Way Back When-sday Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thank you to our question hunter and people gatherer Joyce for managing us for another week!

1. The Summer Olympics officially begin this Friday night…will you be watching? If you could see just one event in person which one would you pick?

Let’s break this down, shall we? We like all of the pool events, but in my experience, the pool area is muggy and or HOT. Track and field is nifty, but it is outside, and I don’t know about London, but it is muggy and hot around here. We really like gymnastics, and considering that it should be in a bone chilling arena, I will choose that option.

I am Capri Kel and I am hormonally challenged.

2.Do lazy days make you feel rested or unproductive?

Both. Sometimes you need the rest so we should probably be satisfied with that.

On the other hand, sometimes you just feel like a lazy bum, and that is not a good feeling. On occasion when I have ….unfilled days, I set little attainable goals, to make me feel less slothful. It’s good to be able to brag that I completed my to do list, even if it looked something like this:

Brush teeth-check

Unload dishwasher-check

Feed cats-check, check

Wipe counters-check, check, check

Put clean laundry away-check

Well, I don’t know about you but that wore me out.

3. July 25th is ‘officially’ Threading the Needle Day…can you sew? On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being not at all and 10 being Betsy Ross-like, how would you rate your skill with a needle and thread?

Calling what I do sewing would be a stretch, but I can mend. I mend by hand, anything requiring a sewing machine gets sent over to Capri Deb, who is a very accomplished seamstress. I give myself a rock solid 3-.

4. ‘Threading the Needle’ can also mean to walk a fine line between two things or issues (think awkward social situation). When was the last time you had to ‘thread the needle‘, figuratively speaking?

I have felt this way for the majority of my life concerning my parents divorce. Not with everyone and in all situations, but lots of times it was definitely the elephant in the room. There is a way to speak, some topics are not broached, some people do not go together, but these are fine. It was a carefully orchestrated dance at times. On this scale of 1-10, I get a solid 10. I see the line. I walk the line. The needle and I are one.

5. Kidney, pinto, black, or navy…your favorite bean?

Honey is not crazy about these beans so we don’t have them much, but we have had some black beans of late in Cream Cheese Chicken Chili. YUM!

6. Have you ever hosted a garage sale? Was it more success or bust?

I have. Our last house was on the corner of our subdivision, a prime garage sale spot! We had several, some with Girl Cousin Kay and some with Rae Babe. Fairly successful I guess. I sold a lot of baby stuff and a lot of unneeded stuff. What I remember most was it was a TON of work beforehand, but a lot of FUN hanging out. Of course the kids loved it. 

7. What makes you roll your eyes?

You know when you run into someone you haven’t seen for a while and you ask them how they are and they start foaming at the mouth about how BUSY they are, they are SO busy, busier than bees AND beavers, and then they tick off their mental check list to TELL you of their great busy-ness, and they are SO TIRED from their busy, busy lives? Do you know those people? I feel like rolling my eyes and holding my hand up to their busy, busy, boring faces. Everyone is busy, does all this busy talk make you feel extra important, or special? Who is in control of you, GET OVER YOURSELVES!

I would never do it to their face though.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Honey and The Boy are preparing for their annual Guys Fitching Week.

I found this picture of a very young Honey after another fishing trip, some place, some year.

OH.MY.WORD.

The Boy comes by that ginormous hair honestly.

IMG (27)

Have a good week. Don’t be ridiculous with all your business.

11 Comments

  1. Tam said,

    July 25, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    Hilarious post
    Honey Van Halen-hot
    Cream cheese chicken chili recipe please

    I am too busy in my busy-ness to leave a full reply. ;). Haha

  2. Sherrie said,

    July 25, 2012 at 9:52 AM

    Hi!
    Great post! We like beans here. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Food for Thought

  3. Rebecca D said,

    July 25, 2012 at 11:22 AM

    Very funny post! I enjoyed reading most of your answers… I say most because 1/2 way through #7 as I was laughing I started to worry that sometimes I might be that person… Yikes… 🙂

  4. skoots1mom said,

    July 25, 2012 at 11:26 AM

    love me some yard-bird chili…
    loved your post
    from one hormone-challenged woman to another: may it be over soon…I’m over having to change clothes twice a day and burning up constantly!

  5. Jocelyn said,

    July 25, 2012 at 12:13 PM

    I checked out your link for the chili. It looks soooo good! The tummy’s speaking to me now…

  6. warren said,

    July 25, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    Butch must have had a 24″ waist then…holy cow! Ahem…I am not looking at Butch’s waist. It’s just I could barely see him behind the fish…thank goodness for the hair!

  7. jodaley said,

    July 25, 2012 at 1:39 PM

    Heat and humidity are not usually an issue in London. AC is often a problem as there’s not a lot of it..you might be better outdoors than in : )

    Loved your answers, as always!

  8. Tammy Doane said,

    July 25, 2012 at 2:42 PM

    Love beans here. Loved your answer to the rolling eye question!

  9. July 25, 2012 at 8:19 PM

    Yep, I started to wonder if I have ever been that “busy person.” I would say all that complaining about busyness is WHINING; and NOT ALLOWED!! The picture is hilarious.

  10. deb said,

    July 25, 2012 at 8:49 PM

    How old is Honey in that photo????? Loved this post.


Leave a Reply

