Monday Mosaics

Last Monday, part of The Mosacian Tribe convened over at Capri D’s. Since Mrs. Schmenkman lives in Virginia and could not join us, we skyped, before and after our meeting. We discussed life, talked shop, and made some plans.

004

Capri Deb is working on this gigantic piece! A fruits of the spirit window pane. It is coming along nicely. She spent some time goggling a different word for self control and came up with temperance. This window pane is helping her practice some of those fruits. Patience comes to mind! She probably has many other projects she would like to start while patiently finishing this one!

005

Capri Patt is a new Grandma! She is making her Granddaughter’s name. Lovingly, patiently and triangularly.

007

I spent the majority of the day taxing my brain learning new things. I always say that mosaicing is the most difficult craft I do. Capri Deb graciously showed me how to cut long strips of glass in widths I want using her cutter thingy. Not once, but twice, because I am slow and can only learn so many things in one sitting.

Then she taught me how to use her grinder. Schmenky has tried to teach me that skill before, but I was askairt. A ground down finger is not the look I am going for. Deb assured me that would not happen and then she TOUCHED the grinder! She did not pull back a bloody stump so I guess I am good to go.

I can not show you my work because, one, I hardly accomplished any because I was busy cutting and grinding glass, and two, I am making some presents.

We plan to get together again soon so we can actually make progress on our projects. I have already decided to scrap my original idea and cut some thinner strips, so heaven help us all. Maybe I will finish by Christmas 2013.

4 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    July 12, 2012 at 9:33 AM

    I REALLY want to see the Fruit if the Spirit project when Capri Deb is finished, please!

    • Nan C said,

      July 12, 2012 at 9:34 AM

      Fruit OF the Sprit

      • Nan C said,

        July 12, 2012 at 9:35 AM

        Well, you know what I mean. :-/

  2. deb said,

    July 13, 2012 at 9:06 AM

    Looking forward to more tribal meetings!


Leave a Reply

