never really know someone until you DO life together. The day to day, handling the good and the bad. Experiencing the joys and wading through the trials causes you to grow together in unexpected ways that you can’t fathom beforehand. How could we have possibly known the joy we would have in our children? Or the way we would pull together to weather the storms that could have torn our marriage apart?

Our happiness together has not been dependant on chance or our circumstance, because many times our circumstances were bleak. The most important aspect of our happiness has been the Lord in our lives. We both came into marriage with the heartbreak of divorce in our family history. We both knew we did not want that for our marriage and our family. Shortly after, in a small group Bible study, we learned that after the initial attraction, love is also a decision. A decision to love, honor, respect, compromise, and forgive, a decision to be committed to the partner given to us by God. That decision took divorce off the table for us.  So we took the advice we so often gave our children, we worked it out.

Honey and I are very different personalities, with very different strengths and weaknesses. I don’t mean to give the impression that we don’t have The Clash of the Titans over here every now and then. We are both strong minded and it has taken us 26 years to hammer some things out, mainly learning to accept the fact that just because the other does things differently, it isn’t necessarily wrong. In retrospect, I feel our differences have been our strengths. We are two halves of a whole. He does the things he is good at and I do the same, then we come to an agreement about the other things. Or agree to disagree! Sometimes the hammering out the agreement is hard though.

I don’t know if any of this would have been possible if I had not known some basic things about Honey from the start. He was a good man with a good heart, and a lot of fun. It wasn’t chance, it was God’s hand of providence. I didn’t marry some doofus hoping he would rise to the occasion!

3. Do you like to dance? Have you ever taken dance lessons?

I used to love to dance, but I hardly ever do any more. Maybe at a wedding. I took ballet once when I was 4. It was not my cup of tea.

4. Fresh from the oven peach pie or home made peach ice cream? Pick one.

Does anyone else agree that this question is almost mean spirited? Joyce, how can we be forced to choose between such deliciousness? How about fresh from the oven peach pie with home made peach ice cream ala mode? It’s the very best I can do!

5. Should people accept unfairness and learn to make the best of it?

Well, there are lots of different kinds of unfairness and some things you can change and some you cannot. If it can be rectified, than by all means, strive for that change. Learning to live with the unfairness that cannot be changed? Well, that is always a work in progress. I have found God to be a fine listener. That is when you really learn that His grace is sufficient.

6. The top five all time summer movie blockbusters (released between May and August and grossing at least 100 million dollars) are-Jaws, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars (the original), Ghostbusters, and ET. Which one’s your favorite?

I saw Raiders of the Lost Ark at the movies when it first came out and The Ab-Cat told me last night that it is playing at the little, old fashioned, downtown movie theater later this summer! How fun will that be? I loved that movie and the series was HUGE with our children, I am going to pick that one. Although Star Wars was pretty big too.

7. If given the chance, would you like to visit the moon?

I doubt it.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Question #6 got me thinking about the first time I saw Star Wars. It was unlike anything I had EVER seen! The first time i went with my Father, and the second time I went with my friend Suzanne Suzanna Danna and her family, both times were at the old Mai Kai theater.

What I remember most about the second time with Suzie and her family is this. I had purchased Junior Mints for our viewing pleasure, and evidently some of those Junior Mints did not make it to my mouth. I found them later, welding my long coat to my jeans. For the rest of the lifetime of that coat there was a spot where those candies had melted. The End. Literally and figuratively.

Have a good week!

7 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    July 11, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    I was so glad to read your response to item 2. When I was first reading the post, I thought you had inserted the quote by Jane Austen as a wedding-related thought, and I was discombobulated. I even read the quote twice to see if I was understanding it correctly! I couldn’t imagine that was your thought at all, and was so happy to see the “agree or disagree” at the end and realize it was Joyce’s quote, and that you didn’t agree with it!

  2. Jill said,

    July 11, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    What a sad waste for Junior Mints! : )

  3. warrenp94 said,

    July 11, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    I’d like to visit the moon but no way I could live there…ugh. Anyhow, star wars made space living look almost ok…well except for the war and stuff…

  4. July 11, 2012 at 2:31 PM

    Hello,
    I found you through Joyce’s hodgepodge. I totally agree with your answer to # 2, Jane Austen must have been off her rocker. Hope to see you around blog land 🙂
    Alex

    http://alexsblogginglife.blogspot.com/2012/07/im-doing-hodgepodge-today-read-on.html

  5. Joyce said,

    July 11, 2012 at 3:37 PM

    It’s funny the things we remember : ) I liked your answer to #2!

  6. Back Door Neighbor said,

    July 11, 2012 at 7:35 PM

    Loved your answer to #2. You would never marry some doofus!!!

  7. honey said,

    July 12, 2012 at 2:08 AM

    glad yiou dont think im a big doofus


Leave a Reply

