Wednesday Hodgepodge

hi Guys!

I come to you from The Mitten, which has recently relocated to the surface of the sun. Dang it’s HOT.

Special thanks to Joyce for managing to come up with some questions in this dastardly heat wave.

1. The Summer Olympics begin next week and London is playing host. If you had the chance to go in person which (non-Olympic) London site would you most like to visit?

I don’t know. I don’t always enjoy super touristy endeavors. Since Joyce has lived there before, I would ask her opinion. Perhaps she would even be our tour guide!

2. What is something in your life right now that feels like an Olympic event?

At the age and stage I am at right now, living in this heat feels mighty Olympic!

3. What’s your favorite supper to prepare and serve when it’s too hot to cook?

If it is too hot to cook, we go out. I don’t always need a good excuse anyway. Cooking? Me no likey.

4. July 18th is National Get Out of the Doghouse Day…when was the last time you were ‘in the doghouse’?

I am going to have to defer to Honey on this one, nothing is coming to mind. Probably because my brain is parboiled. Honey, your thoughts? Be kind.

5. What television advertisement do you find particularly irritating or inappropriate? You may not answer with ‘all of them’. I know some of you were thinking about it.

I am not a fan of the feminine products or the male enhancement commercials. Really? This is what we need to see while watching tv with the family?

6. Share one piece of interesting news from the year you were born.

  • May – The Hulk debuts with The Incredible Hulk #1 by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.
  • It seemed appropriate to mention in this super hero soaked summer. I had no idea Bruce Banner was my peer!

    7. What’s the best part of your average day?

    That cup of chai in the morning, while checking e-mail and perusing blogs makes me happy!

    8. Insert your own random thought here.

    My Dad has had two cataract surgeries this summer, the last being Monday. I am amazed that these procedures were such a breeze for him! A couple of hours at the hospital, lots of drops, no pain, and best of all, he had implants put in so he can SEE! He was so cute yesterday before he went home. He just kept saying he couldn’t believe how CLEAR things were, and the COLORS! I am glad he had such a successful experience.

    What also amazed me Monday was the waiting room at the hospital. I have spent much time at the University of Michigan Health Centers. M.U.C.H. time. They are very good at what they do, but I seriously must congratulate them on the changes they have made to their waiting area!

    When you first check in, they hand you a beeper to let you know when you can go back and visit your patient. But since we went for Dad’s first cataract surgery last month, they have installed a flat screen tv with patient information. When they gave us our beeper this time, they also gave him a patient number so you could look on the flat screen, find the number, and see exactly where your patient was. Pre op, surgery, post op, discharged, ect. So that was cool.

    THEN, the second new amazing thing were computers for your waiting pleasure! There were only 2, but no one was using them, so I checked the blog, then logged on to Mousey’s Facebook and played Words With Friends until my beeper went off!!! Quickest time in the waiting room EVER! GO BLUE!!!!!

    Have a good rest of the week!

    5 Comments

    1. Theresa said,

      July 18, 2012 at 12:06 PM

      That does sound like a great waiting room! Glad his surgery went well.

    2. Joyce said,

      July 18, 2012 at 12:53 PM

      So glad your dad’s surgery went well. I never need an excuse to eat out and thankfully neither does the hubs : )

    3. Arlene said,

      July 18, 2012 at 2:20 PM

      My mom made similar comments about how clear everything looked after her cataract surgery. I don’t think she’d realized there was a hazy yellow tone on everything till it was gone.

      Totally with you on feminine products. We know we need them. Don’t need to show me on television thankyouverymuch.

      I enjoyed visiting you today. Have a great rest of your week.

    4. Tammy Doane said,

      July 18, 2012 at 2:46 PM

      Glad surgery went well. Hopefully the heat will break soon.

    5. July 22, 2012 at 5:19 PM

      If I went to London, I would have to visit Buckingham Palace and cross the London Bridge. I would love to hunt in some old dusty used bookstore!
      The year I was born, Israel became a nation; 1948.


    Leave a Reply

