The Watering Wordsmith

Hey Y’all!

This has been the first morning all week that I did not have something to attend to. My plan was to sleep in a little. Of course I woke up at 5:30. Cursed hormones.

I have a list for you today.

1. I believe I have mentioned a time or six that it is HOT as dragon breath around here lately.

2. It has also been pretending it wants to rain.

3. We could use some drops. Everything is as dry as a bugs hull.

4. I found a HUGE, ICKY green caterpillar/bug on our tomato plant last week.

5. I check the plant over every day to see if it invited friends. So far, it was a single traveler.

6. Where do those things come from? I can’t believe it inched its way across the yard, up the table, into the pot, and all the way up the plant. The life span of a wormy thing like that couldn’t possible be that long.

7. Shortly after I threw the offending thing into an empty pot, to die a single, lonely death, I discovered we had the dreaded Japanese beetle. ALL OVER MY SWEET POTATO VINES AND ZINNIAS.

8. They have scourged my pretties before. In years past I sat helplessly and watched them turn the leaves to lace and ruin our beautimous pots. This year, Honey had some spray, and I was not afraid to use it.

9. I am happy to report that the Japanese beetles packed up and peeled out.

10. I feel like Zena The Warrior Woman. I have successfully defended my territory.

11. In other news, I have become one with the hose.

12. Between playing Words With Friends and watering, my day is full.

13. I jest, of course I also eat.

14. How about them Tigers!

15. Honey cares.

16. I wish I cared.

17. Some of those players could be my boy child.

18. Our Boy Child has been working! His old boss is giving him some work at his janitorial business.

19. He has been back to cleaning at our church, and a pre school, and a funeral home.

20. You can just imagine the conversations the last one has generated over here.

21. Let’s just say he is not alone while working.

22. I am going to lunch with some dear old friends I used to work with at the bank. The Saint was my Mother’s favorite teller and The BeastMaster was my boss, the Head Teller.

23. I worked at the bank before I was married!!

24. Who would have guessed we would still be getting together a couple times a year, 27 years after I quit??

25. I wish you a cool day. Literally and figuratively.

5 Comments

  1. Tam said,

    July 19, 2012 at 8:00 AM

    A funeral home????? No, I don’t think so. I would not think the occupants could be very messy. Has anything bizarre happened yet? I wouldn’t want the job, but I am fascinated about the details.

    BTW, email mail should be completed and sent later this afternoon.

  2. Joyce said,

    July 19, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    We need rain too. We had a short but crazy downpour yesterday afternoon. Mostly just insane lightning, some hail, and a power outage. Stay cool!

  3. warren said,

    July 19, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    I never did post on it (but I will and soon). but the Mrs and I lived in a funeral home in graduate school. It was a little weird at first but honestly, it was a super quiet place and the neighbors never came around asking for a cup of sugar. I loved it but I am not the least bit superstitious either. Some folks simply would not visit us. Anyhow, I saw and helped with all sorts of things. It was a great experience and a cool place to live!

  4. Laurie said,

    July 19, 2012 at 12:15 PM

    I think it is wonderful that you still see you old friends from work. That must mean you liked each other while on the job, probably all worked well together and respected each other. That stuff makes for lasting good feelings.

  5. July 22, 2012 at 5:14 PM

    Yep, we have the same problem with my coleus-I didn’t know that it was a JB though. I need the name of that spray! As for the Tigers, HE loves them, and I don’t really care; I know not a great attitude! I would love to hear the funeral home stories!


Leave a Reply

